We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Thalasso Cantabrico Sirenas
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
As Areas I(Covas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
133
229
117
54
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
229
117
54
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewshotel is locatedsmall beachpathgaliciaweathereurosfabspavarietyaccesstenniswalkingparking
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Excellent location overlooking a small beach and just off the highway leading out of Viveiro, heading towards Ortigueira. The beach is accessed by a steep staircase leading down from the hotel grounds. There are stunning views of the Viveiro ria and the fishing port. Our room was on the groundfloor and was modern, spacious, and very clean. A large table was available for computers with several connections. Our room also had a small room with shelves for putting luggage. Parking could be found for free outside the hotel but there are not enough places for all the guests. Underground parking is available for three euros a day and it is worth it. We didn't eat in the restaurants or cafeteria, but we did have breakfast, which was varied, with hot and cold dishes. There were even churros to dip in your coffee. A path leads along the cliff above the beach down to the Covas beach, where there are many cafés and restaurants, together with a Coviran supermarket. It takes ten minutes walking down this path.

I would have preferred expresso coffee for breakfast and fresh orange juice. The juice available was undrinkable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Where should I start?.. from three positive aspects perhaps. The complex, including the spa etc. seems to have been very recently renovated and so is very well designed and in pretty good condition. The property is quite large and includes different useful facilities like spa, a tennis court, quite large mini-golf field and even separate apartment accommodation if you are coming with a family and do not want to be in a hotel room. The hotel staff, grumpy as per their looks, turns out to be quite friendly and, generally, helpful. This is it in terms of pros. Now about cons.

The hotel claims to be a four-star hotel and this is quite a misstatement to say the least.

Rooms: no such basic things (basic even for two-three star hotels!) as a notepad and a pen, no paper tissue, no soap-dish, no bathrobe/slippers (perhaps, they provide them for an extra fee?), an empty mini-bar (well, with two courtesy tiny bottles of water), one set of totally uncomfortable cheap pillows and no blanket, terribly slow and intermittent Wi-Fi, and no single piece of information about the hotel and its facilities whatsoever. You can get two poorly designed and printed pamphlets at the reception - one about the hotel (useless) and the other with a price-list for the spa. Both are only in Spanish.

Food: overall not too bad, the pizza I had was okayish but very generously covered with toppings, however there is no room service - I had to come down to order it and then return back in 30 minutes to pick it up. Breakfast is very simple - just a selection of muesli, corn-flakes etc., fresh fruit, yogurt, meat cuts, two types of cheese + four hot options which are scrambled eggs, viennas, bacon and tortilla espanola. Two types of juice (feels somewhat diluted with water) and not very pleasantly tasting American coffee (there is no espresso machine so no better coffee option). Worst of all is that breakfast room is in the basement - a very depressing way to start your day. The same basement room is used for buffet dinners (EUR 15 per person) at which time it gets even more depressing because you find only solo diners there. It is a shame that breakfast is not served at the rooftop cafe and/or restaurant.

Service: while the staff is generally friendly and tries to help, they do not seem to have been properly trained in providing customer service (which is a prerequisite for a hotel claiming four stars). Almost nobody apart from the receptionists speak English, or French, or German, or Italian; only Spanish and some Portuguese. These are minor but annoying things related to the service, the major one is that I booked this hotel 1.5 in advance asking for a top-floor room with a nice (sea) view and got a second-floor room overlooking the roof of another building and the main road. Asked to change and was offered a ground-floor room from where you could somewhat see the sea but not the sun. Further to this, there was no indication that spa access was not included for hotel guests and it turned out to be EUR 11 extra. Same for the indoor parking which is EUR 6 extra (there are free parking spaces but very few right in front of the hotel, most are quite far down). It is not a lot but given the room rate...

Value for money: the room rate I paid was EUR 290 per night. Considering this fact and all the above issues, it was an extremely disappointing experience and absolutely no value for money whatsoever. During the days I stayed at the hotel, there was a big festival or something but, even then, the price is just not appropriate for the service you get. A fair price for that would be no more than EUR 100-120 per night (for two) inclusive of breakfast, indoor parking and spa access. Not a single Euro-cent more than that. And then this is not a four star hotel, a poorly managed 3.5-star at best.

Room Tip: Find out about the room early on, book without breakfast, take your 4G modem, go elsewhere if price is > EUR 90-100
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brnensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Good bed. Pillow just a bit hard. Large clean room. Free WiFi. Closed garage against a fee. Fantasic view over the Atlantic. Good breakfast. Friendly personal. If I would be in the nabourhood I would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Hotel near viveiro. Ten minute walk along beautiful coastal path. Stunning views from rooftop restaurant and terrace. Spa on site with great prices 11 euros 50 minute circuit. Lovely cove beach next to hotel. Hotel has indoor swimming pool which has some spa water jets. Free to use for guests. Sunloungers if weather good.restaurants abound in viveiro. Great seafood and meat. Visit the san roque mirador for grill restaurant and fab view over coastline and viveiro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maria teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We've spent one night in the hotel while making our trip on the North of Spain. We had a room on the 0 floor, so instead of balcony had a big terrace, which we can enter together with neighbors.
Nice pools in SPA zone with all the streams and fountains and sauna (a bit cold with +70C)). Not many people in the morning.
Really recommend to go to the nearby beach: even need to pass long stairs, it's worth seeing.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Юрий С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews