We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Mojito(Cayo Coco)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,646)
Filter reviews
4,646 results
Traveler rating
2,054
1,403
637
326
226
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,054
1,403
637
326
226
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinternational restaurantpool barpizzafishbeautiful beachchickenbeach grillopen for lunchthomas cookrepeat guestslong pierentertainment staffspecial thanksa la carte restaurantspilar beachtwo weeksfries
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 4,646 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Traveled March 23-30. We enjoyed the resort very much. All the staff very friendly and attentive. Entertainment dancers were exceptional. This is our second visit here and we traveled with four other people, we enjoyed the returnee lobster dinner and free late checkout privileges. Fishing off the dock was good and beach was great with lots of good loungers and palapas, did not have to go early and save which is nice. Pool was good but not much shade and usually full, but we spent most our time on the beach which can get quite breezy/windy at times. Easy to get drinks and service was good. We stayed on third level 2303, room clean bed comfortable and shower hot with great pressure anytime, Highly recommend the upper level if you can, Great views and I think rooms nicer then bottom level. Food was good with some consistency issues but not a big problem. Two alacatrs International and Mediterranean very nice but too much alike, still a nice break from buffet which is good but pretty much the same each day. They are still rebuilding from hurricane but progressing nicely with little or no impact on the vacationers. At the price point we really have no complaints. Thank You to all the staff its because of you that we would return again!

Room Tip: Third level above main lobby building offer great views, If you don't mind the stairs (55) then go for it. The exercise is a bonus.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Bud555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Bud555,

Thank you for your comments, we also appreciate your recommendations. We are pleased to know that our hotel has been to your liking, and above all that you have relaxed in the presence of the nature that surrounds us and with the care of our staff, our purpose is that it be so. Thank you again for choosing us. We invite you to visit us again to feel in Paradise. We wait for you!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This holiday was booked for my yougest daughters wedding and I am so glad she chose Melia Cayo Guillermo.We arrived at the resort at about 4.30 and we were greeted with drinks and a small dance show from the resident dancers before we were checked in by the very friendly reception staff.we were given our room cards and our luggage was delivered to our room 5 minutes later.The room was spotless and well equipped with all the usual appliances.
As it was evening we all met in the lobby bar and went for our evening meal.The food was plentiful a varied and nice and hot and the staff were so friendly from the chefs to the waiters/waitresses who worked so hard but always had a smile on their faces.
As there was 24 of us 20 adults and 4 children we went down early to the pool to get our sunbeds but the sunbeds were plentiful and we had no trouble getting one for the whole 2 weeks of our stay.As the day went on we walked over to the 24 hour pool bar for some refreshments(beer and rum)and thats where we met Tommy.Yaniel,Barbara,Omar and the one we nicknamed Rhihana who all worked so hard and made such an effort for the whole 2 weeks.
As for the hotel it had everything we all needed,activities for the kids and adults throughout the day and the evenings were the same.
the beach at the hotel is superb its a bit windy but not enough to put you off and the hotel has its own pier that attracts all sorts of marine life so i would recommend taking a snorkle or some fishing tackle.You also get a few pelicans waiting for any fish you catch.the hotel also provides free kayaks and pedalos.
The only issue we had was a lack of hot water for 4 days and no water at all at times during that period but that wasn't the hotels fault as it was down to a burst main further up the road but better comunication would of helped.It was Ivan our thomas cook rep that went out of his way to reassure us the water would be fixed he even went to the workmen and took pictures of the repair and then to the hotel boiler room to check we would have hot water that evening as it was the eve of the wedding.
On the day of the wedding all the water issues were resolved and the day went perfectly and the food was outstanding as well as the staff at the beach bar apart from the miserable DJ(who we had paid extra for) who just stood leaning against the wall until 10pm when he walked over to the speakers and pulled all the leads out and said time is up no more music even though we were all still dancing so we all moved on to the pool bar before a few of us went to the on site disco bar.
Overall we had a great 2 weeks and i would return again some time in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velcro1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello velcro1966,

Thank you for your comments, we also appreciate your recommendations. We are pleased to know that our hotel has been to your liking, and that you have chosen us to celebrate your wedding, has stayed with us that special moment of your life, our purpose is that it be so. Thank you again for choosing us. We hope you visit us in the furuto to remember the moments lived with us !! . We wait for you!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Melia Cayo Guillermo, Cuban 5 star hotel complex, which was hit by the hurricane last year, needs a lot of renovation & maintenance to make it back to a 5 star. Situated on a beautiful white sandy beach. Quite isolated, other hotels but nothing else. Very flat, green marsh scrub land. Coral reef.
Thomas cook should not advised this as a 5 star complex at the moment, more like a 3-4 star as areas etc. need maintenance or are not open. Disappointing as nothing like the u tude videos. Ivan the Rep, nice friendly chap was helpful & very good at his job.
This is a large 2-3 story hotel complex. Wide spread, 3 arc layout, centre having the swimming pool & bars. The outer arcs have gardens. Rooms mostly on first & second floor having grass, palm trees/ pool / sea views. Plants / brushes all killed by hurricane, have been replanted with young new ones.
Hotel has nice large lobby / reception area / cocktail bar, 3 small shops, information & customer services area, toilets. Early evening entertainment in front of cocktail bar. Dance shows in show theatre. Pool party. Buffet restaurant is self service & busy, two al'a'cart restaurants, food ok, decor plain, no ambience, pleasant waitresses/ waiters, cold air con, dress code not enforced. Nice pool bar & beach bar, both serve food. Lovely cocktails & beer, wine ok. Average size pool & area. Not enough beds. No toilets in any of the restaurants. Two toilet areas in lobby & one behind pool bar. Nightclub & Cuban restaurant closed. Internet in lobby area (charged). Safe in room (free). Coffee making facilities in room. (no tea). Mini bar stocked with a bottle water & 4 cans. Beach towels provided.(free) free bikes, kayaks etc. Beautiful white sand beach, attractive wooden jetty, palms trees, clear turquoise blue sea, lots of fish & pelicans. Massive shells.
Frequent local open top bus to market etc. Quite an experience. lol (Market not worth going to. Covered about 20 stalls) speed boat & snorkelling trip great. Next to swim with dolphins centre, near the small harbour. We cycled there (half hour)
Weather was changeable first week, very windy, clouds, sun, tropical storm. Second week was hot & sunny.
We had a garden room, first floor(top) of 2 story end block near sports bar. Nice sized room with massive king size bed. Nice view of grass area/ palm trees & sea. Quiet. (we asked for high quiet room, which we got)
The plug for the sink was missing! So asked for one, it took a week to get one. But this was just the start. There was no mains water first morning. So we phoned customer services. Within 10 mins had water. This happened every morning for a few days. Then we had no hot water for a shower in the evening. They said the tropical storm had knocked the electric off. So cold shower. The Rep asked if we was ok so we told him about the water problem & also about the mains leak outside our room which was flooding over the path & garden. Next thing we know their digging it up. What a mess. Path blocked. Kept working on it all day & into the night. At 11.30-12 pm. We had had enough of the loud workmen shouting, laughing, drinking, eating. So complained again. As other people also did. It was sorted. The next day it was like a building site, no water again. They had to wait for the parts to come. So another night with cold shower when they turned water on. The part came, they fixed it, but they left the mess & hole open to see if it was sorted. Another night cold shower. After a couple of days it was filled in. What a mess. They didn't sweep the path or take the old pipes away. Building site!!! The manager gave us compensation. The rest of the holiday we had hot water but very weak cold flow. We thought that was fine!!!. The water went off all over the complex a couple of days for a couple of hours , toilets were not great. The mini bar was not always restocked. So again phoned & it was sorted. I think the customer service manager Eduardo deserves a medal with all the complaints he was getting. Very competent nice chap. This hotel needs a lot of maintenance doing. (probably some caused by hurricane). The older women in customer services, either doesn't speak English or just doesn't want to understand which got frustrating. There are lazy maintenance / garden staff there. There is a lot of areas around where we was, needing sorting. Broken glass on ground. Broken manhole covers, exposed electric boxes etc. Poor paintwork, damaged doors. There was lots of old mattresses stacked in rooms underneath us. Why didn't they put curtains up to hide the mess. The management team came to visit for a couple of days to inspect, (l supposed because of all the complaints.) everything seemed to improve. The restaurants, food, staff, entertainment was alot better. But went back to how it was, when they left. Wish they had stayed the week. They aught to send secret staff to their hotels to find out what's really going on.
Poor restaurant management. The self service restaurant has
4 manned cooking stations which food was cooked fresh in front of you, nice, ok. The central food area the food was cool. They did have a microwave to use. They ran out of plates, bowls etc. You had to ask for them. There was never any bowls near the cereal, fruit salad area. The cereal was not replaced & went soft. Restaurant was busy, made worse by large parties having tables pushed together so limiting smaller parties. These tables should have been spilt up again after they used them. This made more work for the staff on the smaller tables, while the ones with the empty large tables had it easy. The tables were not always cleared so you didn't know if that table was occupied. Tables needed cleaning as sticky. Some friendly staff some not. Two young waitress & waiter kept clearing full glasses of fruit juice you left on table while you went to get cooked breakfast. Once acceptable but 3 times not. This was not funny it got annoying. So you just find the nice staff & sit where they are. I thought the food l had was fine but other people didn't & had upset stomachs. Only coffee in morning, no tea. A table ornament saying occupied/ not occupied would have been useful. The al-a-cart restaurants were basic, cold air con, dress code not enforced.
It was very windy the first week. There was no where to escape from it, there was not enough beds around the pool. There is plenty of room near the sports bar to make a quiet relax area with sun beds, wooden umbrellas etc, nice plants, bushes, shelter it from wind. Also not every one wants to listen to loud music. So would make a nice alternative.
We was very disappointed with this holiday. We did enjoy some of it, but it would have been 100% better without

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sue-burton-on-trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello sue-burton-on-trent,

Thank you for your comments, we regret that the hotel has not been totally to your liking, we will work in the areas that let us know to correct the details that we need to provide an excellent service. For now we invite you to follow our improvements in social networks and once you feel confident in return to our destination again. We wait for you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed from 7th -21st March, Check in was speedy, with a welcome drink on arrival, directions to our room, we stayed in room 2306 on the third floor, with an excellent view of the pool and beach, the cases were delivered very promptly. The hotel and grounds are not very large but very well kept, the room was always spotless. Normally clean towels for the pools/beach daily, you have to remember this is Cuba and some things can run on the slow side. The pool is a good size, with a small part available for smaller children and a deeper part which is sectioned off. The lobby bar, and pool snack bar are open 24 hours. The snack bar is limited but adequate. The beach bar is lovely, on Thursdays they have a beach BBQ which can be fantastic!!, There were a few issues with under cooked meat at the BBQ and in the buffet restaurant, but you can always ask them to cook the meat more on the hot plate if this is what you prefer. The beach is fantastic, and you can walk a good mile in either direction. The pier is a must for Fishing and snorkeling around and underneath, we saw many varieties of fish including several lion fish, barracuda, snapper, grouper and tarpon. Lots of crabs, and a few star fish. The food in the buffet was well cooked with a reasonable amount of variety, the only problem is that is was pretty much the exact same dishes every day, with the only change being the main roasted meat or fish. The staff are all fantastic. The Thomas cook rep Ivan was fantastic, very helpful and an all round very nice man. We did £ full day deep sea fishing trips through Thomas cook, one trawling and 2 bottom fishing, my husband caught a reef shark which was the highlight for him!!, We took the hop on hop off tour bus down to Cayo Coco and spent a few hours in and around the Melia there. We also visited pilar Beach on 3 occasions and it truly is the best beach in the cayo's so beautiful, they have a restaurant there which serves some fantastic food at a very good price. Overall the holiday, resort and the people were a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor will offer the best views
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank vixsherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello vixsherwood

We appreciate your comments that I like that our hotel has been to your liking, and that you qualify us here, our purpose is always that our clients feel pleased with the services we provide. Thank you again for visiting us. We invite you to return, enjoy our services, the charm of our beaches, and the warmth of our team. We will send your comments to Ivan, for the recognition you makes of him. We wait for you!

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel and chose it because it was a Melia (having stayed at Melia Las Dunas in Cayo Santa Maria). Cayo Guillermo is a beautiful little cay north of Cayo Coco. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of North America and just want peace and quiet, this is the ideal place. However, it was a far cry from the Melia Las Dunas. This is a very small hotel with not a lot to offer in the way of entertainment or bars and restaurants. It just depends on what you want. Our accommodation was great, loved the building we were in (Bldg. 3) we faced the ocean and had close access to the beach. We were on the 3rd floor and so had a wonderful view. We had requested a quiet location, but because this resort is so small, you can pretty much hear the bands etc. no matter which building you are in. There are only 2 A La Carte restaurants and we did not try either one. There is one buffet restaurant for all meals - very pleasant, but the food is just adequate. The fresh fruit was pretty tasteless, not a huge variety in the buffet. The grill stations were good and that's where we went most of the time.

The staff here are very friendly and will do what they can to help you. We had an issue with the fridge in our room - it was not cold at all. The front desk were good at trying to help us, however the staff that were supposed to follow up on the request failed. Two days later we received a replacement fridge but it did not work either. We did not bother after that and just got ice from the bar. One strange thing that happened was we requested an ironing board and it was delivered. However when we got back to our room that evening, we found every light in the room turned on including the TV which was tuned to a Spanish station! We did report it but did not receive any kind of response!

The resort has suffered quite a lot of damage as a result of Hurricane Irma. A lot of work has been done on the buildings and they are clean and functional. The gardens will come back in time. The beach is beautiful and has enough shade structures. This island is great for kite surfing if that is your interest as the winds are very strong and perfect for this sport. There is only one pool and it did not appeal to us as there was not a lot of shade. All in all, we still enjoyed our stay as we just wanted a week in the sun and a place to relax and that is what we got.

Room Tip: Building 3 - third floor
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Lyn P,

Thank you for your opinions, and also for your recognition, really all the hotel staff has worked hard to achieve what we have now, although it is true that there are still things to do and are small details that will make the hotel a more welcoming . We invite you to visit us in the future again, you will see that you will have a paradisiacal experience again. WE WAIT FOR YOU !! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews