We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
US$156
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
US$104
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$119
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
US$124
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$200
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,391)
Filter reviews
1,391 results
Traveler rating
707
449
167
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
449
167
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscigar bargourmet restaurantplaya pilarbeach barcabana bedspizzaan ice cream standvolleyball poolrooms are modernfishfoam partyboard walkchickena la carte restaurantssmall beach areamain poolocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,391 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned home from our 3rd vacation at the Iberostar Playa Pilar. From the minute we arrived we enjoyed the excellent service of the staff at the front reception. Check in was quick, easy and smooth. When we booked with Air Transat we had requested Bungelow #9 upper level if it was available as we were in this bungelow for our previous visit and loved the view! We were so surprised that not only did we get our request...we were actually given the same suite we had in Bugelowm# 9 on our previous vacation. We were thrilled!!! Every interaction with all of the front reception staff was pleasant, professional and excellent service and always a kind friendly smile!

Our room was alway cleaned early each day and always some kind of towel art on the bed! The mini bar was stocked and fresh linens and towels every day! Great job from the housekeeping staff!

The food was great and being a fussy eater...the staff accommodated by letting us bring plates of vegetables and rice to the meat station and without hesitation the cook made us delicious chicken, beef and pork stir fry in the evening and delicious omelettes and pancakes in the morning. When we sat at our table...we never had to ask for our cold drinks at breakfast or in the evening at dinner...they knew what we wanted...and immediately brought it. Now that is great service!!!! And we definitely enjoyed the beach snacks at lunch!

Each evening after our dinner we loved going to the Lobby to relax, listen to the music and enjoy our coffee...and Yunay always greeted us with a BIG smile, a kind word and a friendly conversation. The service she gave not just us...but all the guests she served was alway so warm and friendly. We actually made a point of sitting in the area we knew she would be serving because she is so sweet! She is a wonderful person, a great server and always made us feel so welcome. We got to know her well and she now has a special place in our hearts! Yunay is definitely an excellent asset to the Iberostar Playa Pilar!

At the pool bar we were alway kept with a cold drink in hand and a smile and eagerness to please by Dariel. He kept the drinks flowing for everyone around the pool and ismgreat at his job! We also received excellent service at the beach bar as well!

Then there is the entertainment staff...where do I begin!!! What a great group!!!!! Mary, Lindy, Alex, Alexis, Ricky, Peter, Annie, Rambo, Dairen ,Yasmany ,Yuby and at the club house Yosvani. All of these staff were so much fun...from early morning at the pool...throughout the day and evening entertainment...this group is the very best!!!! We were kept busy, kept entertained and also enjoyed quiet moments of one on one conversations with all of them. This gave us an opportunity to hear about their country, their family and all of the things the love to do! We left at the end of our vacation feeling like we had made new friends. The warm welcoming personalities and the fun times created by this group truly made our vacation the best time ever!

We were sad to leave but promised many of your staff that we will return again in September! We enjoyed the resort...but we truly loved the staff! Iberostar Playa Pilar should be very proud of all of these individuals and all of your staff...they truly ROCK! We can't wait to return for another vacation!

We Love Your Staff...Love Cuba...Love the Iberostar Playa Pilar!
See you all in September!!!!

Tim & Linda Dunbar

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
6  Thank timlinda2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice this was our first time at this resort. Been to Cuba many time, room Nice, clean lots of hot water, There is a boardwalk that will lead you out to the ocean, with Beach Bar the staff are great people always ready to help( Bar Man at the beach Denis Sandos nice guy) Japanese restaurant is a must overall one of the place in Cuba.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 445berniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Iberostar Play Pilar is the furthest west you can go and sits on its own little island.
3 causeways take you there. It is about 45 minutes from the Cayo Coco airport and worth the drive. It is as beautiful as Ernest Hemmingway described in his writing.
The rooms were clean and the resort is beautiful. YES., the food was very good as well.
For couples upgrade to the private rooms with plunge pool of your own!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best. The views are amazing! Or try the private pool rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGeneralIPP, Gerente at IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar staff and Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in Cayo Guillermo Cuba; also for taking the time to send your comments with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad to hear you had an amazing holiday while staying with us and that you particularly enjoyed our good food we will pass to our Executive Chef your good impressions and that your accommodation and grounds were to your liking and comfort.

Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion and tip; we hope to have the honor to welcome you at our lovely hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar for your next visit to Cayo Guillermo.

Best regards,

Assistant Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second time to Cuba. The resort provided us exactly what we were looking for — a beautiful setting and lots of activities for kids :)

The Pros:
The staff is so friendly. I was told that Cubans love children and after staying here for a week, I can attest that this is the truth! The animation staff went out of their way for our daughter, Lulu. A big thank you to Annie, Rambo, Mary and Alexis in particular for making her vacation so special. She still talks about them and asks when she will see “her friends” again.

Playa Pilar is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. It is a short 15 minute walk away. There is also a smaller beach with a pier by which you can access the ocean. It is very shallow which is great if you are traveling with young kids.

All 3 à la carte restaurants we tried were very good (Japanese, Mediterranean, and gourmet)

The Pina Coladas — delicious! The bartender who works by the pool in the afternoons is awesome! (I do wish we had thought to bring our own reusable drink containers to prevent waste, however.)

The pools were nice and clean, but cold.

Kids Club & nightly kids entertainment show were a hit!

Beautiful ocean view from our room. Our daughter also enjoyed the daily “towel art”.

The cons:
The food at the buffet is not great (although the wait staff is lovely).

Toilets by the pool were often out of service.

Annoying tourists who drink too much and get rowdy (not the resort’s fault but it almost cost one of the previously mentioned staff members his job).

All in all, a wonderful family vacation with memories that will be cherished for years to come.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGeneralIPP, Gerente at IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Please let us express our sincere appreciations not only for choosing IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar to spend your family vacation with us, but also for taking the time to send your comments about your stay.

We are happy to know that you and your family have spent a great time at our resort and enjoyed the facilities and activities, also to hear that your accommodation and grounds were to your liking and comfort; but above all, it is gratifying to know that your daughter enjoyed her vacations and remember their friends from star friends Lulu, Annie, Rambo, Mary and Alexis.

On the other hand, we deeply regret that the behavior of some guests had damaged our image. As a family resort, our bartenders kindly encourage guests to drink enough water and limit the alcoholic drinks when they observe that a guest has drunk too much. Moreover, our Security staff is always checking all guests. Health and safety of our guests is a top priority.

However we are sorry to hear our food from the buffet was not of your liking, our Chefs and their teams, daily cook with fresh ingredients and with the high quality, we assure you that our Executive Chef will give the proper follow up to your comments.

Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion, hopefully for your next family vacations visit our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar, your home away from home.

Best regards,

Assistant Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Honest review - we have been all over Cuba - approximately 15-18 times. This was our first time at this resort.

Spent the week from March 24-31 at this resort. Check in was quick and our room was ready upon arrival. Room was bright and clean. Lots of hot water - never any issue. Beds were comfortable enough but the pillows are very very thin and uncomfortable.

Food was OK - typical for Cuba - nothing spectacular. Very little of the items/sauces/dressings were labeled so you had no idea what they were. The fresh cook stations (fish, meat, pizza, eggs) were worth the wait. Bacon needs to be cooked much longer - most was under cooked every day.

They ran out of orange juice for the last 3 days and took away ALL of the slush machines in the resort for the last 3 days as well. Not sure why.

All Staff were helpful and pleasant!

Never any issue or shortage to exchange money for CUC at the front desk.

For those that do not do their research - this resort is NOT directly on the beach. There is a boardwalk that will lead you out to the ocean - if you want the true beach experience you can walk 15 min or take the bus to Pilar Beach. We prefer the pools however, the pools were very cold - guessing due to the daily winds removing the heat - would be great if they could use solar energy to heat the pools slightly. Pool decks were always full, however pools rarely used (other than kids) due to the temperatures.

They advertise at the bars about not to use plastic straws due to the sea animals which I completely agree, however they put straws in each drink and use the smallest plastic disposable glasses for each drink. We have been at other resorts that use reusable /washable plastic tumblers which would be much better for the environment - or better yet bring your own reusable mug.

Live music in the lobby bar each evening was terrific!

Japanese al a carte was the best (4.5 out of 5 rating) - the creole wasn't great (2 out of 5 rating) and the Mediterranean was better (3 out of 5 rating)

Would definitely recommend this resort as long as you are not going for the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Pasde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGeneralIPP, Gerente at IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar staff and Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in Cayo Guillermo Cuba; also for taking the time to send your comments with the Trip Advisor community.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our beautiful resort, also that your accommodation were to your liking and comfort. Thank you for your great comments about the helpful and pleasant service of our staff that made you feel welcome

We value all guest feedback highly, as it is a vital tool in improving our services continuously; Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion and tips for our future guests, hopefully for your next vacation visit our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar, your home away from home.

Best regards,

Assistant Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews