We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,822 results
Traveler rating
965
495
194
99
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
965
495
194
99
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken man butler service santa maria a la carte pizza dinner reservations lobby bar lobster entertainment team amazing butler the bus beautiful beach adults only section sand fleas cart drivers golf cart diamond club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,822 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2020

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary for 2 weeks in January 2020. This was our 4th visit to Sanctuary within 2 years. The reason why we have returned to this resort is because the staff are amazing and treat us like family.

Our butler, Yagneil went above and beyond all the time. If we needed something, he was always there. Ricardo was great and as well as butlers like Geilys, Isabel, Yoel, Dayon and others. The lobby bartenders, Yoandy, Yandriel, Dayron are very busy and hardworking. They always greeted us with a smile and make the perfect drink. Yordy always gave us incredible service in the morning and afternoon in the buffet, as well as Orbe and Danys. Laider made us the best omelette every morning. We didn't even have to tell him what we wanted....he just remembered. We would eat at the beach and pool bbq everyday. Jorge Luis and Yunier are so friendly and served delicious bbq food. Evelyn and Jesus @ the beach bar and Carlos and Yuri @ the pool bar were always pleasant and ready to serve. Luciano and Yanet at Grand Memories lobby bar always gave us incredible service.

The beach is just breathtaking. We walked everyday along the beach for hours. The cabana were available most of the time. The beach workers, Armondo, Horhay, Yuri, and another man, sorry I can't remember his name would set your chairs up for you. They were very friendly.

Lisdaze, the pool worker, was always smiling and accommodating, asking if he could do anything for us. The evening entertainment are very talented.

The resort is nice and clean, and the ground are very nicely manicured. The food is ok. The rooms could be updated though and new towels and linen are needed.

We had an amazing time at Sanctuary. We will return....hopefully this April.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank tebby2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear Tebby,

Thank you for sharing your nice review. We are glad that you had a great experience with us. It’s good to know that you enjoyed the pool and beach, one of the most beautiful in the world! We will say hello to all the members you have mentioned. We are sure they will be very happy to hear about you. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria.

Warm regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

We booked this resort as it was an adult only resort and told the Sunwing agent at time I booked we had to have a ground floor as my husband uses a walker as he has Parkinson's and Alzheimer's. The agent said this wouldn't be an issue. We arrived and were told we were on the second floor. I said not acceptable as my husband can't use stairs. So they said they'd find a ground floor room. After an hour we discovered the ground floor was not on the ground. You had to climb 8 stairs to get to the first floor. There was no way my husband could get up 8 stairs. The check in desk person was of no help. After another staff saw my distress he contacted another resort next to Sanctuary. Grand Memories and moved us to a handicapped suite.
The room was very accommodating.
On the other hand the resort was sub-par.There is no way this resort is a 4 star. A 2 star would be a stretch. The sanitation in public washrooms was discusting. No toilet paper most of the time. Toilets plugged and not cleaned. The smell was nauseating. We saw cockroaches in the Buffet dining room on the counters were food was as well as on the floors. The food was the same ever day. I don't want to see grilled pumpkin or pumpkin puree ever again. They did have an awesome variety of cheese and deli meats but often covered in flies and not kept cold. Food was way too salty and way too much sugar. The fresh bread was nice. Thankfully you could get eggs cooked to order. I ate a lot of eggs.
The manager of the dining room constantly chastised the dining room staff in front of guests. They were very friendly we thought.
Staff in the lobby bar were very friendly as were staff everywhere.
The bugs were terrible. I'm covered in bites. Some friends had to go to the hospital for shots as they were also covered in bug bites far worse than me. Bug spray did not work.
We did the overnight trip to Havana. The tour of Havana was fantastic as was Leo our tour guide. The restaurant we went to for lunch was terrible. No water in the restroom, no toilet paper. Luckily I found a tap outside to wash my hands. They had no water to drink. Food wasn't that bad. The hotel we stayed at was
terrible. 1 star at best. The buffet was the worst I've had in Cuba. Nothing was hot and very limited
choices. The room was very old and in dire need of a renovation.
We also paid for the Tropicana show. Extra $65.pp. Very overrated.
Beware that when we book an excursion it's in US funds not Canadian. They didn't tell us that. Found out after we got home. $769. for 2 to go to Havana overnight including Tropicana show. Definitely not worth the money!
At least the weather was nice.

I don't think we'll return to this resort.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank christiner754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Dear Christiner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about your experience with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed our beach, one of the most beautiful in the world. However, we are disappointed to know we did not reach your expectations. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you might had during your stay. We always work hard to give our guests the best experience and your suggestions are the clue to improve everyday. We take note of your comments and we will work on a solution.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

This was our third vacation to Cuba, but first to Cayo Santa Maria. Basically the beaches were simply amazing, but the beach in front of the Sanctuary at Grand Memories was the best I’ve even seen. If you’re into long walks on the beach, which we are, try the 6.8km walk to Melia Buenavista (oneway).
The check in at the Sanctuary was very smooth, we were checked in and introduced to our butler in no time.
Our butler Jagneil was the best! He was always there in the morning to find out where we would like him to make our dinner reservations for that evening. He was also available anytime throughout the day for anything you may need, or just to greet you with a smile. My wife and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, so I asked Jagneil if he would be able to get me a bottle of champagne, and before the end of the day, the champagne was in our room. Upon returning to our room one day, after a long walk,Jagneil had arranged a surprise in our room. He had ran my wife a bubble bath with fresh flowers floating on top-thank you Jagneil, you made our vacation wonderful!
In previous reviews a few people mentioned that the food wasn’t good. We had no issue at all with the food, it was all very good. The Italian a’ la carte was the best, in our opinion. Adie, our server,made our dining experience incredible, as she is very personable. We tried to get back to that restaurant, but it was full.
The beach bbq was also a great experience, great food, clean and very pleasant. Evelin at the beach bar is a very happy person, always smiling, great personality and always eager to please.
Our maid Kenia, thank you. We looked forward to return to our room to see what Kenia created, her towel art was amazing.
The only negative experience that we encountered, was that it was difficult to try to exchange large pesos into single pesos for tipping. We tried a few times at the bank at Grand Memories and at check in, but they never had any single pesos to spare.Very hard to tip if you’re not able to get tipping money. Finally we were told about the bank at Puebla la Estrella (market).
Thank you Sanctuary, our vacation was great.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank samimanitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Dear Guest, 

On behalf of all Sanctuary staff, we would like to give you a huge thank you for providing part of your time to share such a beautiful review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know we succeeded your expectations and you enjoyed our amazing beach and service. What makes us really proud is the fact all our staff was so attentive with you during your stay. Your happiness is our best reward after everyday work.
Thank you for choosing us.

Warm regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

It was our first trip to Cuba ..,..there nothing but amazing ..the staff went above and beyond to make our first stay special....our butler Dayana was specially very kind an helpful.....we well definitely be back ....
Karl &Marjorie

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Marj1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are happy to see that overall you had a nice vacation at our little paradise and you enjoyed our beautiful beach.
I want to finish by thanking you for choosing Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria for your vacation. We hope to see you again if you choose to come back to Cayo Santa Maria.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

We were a group of 12 with 4 more joining us from another Province. We were a bit mixed up the first day with different buildings but I was moved on the second day which enabled us to be in 2 buildings which made it much easier to arrange our dinner reservations. Many thanks to our first butler Andre who put my request to move in with his Manager. A lovely young man, Iago, who was there day and night. The staff is very kind and hard working. We had some wonderful meals and great service. Daily in the Buffett was always waiting with a smile and remembered what we drank each morning. The a la carte were very good, the Italian on Grand Memories was our favorite with a lovely waitress, Daylene. Food and service was amazing! Our main butler was Angelina who went out of her way to be friendly and helpful. Interestingly, her husband, Yagneil, was our butler during our last visit and remembered us. Diana and Jose were also very helpful. I cannot say enough about the staff at this resort!
Rooms were clean, beds and pillows very comfortable. Beach amazing! Beach bbq wonderful hot dogs and hamburgers for lunch. When ordering hamburgers just ask if beef, sometimes they have ham. Would definitely return again. Great weather for January, we had high twenties each day!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Dear Lolly,

Thank you so much for your time dedicated to share your experience at Memoires Flamenco. We are glad to know that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your birthday and even more delighted to know that we have fulfilled your expectations in every way. Reviews like yours give us the daily motivation to work in the same way, we are very grateful for your compliments towards our staff and their attention to details. We are already waiting for your return, you will always be welcome at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria.

Kind regards from our little paradise!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews