We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple fare close to the ferry terminal”
Review of Aloe Cafe

Aloe Cafe
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Vaitape
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We read about it in our lonely planet guide book.
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

If you arrive at the ferry terminal around lunch time and before you get to check in to your hotel, this is a good option for food.
Food is simple but quite tasty - pizza, burgers, Tahitian raw tuna salad etc.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Heartspunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Killing some time after touring the island and waiting for our cruise ship tender, we tucked in here. A nice refreshing stop which also provided free WiFi, always a must for our family. Good service and some good snacks/fries. Recommended for all of the above, as they also take credit cards.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank joel283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We were directed to this property off our boat as a place to get Wi-Fi access. The first morning we arrived it was quite busy with people eating hearty breakfasts. We ordered coffees pasties, & rest of our party had beers. The older waitress would not give us the password to get on the Wi-Fi until our order came, and we paid (we didn’t think we looked that scruffy, we weren’t going to “dash”, just off a sailboat) then she wanted to punch it in herself. Wi-Fi was fast. Next morning, different waitress very friendly, password to Wi-Fi still worked. Breakfast was good, prices comparable to other such places in French Polynesia

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Travelingfools2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped to eat here after not being able to read the food stand menus that were in French. The food stands would have been cheaper, but Aloe Cafe does have free WiFi and a more extensive menu (entree salads, paninis, burgers, and larger items like steaks/seafood). I paid 1300 francs for a panini and salad, one of the cheaper items on the menu. The panini was very cheesy and made with a baguette, all in all decently tasty. My husband got a cheeseburger and a salad for around the same price (give or take a couple hundred francs), which he also thought was good. It was the only eatery we know of in Vaitape apart from the food stands, grocery, or very expensive St. James restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank eiler517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Everyone on board the cruise ship went here because of the free Wi-Fi. The food is fine, not great. It's within walking distance from the port so it was super convenient and a great way to check in with folks back home. We were not rushed but we made sure we ordered cocktails and/or food both times we visited. Some of our fellow passengers said that they felt pressured to leave.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Aloe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing