We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
31
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stable cottage fabulous location peace and quiet could not have been more helpful breathtaking views rose cottage greer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We had a group of 11 staying across the Blackthorn and Mill Cottages for 5 nights. The cottages were lovingly renovated, clean, comfy and had all the mod cons and self catering facilities you could need, including a welcome basket filled with tea, coffee, milk and some local baked goods. Set up on a hill, we enjoyed waking up to beautiful views across the coast each morning. We had the feeling of being secluded in the countryside, yet were only a short drive from nearby towns, such as Downpatrick where you could stock up on all the essentials, go out for dinner, etc.
The landlord Greer, was friendly, helpful and gave us suggested walking routes and restaurant recommendations for the local area.
We used Blackthorn cottage as our base as it had a fantastic, large main room for our group to get together, where we'd cook dinner, followed by games in front of the wood burner stove on the cosy nights we spent in.
I'd highly recommend this accommodation, and we will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Northern Ireland! Thank you for having us!

Room Tip: Blackthorn Cottage had amazing views
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greerandmaureen, Owner at Slievemoyle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review!!! So glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay in Mill and Blackthorn Cottages and thank you for your very kind recommendation! We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit to Northern Ireland. Kind regards, Greer & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My parents and my family (my husband and I with 5 boys 12yrs and younger) stayed in the Blackthorn Cottage in early July. My mom and dad were over from the states and we live in Birmingham England. We had a wonderful time in this cottage that is hidden away from the main road. We had a gorgeous view to the Strangford Lough and the Irish Sea, even seeing the Isle of Man on good days. It was peaceful and idyllic setting for a holiday to relax and enjoy being with the family. Greer and Maureen were so welcoming and obliging if anything was needed (like a new can opener and the bbq). Even brought us fresh eggs from their chickens. And their dog Max was the best! The boys were able to go on walks with Max who would take them all over the grounds and had the best of fun.
So all in all, it was amazing and we would all love to go back again!
Thank you Greer and Maureen.
~Janelle Mullan

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greerandmaureen, Owner at Slievemoyle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you, Janelle, for your very kind comments. So glad to hear that you had the best time and look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kindest regards, Greer and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We had two nights at these cottages in the Ringcladdy Barn and the Rose cottage with 32 people.
It was brilliant - all that we needed including and iron and a hair dryer!! which allowed us to travel light. We had food delivered from the local Asda - which we ordered before leaving Birmingham and it made self catering really easy.

The views are amazing its a great place to stay just a few minutes drive to Castelward where the 1st season of Game of Thrones was filmed, and the beautiful Strangford Lough- with its £1 passenger ferry to the cute little town and sea life centre across the water. Its an easy 45 minutes drive to Belfast allowing you a day trip without having to stay in the city.
I thoroughly recommend this place and the couple that run it are so nice and amazing hosts!
They have a range of cottages if you want a smaller more intimate retreat, family sizes and then the larger one we had for groups.

Room Tip: the cottages have wifi the barn does not
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnjiBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greerandmaureen, Owner at Slievemoyle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you Anji for your fantastic review. So glad that you had a brilliant time. It was great to have you stay - and return again this Spring!
Kindest regards to everyone in your group from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed in these cottages recently with 4 adults and 3 kids. The Blackthorn cottage was our Base. Very cosy and spacious especially as we had 3 very active kids with us all under 6 with all the mod cons.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank aislinghalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greerandmaureen, Owner at Slievemoyle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you very much indeed Aisling for your very kind comments. So glad to hear that you and the children had a great time.
We hope you can stay again in the future.

Kind regards, Greer and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed in all the cottages as a family group and I then returned with 7 of my friends for another fabulous weekend. Accommodation fabulous, views stunning and owners are so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be making a third visit......

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank dakane321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greerandmaureen, Owner at Slievemoyle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you so much Deirdre for such a lovely review. We love to see our guests returning time and time again! Glad you were able to make that third visit - and we hope you can stay again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Greer and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews