We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
52
42
13
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
42
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pleasant stay busy days sri lanka basic amenities swimming pool nice hotel tour operator air conditioning laundry service rooms are clean fresh fruit great pool minneriya national park good size elephant safari drummer dambulla
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Sungreen is a great place to stay if you want to go to elephant safari and visit Sigiriya. The Resort is peaceful with a beatiful garden and a great pool.

the staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean with fresh flowers on the bed.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Runar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel should be 5 star, absolutely wonderful. From the Sri Lankan drummer welcome, to the gorgeous pool, the lovely room and to the restaurant, it is absolutley stunning here! We have really enjoyed our stay and could’ve gladly stayed a lot longer. We only stayed for one night due to moving around Sri Lanka but, would fully recommend this hotel. The town is 2km walk or taxi ride and in the town you will find some lovely drivers of tuktuks. We took a trip to the herbal gardens, sigiriya rock and Dambulla temple, the hotel is central to all of these, roughly 20km each way. The hotel is relaxing, and all the staff are welcoming and friendly. The food was absolutley delicious.. compliments to the chef.

Thankyou so much for our stay!

Lauren and Alex.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank lozj96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudesh H, Manager at Sungreen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Positive feedback such as yours is always motivating our employees for excellent service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank You.
Yours faithfully
Sudesh Hemal
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The hotel has very well laid out gardens, plantations and a swimming pool in the middle, surrounded by accommodation units which are very spacious and fitted with all basic amenities for a comfortable stay. Shower cubicles are bit of a discomfort. There is only one restaurant, and the variety and quality of food is good. All staff members are very warm and friendly....they take great care of all guests. We went to Sigiriya early in the morning and while returning we got late and their restaurant was closing for breakfast, so they got in touch with our chauffeur to know about how much time would it take us to reach hotel. We were surprised to see that they waited for us and closed the restaurant only after we had our breakfast. All in all its a beautiful hotel, value for money and they go all out to serve their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gopeshgks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Thanks to BASF Sri Lanka, the chemical company, all our family members were privileged to spend 01 nights in this amazing hotel in Habarana. When it comes to the staff and the service it was outstanding. Specially the nice attentive young lady who was at the restaurant. She actively catered to all our requirements when we were having our lunch & dinner on arrival day. Also, the banquet manager (Don’t know the name) was also a nice attentive guy. First day lunch and the dinner were really delicious. My two brothers and I have stayed in a triple room which was really clean and cozy. Wi- fi was also good. All basic amenities were in placed such as Coffee Making Machine, Basic Toiletries, Stationery, Safe Deposit Locker & the mini bar. Pool area is also quite good. Depth is just only 04 feet. There are spectacular frangipani trees planted all over the resort and it gives a superior charm to the property. Despite it was hot and humid in this may, we really enjoyed the stay in this wonderful property. Only the drawback that I could realize was the non-air-conditioned restaurant. There were plenty of fans but as my opinion, it is advisable to make the restaurant air conditioned if it is possible. (Just an opinion) Overall the hotel has given us a four-star service. I can recommend this property to any local or foreign clients without hesitating. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank PulasthiW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudesh H, Manager at Sungreen Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and recommending us for the other travelers. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Positive feedback such as yours is always motivating our employees for excellent service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank You.
Yours faithfully
Sudesh Hemal
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Whilst noting that a good number of guests experienced a satisfactory stay at this hotel our experience was very poor. All started well with a traditional greeting; welcome drink and introduction to our room. Then enjoyed the pool before sunset.
The sequence of events that followed I have never experienced in my travels especially at the other six hotels we have stayed in Sri Lanka. At the restaurant that had few guests in when we arrived we expected to be shown to our two seats. We were told they are all reserved and your table is outside. Outside tables were under cover but the rain was extremely heavy and we wanted to be seated inside with at least forty seats available. Reluctantly a table for two was moved inside certainly with a spirit that did not make us feel welcome. There were communication issues that surprised me as at other hotels we did not have this problem. I then asked for the drink and wine list. The hotel does not have one. Rather surprised ( having never experienced a restaurant or hotel without a price list). I asked what Red wines have you got. Again some communication issues - just one wine available. We were then told other foreigner option was beer! Again based on the other Sri Lanka hotels I had visited I had experienced wide ranging drinks menus. The soup was cold as were other dishes. The duty manager we requested to see went to fetch operations manager and did not return. Eventually the manager was found and he explained that foreigners like to sit outside to eat and he has no complaints previously. He did not explain that they had no bar licence that we discovered later. He just said the bar was being relocated and therefore no stock on premises. During conversation he blamed run down stock on recent festivals and a large group of French staying (!). We rang our travel company and explained issues they advised check out and they did find a hotel that suited us to continue with a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Not suited for Europeans (or in hotels language "foreigners".
Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
7  Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews