We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm and Comfort in Hotel Ombak Sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Charm and Comfort in Hotel Ombak Sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2016

Staying at Hotel Ombak Sunset gave us a quiet and peaceful vacation in Gili Trawangan despite of the island being a party place. We actually love to party but it is great to have a resort like Hotel Ombak Sunset because we could have a space to relax and laze around.

We stayed in a Deluxe Terrace Family Room. It is perfectly suited for our group. It was spacious and comfortable. The room is air-conditioned. It has a king size bed and a double bed. The room also has a huge bathroom equipped with modern indoor bathroom facilities. Our room also has television, mini fridge, writing desk and in-room safe. Our room was generally neat and comfy. It has all the basics that we needed to have a comfortable stay in the island.

  • Stayed March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, June 6, 2016
Dear Marxtermind

Warmest greetings from Hotel Ombak Sunset….Paradise just ahead!

Thank you for the glowing review.

We are very glad we could provide you with the amazing experience ! on your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    359
    189
    96
    81
See reviews for
157
510
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on our visit to Gili Trawangan. Nice resort with good amenities.. It is a bit far away from the main strip of restaurants and bars on the island but on the plus side, this means it is much quieter. The beachside bar also offers spectacular views of the sunset and the volcanic peaks of Bali. The rooms could be a bit better air-conditioned. We found our room pretty stifling in the 30+ degree heat of Gili T, despite the air-conditioning unit being left constantly on. Breakfast buffet was average considering the price.

The best thing about this hotel are some of the staff. On a snorkeling day trip, we left our cash behind at the hotel and wanted to rent a Go-Pro camera to get some underwater photos. We were at the harbour side by the time we realised this but Nicholas from Ombak Sunset came down to meet us at the harbour with some of his own money so we could hire the Go-Pro. We got some great snorkeling pictures! Thank you Nicholas!

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2trvl460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, June 6, 2016
Dear love2trvl460

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset .... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your kind review .

We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , we will pass your kind comment to Nicolas , he is a valuable asset for our company .

Gili trawangan is famous for its underwater beauty , make sure to bring your underwater camera to capture the great moment .

Again , we are looking forward to welcome you on your second stay at Ombak Sunset!

Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

Can not stress enough how shocking this hotel was. To begin with, the room was boiling, so we moved our bed so it was under the aircon so we could try and sleep. We then discovered animal droppings and a dirty tampon under the bed. (Seriously)
The bathroom was outside so having a shower or using the toilet meant being around spiders and lizards and getting out of the shower onto outside dirt and heat.
The pool was as hot as a bath... Isn't a pool meant to cool you down on a hot island?
The hotel is at least an hours walk from the main shops yet they still charge you $15 a day to hire a bike
The buffet breakfast has no choice and is $13 per person per day if it isn't included
The staff are very rude. After explaining how upset we were with the room and deciding to check out after one night they said the rest of the time was non refundable no questions asked until I explained to them that I am a travel agent and then they were happy to hand over the money.
I will not recommend this hotel to any of my clients. It ruined our time on the Gili islands and is very upsetting.

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jemima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, June 16, 2016
Dear Jemima T

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset .... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your review .

We do apologise that the room condition is not clean and the aircon is not working maximum due to outside heat , believe that this issue has been shared with related department . Being on a tropical island,means that wild inhabitant is something common , however in every room we do provide mosquito spray and repellant , and twice a week we do fog in the entire hotel area .

Our main pool is the biggest on the island , outdoor and overlooking the ocean , situated on the tropical island where the sun shines brightly most day , the temperature of the water depends on the weather .

For your kind information , the rates for bicycle rent is IDR 150.000 for the big bike and IDR 75.000 for the small bike , it's not USD 15 like you mentioned on your review , we provide well-maintained bicycle compare to other vendors , it is optional , we never force our guest to rent the bike .

The additional breakfast cost IDR 125.000 , not USD 13 like you mentioned on your review , we have improved the variety of our breakfast consistently , afraid that we could not accommodate every guest personal taste .

Some online travel agent offers cheaper rates by selling room only combine with a non-refundable policy , our management decided to waive your room charge because we value you as our customer , not the fact that you are a travel agent .

On your next trip and stay at Ombak Sunset , we assure you an improved experience .

Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We didnt have a great start when we got asked to pay 2.7 million for transportation from Lombok airport and then we realized we could have done it all for 1.3 million with no negotiation involved, just asking ourselves to the guys.

Room was not so special, we even saw a huge crab on the hallway and had a salamandra in the room.

Breakfast was good and so was the pool and the staff but for the price we surely expected more

Stayed May 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CdeKirche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, May 30, 2016
Dear CdeKirche

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset .... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your review .

The service that we provide to the guest is standardised for guest convenience , there are may third party operator that provide cheaper rates , but we could not guarantee their standard of service . We offer transfer rates inclusive private car , speed boat and horse cart , depends on the number of passengers , this rate is negotiable .

We apologise that we could not provide you with the wow factor we aim for , believe that future improvement is on our task list .

In the meantime, Happy Travel ..

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunajska Streda
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We came here from Bali for one night. The sunset was amazing, there was live music also. In the restaurant the had bbq, you can eat while.your feet are in sand, for me it was paradise. The hotel have infinity pool, and poolbar. We had an opened air bathroom, which was really exotic and beautiful.

Stayed April 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawa W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, May 30, 2016
Dear Anita K

Warm greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset ... Paradise just ahead !

Thank you for your rave review and to share it with trip advisor community .

We glad that our team did not disappoint , we aim to give the best service possible to all of our clients .

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Ombak Sunset for another great experience!

Kind regards

Hotel Ombak Sunset Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
1.7 km away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.4 km away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.8 km away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Property: Hotel Ombak Sunset
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Price range (per night): ₱3,638 - ₱9,768
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing