We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
34
17
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
17
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bathroom apartment huge balcony great spa st martin ski lockers great holiday ski area skiing holiday village runs jacuzzi residence luxury slopes accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We stayed in apartment C2 of Chalets du Gypse (3 bedroom for 8 people) and could not have had a better experience. The view from the living area out into the valley was incredible and we really appreciated the external views from all of the bedrooms. It was up just one floor from the ski lockers where we could ski right out onto the slopes.
Cathy at reception was extremely helpful throughout - she was more than happy to help with all of our queries and requests. The spa and pool were perfect after a long day of skiing, allowing us some well needed relaxation.
A week of true luxury!

Room Tip: Go for C2, couldn't recommend it enough!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy M, Responsable commercial at Residence Les Chalets du Gypse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your comments following your holiday in the residence.

It is with great pleasure that we accept your compliments which we will pass on to our entire staff without fail. Your satisfaction is the finest reward for our staff who work day in day out to provide you with an irreproachable service.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Meanwhile, yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We Booked directly to chalet du gypse payed 1660 euro for one week and recieved a appartment in a corner at the back of the building without view.
We asked at the person at the desk to change.
Not possible she said rudly
Strange because half of the appartments were empty.

Room Tip: Try Booking.com
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank LaetitiaJ137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy M, Responsable commercial at Residence Les Chalets du Gypse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Mrs Laetitia J

Following your holiday in our accommodation, all our staff thank you for your visit.
We are very sorry that the view of the apartment did not come up to your expectations and we would ask you to accept our apologies for this.
Let us clarify that each apartment is now under single ownership and that is why the residence is no longer working as a hotel.
Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to be able to prove to you on your next visit that the problems you encountered were isolated incidents. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Excellent stay in this luxury residence. Very helpful and friendly staff (merci Cathy!!)
Nicely decorated apartments & perfectly furbished.
Great Spa: jacuzzi, pool, sauna and hammam
Great to be really directly on the slope of St Martin with access to the 3 Vallées ski area!

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Cedric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy M, Responsable commercial at Residence Les Chalets du Gypse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Cedric,

Thank you for your comments following your holiday in our apartment.

It is with great pleasure that we accept your compliments which we will pass on to our entire staff without fail. Your satisfaction is the finest reward for our staff who work day in day out to provide you with an irreproachable service.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Meanwhile, yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Fabulous week spent at les chalets du gypse. Great place for families. Great access to slopes in very picturesque village. Fab pool for the kids to use when not skiing. Very helpful reception staff who communicated well even with my bad French skills. Great reception area with pool table and open fire and children's play area. Very cosy clean rooms with excellent facilities. Definitely the best accommodation I have been to in the last 3 years of French ski visits

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We have just had a week at Gypse. Here is the detail:
-the chalets are located just above the village, and are ski in/ski out. There is easy access to the main gondola and ski school, about 150 metres away downhill from the ski room.
-you can walk to the village, either down a set of stairs (need après boots) or across the piste. Its a bit of a steep walk back
-the chalet has undercover parking which was great as there was a massive snowfall during our stay (and we needed snow chains to get out)
-the building is starting to get a bit tired and worn and could be refurbished, especially the furnishings. The ski rooms are very depressing. The pool area is quite nice. The reception area lounge is closed when reception is shut!!
-the apartment - having read the reviews, we enquired in advance to ensure that we had a view down the valley (a necessity) and external windows on all bedrooms. Turned out we had to upgrade to get both of these - so they are in short supply. We took the upgrade and it was worth it. You don't want to be low in the building or facing the back (the road up the mountain).
-the apartment was spacious, but could have done with better lighting. There was good storage available. the kitchen had good equipment including dishwasher etc and we prepared many night-time meals at home, as it was a decent walk to the restaurants in the cold. The furniture was worn and depressing, the bathrooms extremely plain. The bedding, linen and pillows were truly awful.
-the wifi barely functions, on occasions I could not download emails. And there is a limit on the number of devices per apartment, we got 3.
-the staff at reception were not particularly helpful
-the morning bakery delivery is a god send
We had a good week, and might choose Gypse again if travelling in a large group. But we would be very careful about which apartment we got.

Room Tip: Room C16 is a large 4 BDR room apartment on top floor with views down valley and windows and balconies on 3 sides.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews