We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Nearby Hotels
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan(Gili Trawangan)
US$79
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marygio Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$74
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Trawangan Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$84
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vila Ombak(Gili Trawangan)
US$81
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$112
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vamana Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$84
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
D'Wahana Resort(Gili Trawangan)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wilson's Retreat(Gili Trawangan)
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jali Resort(Gili Trawangan)
US$70
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveler rating
409
419
225
112
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
419
225
112
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe terracehorse and cartgili twest sidepool barfree upgradeoutdoor bathroomturn down servicequiet sidemain partrent a bikelarge poolpool sidegreat poolthe main stripbeautiful resortbean bags
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on our visit to Gili Trawangan. Nice resort with good amenities.. It is a bit far away from the main strip of restaurants and bars on the island but on the plus side, this means it is much quieter. The beachside bar also offers spectacular views of the sunset and the volcanic peaks of Bali. The rooms could be a bit better air-conditioned. We found our room pretty stifling in the 30+ degree heat of Gili T, despite the air-conditioning unit being left constantly on. Breakfast buffet was average considering the price.

The best thing about this hotel are some of the staff. On a snorkeling day trip, we left our cash behind at the hotel and wanted to rent a Go-Pro camera to get some underwater photos. We were at the harbour side by the time we realised this but Nicholas from Ombak Sunset came down to meet us at the harbour with some of his own money so we could hire the Go-Pro. We got some great snorkeling pictures! Thank you Nicholas!

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2trvl460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear love2trvl460

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset .... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your kind review .

We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , we will pass your kind comment to Nicolas , he is a valuable asset for our company .

Gili trawangan is famous for its underwater beauty , make sure to bring your underwater camera to capture the great moment .

Again , we are looking forward to welcome you on your second stay at Ombak Sunset!

Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

Can not stress enough how shocking this hotel was. To begin with, the room was boiling, so we moved our bed so it was under the aircon so we could try and sleep. We then discovered animal droppings and a dirty tampon under the bed. (Seriously)
The bathroom was outside so having a shower or using the toilet meant being around spiders and lizards and getting out of the shower onto outside dirt and heat.
The pool was as hot as a bath... Isn't a pool meant to cool you down on a hot island?
The hotel is at least an hours walk from the main shops yet they still charge you $15 a day to hire a bike
The buffet breakfast has no choice and is $13 per person per day if it isn't included
The staff are very rude. After explaining how upset we were with the room and deciding to check out after one night they said the rest of the time was non refundable no questions asked until I explained to them that I am a travel agent and then they were happy to hand over the money.
I will not recommend this hotel to any of my clients. It ruined our time on the Gili islands and is very upsetting.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jemima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Dear Jemima T

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset .... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your review .

We do apologise that the room condition is not clean and the aircon is not working maximum due to outside heat , believe that this issue has been shared with related department . Being on a tropical island,means that wild inhabitant is something common , however in every room we do provide mosquito spray and repellant , and twice a week we do fog in the entire hotel area .

Our main pool is the biggest on the island , outdoor and overlooking the ocean , situated on the tropical island where the sun shines brightly most day , the temperature of the water depends on the weather .

For your kind information , the rates for bicycle rent is IDR 150.000 for the big bike and IDR 75.000 for the small bike , it's not USD 15 like you mentioned on your review , we provide well-maintained bicycle compare to other vendors , it is optional , we never force our guest to rent the bike .

The additional breakfast cost IDR 125.000 , not USD 13 like you mentioned on your review , we have improved the variety of our breakfast consistently , afraid that we could not accommodate every guest personal taste .

Some online travel agent offers cheaper rates by selling room only combine with a non-refundable policy , our management decided to waive your room charge because we value you as our customer , not the fact that you are a travel agent .

On your next trip and stay at Ombak Sunset , we assure you an improved experience .

Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We didnt have a great start when we got asked to pay 2.7 million for transportation from Lombok airport and then we realized we could have done it all for 1.3 million with no negotiation involved, just asking ourselves to the guys.

Room was not so special, we even saw a huge crab on the hallway and had a salamandra in the room.

Breakfast was good and so was the pool and the staff but for the price we surely expected more

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank CdeKirche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear CdeKirche

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset .... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your review .

The service that we provide to the guest is standardised for guest convenience , there are may third party operator that provide cheaper rates , but we could not guarantee their standard of service . We offer transfer rates inclusive private car , speed boat and horse cart , depends on the number of passengers , this rate is negotiable .

We apologise that we could not provide you with the wow factor we aim for , believe that future improvement is on our task list .

In the meantime, Happy Travel ..

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We came here from Bali for one night. The sunset was amazing, there was live music also. In the restaurant the had bbq, you can eat while.your feet are in sand, for me it was paradise. The hotel have infinity pool, and poolbar. We had an opened air bathroom, which was really exotic and beautiful.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear Anita K

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset ... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your rave review and to share it with trip advisor community .

We glad that our team did not disappoint , we aim to give the best service possible to all of our clients .

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Ombak Sunset for another great experience!

Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

After getting married in Bali we decided to spend 6 nights in Gill T at the Hotel Ombak Sunset. It looked great on the website so we went ahead and booked the honeymoon package for a bit of added luxury. We took the boat from Bali and after a 2 hour trip we arrived on the beach in Gill T. The island itself has no motorised transport lending a really untouched feel - you can hire a bike and cycle the island in about an hour which is something you should do. We took a horse and cart to the hotel which is 20 mins away - any horse lovers will hate this as the horses are flogged and are not looked after at all. Keep your luggage to a minimum too - we really struggled with all of ours! Arrival at the hotel was poor and the guy checking us in was rude and insisted on us settling our room upon check in. We had the sea view one bedroom suite which looked much better on the website. The room was old, the bathroom didn't have a proper shower and it was certainly not worth the money. For reference we stayed in the sofitel nusa dua the week before in a pool access suite which was cheaper. The food was mediocre at best and service time was horrific. We waited nearly an hour for a rendang and pad Thai one evening that were tasteless which I didn't think was possible! On the bright side the inclusive snorkeling trip was amazing, the romantic beach dinner (which I swear used a different chef!) and the two day free bike hire were nice inclusions. ROOM WAS NOISY. Could hear heavy dance music from the beach at night and was woken at 6.30am on Sunday by it as well- for reference we are in our early 30s and like dance music but not when we are trying to sleep. Pool area is nice but not sure when they clean the pool out....there was a dead crab in there for two days. Check out was painful and we were actually quite glad to be leaving which is a shame. The hotel is crying out for some decent management and the staff would really benefit from some training. I must add that the staff did a decent job with the tools they have and shouldnt be criticised too much. Unfortunately we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 5001 which was allegedly one of the best rooms. Not sure what the others will be like
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear Victoria T

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset ... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your review .

This kind of review is good for us to pinpoint which area that need further improving .

We assure you that this would not happen again, we have shared this to related department.

We do agree that proper training is necessary for all of staff and management , this are will be our highlight this year .

Again , we apologise that we could not provide you the wow factor we aim for , we hope that you give us an opportunity to fix this on your next trip to gili trawangan .


Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews