We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
219
78
20
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
78
20
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club joglo villa minute walk fully stocked mini bar single room a short bike ride boutique hotel breakfast buffet sun loungers great air con private terrace main road pancakes beachfront restaurant per day every morning free bikes
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Definitely loved my stay. I booked the Superior Room (Rumah Dua), it has private terrace, private entrance, really the best choice for you who needs quiet moment.
I chose this room because it's not a "traditional" type of room, instead it is more minimalist and modern. Room is cold and have good air circulation -- which is perfect for a cool down after being sweaty outside.
Breakfast is well-made western and local food, tasted awesome especially the sausage. They also have bicycle rent service, with a bigger and thicker tire which make it easier to paddle on sandy road.
Overall, it's 8.5 / 10. It's indeed not located by the beach, but at the same time it's a perfect place to hideaway.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipflop2011, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know what Rumah Dua at Smugglers Hideaway is like

We hope to see you again

Scallywags Gili Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Our family of 6 stayed in Joglo 2 for 5 nights.
The villa was very private, set in its own garden behind a lockable gate and not overlooked.
We were very pleasantly surprised at how spacious the villa is; 2 decent sized double bedrooms and a twin, each with lovely open air shower rooms. There was a big terrace with sofas and a coffee table, plus a big dining table and decent well appointed kitchen.
The pool was much more than just a plunge pool as we'd imagined from the photos and there were 6 comfortable sun loungers around it.
The villa is a good 15-20 minute walk from breakfast at the beach club, but they will deliver breakfast to the villa if you order it the night before, or you can take the free bikes and cycle down in 5-10 minutes.
The staff was excellent. They were there at the jetty to meet us when we arrived, which was lucky as we were being hassled by the many horse and cart men to take us to the villa for a rather large fee....They carried all our cases on their bike handlebars to reception then on to the villa, and were superb during our stay.
Breakfast at the beach club was good, a decent buffet plus fresh eggs however you want them.
We had a seafood BBQ on the beach one night and although a bit expensive for Gili it was the best meal we had. The butterfish was probably the best fish I've ever eaten.
I would also highly recommend Scallywags divers. They are a very friendly and competent bunch and there are loads of dive sites close by, most teeming with the biggest green turtles I've ever seen.
There are lots of cheap warungs close by, good massage places, shops and decent restaurants all over the island.
Overall everything was pretty much perfect and I would thoroughly recommend this place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2018

My partner and I enjoyed dining at Scallywags so much we ended up eating dinner there every night we were on Gili Air! The dining area on the beach is just beautiful and the service was fantastic. We each ate lobster and steak and found the prices to be cheap compared to what we would pay back home! The fajitas and oreo ice cream are also a must. We would highly recommend eating here if you're staying on Gili Air!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank amyhansford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipflop2011, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi Amy,

That's great that you guys enjoyed us that much that you continued to come back each night. Did you stay with us too at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway? Thanks very much for your recommendations

Scallywags Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The beach bungalow was basic, but was great vaue for money. See below.

1. Great location, just metres from the beach.
2. Basic, with not much storage, but very clean and had all the facilities you need.
3. Shower was much better than it looked! I really liked the bathroom.
4. Breakfast served on the beach. Plenty of choice.
5. Great service by all staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipflop2011, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi again Karyn C,

You have given us a great review on our beach front restaurant & now our resort Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, thanks for taking the time to do this, we really appreciate it. Until next time we meet.

Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway Gili Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We were three generations, four adults + two littlies staying in Joglo villa. It was perfect. Gili Air is laid back, traffic free, great for biking and strolling around. Lovely beaches and good range of eateries and bars. The villa was great and well equipped but most of all the Scallywags team went out of their way to help, from the moment we got off the transfer boat to getting their speedboat back over to Lombok. We stayed a week but longer would have been better. Thank you, Rosie and family.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank rosie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipflop2011, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Rosie,

It was great to hear you had such a fabulous time with us & you & your family enjoyed your time on Gili Air. We have passed your review on to all our team, they so pleased to hear your thoughts. We hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

The team at Scallywags Resort Gili Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews