We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,720)
Filter reviews
3,720 results
Traveler rating
2,666
637
250
97
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,666
637
250
97
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower sunset beach los caribes buena vista middle beach main beach pool bar butler service sunset ceremony pizza other resorts fish walk in closet small resort a la carte no see ums quiet pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 3,720 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2021

No complaints. I just love this place. Room is amazing, beaches are perfect, personal doing their best, food is great. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but you will get what you pay for. Edel and Lily are taking care of all your needs. Hugo (chef) clearly loves his job,- as the meals are just delicious. Angel is a true professional. Love my chats with Yobany as I eat in the restaurant. You will not regret if you visit Melia Buenavista. Hope to come back.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank evguenip2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2022

Dear Customer
! We are really touched by your nice comments about our facilities, our services and especially our staff.You can be sure that the honors will be sent to the workers you refer to, which will be a great pleasure and motivation to continue providing the service to our clients. Thank you for taking the time to write this review in detail and with feelings. It is really a great kindness of you.
We're sure you'll love coming back for another relaxing vacation. Until next time!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2021 via mobile

Lonely planet classifies this as one of the two top resorts in los Cayos de Santa Clara. They also refer to it as “small is beautiful”. I could not agree more.

It’s privileged location gives you access to 3 beaches. The first one is ideal for sunset watching -although not so much for bathing given its seaweeds- and musical events take place there at that time of the day. The second is comparable to a perfect an aquarium for snorkeling where large sea shells and all sort of fishes can be observed. Finally the third beach -of 3 kms long- is being shared with other resorts of the Melià group, it is more suitable for bathing and it is also often visited by seagulls and pelicans hunting sardines.

The service was very friendly to me and experienced, specially the responsible personnel for the beaches and the food generous which is very valuable when considering the general shortage of basic goods (food, medicines, clothing) that the country is experiencing at this current time.

WARNING: The hotel is located in the middle of a natural park / paradise. Being in the nature offers the advantages above but carries some disadvantages. Among those SAND FLIES. They are comparable to small mosquitos that can’t be seen and are everywhere. In spite of the two fumigations per day the resort conducts you are likely going to be bitten. Bring along appropriate repellent for these insects and antihistaminic cream. This situation appears in higher or lower degree at all hotels at Los Cayos.

Room tip: Bring sand fly repellent and antihistaminic cream.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank Carles_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2022

Dear Carles,
It is a real pleasure to read your comments about our hotel and I thank you for having been kind enough to publish them on TripAdvisor. It is precisely the positive opinions of our clients that encourage us to improve our work every day with the sole objective of satisfying those who choose us for their stay. Thank you for choosing Meliá Buenavista for your stay in Cayo Santa María and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory due to sandflies and that situations like these tarnish our travelers' vacations. Thank you very much for choosing us and do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely,







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2021

My husband and I went to this resort in December of 2019. If you are looking for an adult only resort that offers complete peace and quiet and a chance to relax and get away from it all. This is your place. Beautifully spacious rooms, excellent service, food was ok and the views were amazing. My only complaint is the sand mites on the beach - they were less than desirable.
I also suffer from migraines and the white house wine was very good and did not give me any issues. If anyone knows the brand of their white house wine - please let me know! Forgot to write it down. Overall, would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaretdC3688GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2022

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for visiting Meliá Buenavista and commenting on your stay on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you have such good memories of your stay,
We are sorry that your experience was not completely satisfactory due to sand mites. We hope that on your next visit this will not be an inconvenience and that you will enjoy an even more pleasant stay, sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2021

Not sure this hotel has the correct rating especially for food

Pizzas were our favourite thing about this resort which says a lot!

Other than that the food is not great and some of it is
horrible and served luke warm.

Sand fleas and mosquitos were a big problem for us. Hundreds of
bites.

Oceanview suites worth the views and are nice rooms.

Cups at all the beach bars are way too small

Date of stay: April 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokeyBear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2021

Dear SmokeyBear999,

Receive our most respectful greeting from sunny Cuba.
We heartily appreciate you honest review. We understand some of our services did not exactly meet all your expectations but we thank your giving us the chance to identify these improvement opportunities. On this time off by the covid we are working really hard in the improvement of all our services and your opinions constitute a great help for us to orient our efforts. Concerning the food, our Executive Chef works hard to offer different types of dishes for our guests coming from all over the world, we are sorry if our food offerings did not fulfill your expectations. About mosquitos, unfortunately it is a typical tropic-area situation that we fight every day. Also, the authorities have a plan of air fumigation and control of the natural flora around the hotel.
It will be a pleasure to receive you again, if you decide to give us another chance; please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2020 via mobile

Service was impeccable the 3 beaches all had something different. As the restaurants were al a carte the food was cooked to order as you would expect it tasted unbelievable.

Adults only and we met some lovely people cant wait to return

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank SteS720
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Buenavista All Inclusive The Level & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Dear SteS720,

Thank you very much for your great review, I am very happy to see that you had such a great vacation with us, I hope I can see you in a near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews