We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,737)
Filter reviews
3,737 results
Traveler rating
2,679
642
249
97
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,679
642
249
97
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower sunset beach los caribes buena vista middle beach main beach pool bar butler service sunset ceremony pizza other resorts fish walk in closet small resort a la carte no see ums quiet pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 3,737 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I just returned from this resort. We booked this trip to celebrate out 15th wedding anniversary. The staff at this resort are the most friendly, helpful, and accommodating people that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They will not pass by you without a smile and a greeting. Our butler, Jamina, was outstanding. Unfortunately my husband did get food poisoning and was quite ill for a couple of days. Jamina brought him soup and tea and tonic water and even checked in on him on her day off. She is a beautiful soul. There are three beaches at this resort, and they certainly lived up to Cuba's reputation of stunning beaches. My husband and I brought our snorkeling gear, hoping to see a few interesting fish, however, we were not prepared for the amazing experience we had. The variety and colours of fish that we saw was spectacular. The resort is surrounded by coral outcrops, and you did not have to go in very deep to enjoy the array of species. We snorkeled every day and were always discovering something new. The resort was at 60% capacity and being a small resort, it was not busy. It was exactly what we had hoped for. Plenty of palm shade gazebos at the beach, and Del Torre happily set us up with loungers. There was never a problem finding a spot, no matter what time you headed to the beach. We did not use the pool; it was beautiful and clean; but we came to Cuba for the beach. Our room was clean, cool, and our balcony had a beautiful, private, and unobstructed view of the middle beach. We enjoyed many morning cappuccinos (so good) on the balcony looking at the ocean. Wifi was spotty, but we didn't care as being disconnected from all of the chatter and noise in our regular lives is what we were seeking. There was a day where we did not have water, no biggie, it happens. Our housemaid always kept us stocked with bottled water. We did struggle with the food options, and my husband did get sick. However, we do realize the challenges Cuba faces with supplies. I think that the chefs probably do the best that they can with their limitations. If service, beaches and the best snorkeling is at the top of your list then I highly recommend Melia Buenavista

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickandjoanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear, we are delighted to receive your comment! We greatly appreciate that you have shared your experience at Meliá Buenavista with the rest of the traveling community, who will surely appreciate the valuable information you have given us first-hand. Thank you for praising our beaches and our facilities in general. We are very sorry about what you tell us about your husband's stomach condition. We must tell you that the quality specialist of our hotel has personally checked with the doctor of our hotel and they have informed us that during the time that you and your husband were in our hotel , no other client with her husband's condition was reported, even so we are very sorry that you had a bad time. If you decide to give us the opportunity to return once again to our hotel, do not hesitate to contact us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived for 8 days duringMay 2022. The hotel was tired. Our room was dated. Sometimes we had no water, other times the water was cold. The air conditioning was so noisy we struggled to get to sleep. All the furniture in the room was old. The bathroom was dated. There were three restaurants, a buffet restaurant serving breakfast, the choose was extremely limited and flies were al over the food. The two other restaurants served practically the same menu and the food was very substandard with very little choice. The staff in the hotel was extremely helpful and polite.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S4276BRjoyceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Customer

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination and for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.

We are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your stay and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
We are committed to providing the best service to all our dear guests. One of our guiding principles is to hire a highly qualified team. In each place of our hotel we want to provide the best service and offer the best quality of products in an exquisite gastronomy. We deeply regret to acknowledge that you left the hotel with the opposite idea.
We want to assure you that we are aware of the importance of listening to the voice of our customers. We hope to have another opportunity to erase that idea that you took from our hotel. If you decide to return to our hotel, do not hesitate to contact us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2022 via mobile

We have returned to Melia Buenavista after 11 years and were again very pleased with this resort. They upgraded us to an ocean view room on the second level and we couldn’t of been more pleased . We celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary while there and they put together an exceptional dinner for us outside near the pool under a gazebo. It was very well presented and our sever stayed with us the entire hour & half with a bottle of champagne and water on ice just for our convenience. The chef put together a couple of off the menu dishes for us as well . The lobster was very good . Our Butler ( Sergio ) was taking care of our needs all week . Don’t be shy to ask for things . Thank you Sergio . Tips we could pass on would be bring lots of Canadian $5 bills . It seems difficult to get pesos these days in Cuba . They have eliminated the Cuban Convertible Peso and for some reason, their pesos are not of the same value and difficult to get . It appears they love our Canadian money and also saw US dollars being passed out as tips . Nobody turns away a tip . They don’t want our coins as they can’t exchange them . So if you find a $5 Canadian bill is too much for a drink brought to your beach lounge chair as a tip , then do what most do , $5 once a day and everyone seems well pleased with that . Same as the housekeeper, $5 every other day definitely keeps a smile on their faces . Anyway thank you Melia Buenavista for a lovely week .

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChesterIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2022

Dear ChesterIndigo,
Thank you very much for visiting our country and our Melia Buenavista hotel. It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest.
We are very pleased to know that your stay with us was magnificent and we want to thank you for taking the time to write on tripadvisor. We will forward your comments to our director along with a Florida.
If you decide to return to our hotel, do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2022

With the world reopening again, and so many places to choose to go visit, ours was an easy one to make: to go back to the Melia Buenavista.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted with hugs "Welcome backs." and "How's everything." We come back for many reasons.
1 - The vibe here is easy going and relaxed. It takes not time at all to get into vacation mode.
2 - It's a small and intimate resort with just over 100 rooms. It's easy to strike to up conversations with fellow Buenavistans.
3 - With three beaches and two pools, there' space for everyone to find a spot in the shade or sun.
4 - The snorkelling. We can be in the water all day at any of the beaches. And there's so much to see from small blennies to barracudas, groupers and rays. Last time we were here, we even saw a nurse shark.
5 - The outdoor shower in your room.
6 - The sunset ceremony on the far beach with music and a little something to sip on.
7 - The people. While this is is listed as 7, it's truly the main reason we always come back. The people here are the true jewels of this resort. It's how they make us feel at home. Lester, Yery and the others at the pool bar; Piti and Pedro at the Pool Lunch Grill (Best Pizzas!); Luis and Leidy at La Notte for our morning cappuccinos; Yusdelkys, Daileen, Sydneys and everyone at the front office; Joel, Lili, Daymi, Armando, Joan, and all the other butlers; Yani, Ybano and everyone at Los Navigantes and Los Caribes restaurants. Leidy, Yami, and everyone at Los Marinos for breakfast. Barbara who leaves wonderful towel art on our bed after doing up our room. Apologies for forgetting a few names. And while the warmth of the Carribean Sun is certainly a draw, it's the warmth of the people that will make you come back. On a final note: there are plenty of pictures of the grounds, pools, beaches and rooms to help you make up your mind. We've added some photos from snorkelling just off the beach because every outing is a chance to see something different.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Renaud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2022

Dear Renaud T,
It is a real pleasure to read your comments about our hotel and we thank you for having been kind enough to publish them on TripAdvisor. It is precisely the positive opinions of our clients that encourage us to improve our work every day with the sole objective of satisfying those who choose us for their stay. We will certainly send your comments to the people you mention along with a message of congratulations that will surely make them very happy. It would be a pleasure if you choose us again to enjoy your vacations at our Hotel Melia Buenavista.
We are waiting for you!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2022

We went for our honeymoon and we had the best time. The servive and the attention was excelent, beautiful beach, the staff was so helfull and carefull. I must hightlight the best part of the trip was the food in the hotel, so delicious, every meal we had was perfect. I will come back very soon with my family.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank V9706WGandreaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2022

DearV9706WGandrea,
Thank you for visiting our Hotel Meliá Buenavista Andrés commenting on your stay información Tripadvisor.Your satisfaction Isabel the best reward for our efforts. Ir will ve a real pleasure for all of us to welcome you again next season.Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews