We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful traditional beach bungalows right on the water ”
Review of Sampaguita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sampaguita Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional beach bungalows right on the water ”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay at Sampaguita as our base for exploring Moalboal and also to do the Canyoneering trip to Kawasan falls which is roughly 30 mins drive by tricycle from the resort. The resort is about 7-8 mins from the centre of Moalboal via a tricycle ride down a rough little road. As far as cost and value for money goes Sampaguita is probably on the more expensive side compared to other hotels you can find in Moalboal however it is a beautiful little resort with maybe a couple of dozen traditional beach bungalows right on the ocean and the rooms are charming and clean and a decent size with good A/C.
All meals are included in the price of accommodation for Sampaguita which includes afternoon tea, the food was good but not great in my opinion, the WiFi never worked during our stay even though they advertise that they have it. Sampaguita is actually a dive resort with an in house dive centre Gangga divers I believe they are called and being located right next to the ocean with a pretty little coral reef right there which was perfect for snorkeling in the afternoon however my biggest concern about the resort stemmed from my experience with the in house dive centre I have to question the training and professionalism of the DM I had on my dive Raymund who after giving a abrupt dive briefing didn't appoint a dive buddy to me and in his attempt to please the larger group that were on the dive with us took me to depths well below my level of training and experience 25 metres ( my dive computer was reading 30) I am only an open water diver and when I signaled to the DM to alert him that I was down to 50 bar he signaled back to me to just go back to the boat by myself and made no mention of a safety stop or even beginning to ascend back to the surface. I slowly took myself back to the top and eventually made my way to the boat where I waited another 12-15 mins for the rest of the group to resurface.
Despite the fact that the safety standards were not upheld to a proper standard the dive location itself was amazing and I would stay at Sampaguita again however I am not sure if I would dive with them again.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CraigG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    76
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
83
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and despite the initial rainy weather, we enjoyed every second of it. The location is very good, diving run by locals - authentic fishing boats - nice atmosphere and professional. Food was perfect: healthy, tasty, just enough. Our room was simple with nice touches such as a yoga mat. Amazing corals, plenty of turtles and interesting marine life. Favourite dive: Pescador, anti-clock wise.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile

1 week of holidays in Sampaguita for diving. Hotel is vers good with a very efficient staff. Diving club is very well organised and diving spots close to the cost. Dive Master and boatmen very professionnal. I strongly recommand Samoa guitare hôtel

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ftu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2017
Dear ftu01,

We read with pleasure your comments after your holiday in Sampaguita, and wish to say thanks on behalf of the Management and Staff. We work hard for fulfilling the promise of a safe, happy and refreshing holiday. We are delighted that the promise has been maintained but we also shall work for improving what is already good.
We wish you many satisfying holidays and hoping to be able to welcome you back,
Warmest Regards
Gaspare and the Sampaguita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

We lived on the resort next door but we're unhappy with the food there so we decided to go ower to Sampaguita to see if they were any better.

And I am happy to inform that buffet that was served was well worth the walk over.

Fresh food and friendly staff in an very cosy environment deserves a big thumbs up.

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in transit to Kawasan Falls & Oslob as we heard Moalboal was a beautiful place, and indeed it is! The resort was exactly like the pictures on the website and on tripadvisor so we couldn't resist not to book. Despite the resort being quite secluded and far from the main town, the view from the lodge to the sea was maginificent. The staff are lovely and so helpful, they even helped us (English- speaking only) tourists on connecting us with private drivers to get us to Badian (Kawasan falls) and Oslob for whale shark swimming. Super thankful!

But this isn't the reason why i'm writing this review. The main reason is because i am truly and utterly grateful for one specific reason. On the early morning of checkout (approx. 5am) to go to Oslob, I had forgotten my tablet/laptop in the safe of our resort room. My clumsy and forgetful self did not realise until the day after check out. I had called the resort immediately once i got to Cebu airport on my way to Manila, and they had found my laptop and kept it in a safe place and even kindly mailed it to me to Manila!!! This item was so important to me and I am so thankful for such honesty of the housekeeping staff and the manager of Sampaguita resort!!! I am so happy and grateful that i even offered to pay more for the shipping and courier costs to Manila but the manager didn't accept. She was so kind and great with communication, texting and calling back and forth. The item was packaged so safely and securely due to the typhoon that was about ti hit Philippines too! Their high quality service with honesty, integrity and support has truly and will continue to go a long way. I am back in my home country of Australia, and i only wish them a prosperous, successful new year because they all deserve it :) THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I will never forget this experience. From a super, grateful Australian :D

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rae_calugay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
6.6 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.6 km away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
174.8 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
175.0 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.6 km away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 22 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Resort

Property: Sampaguita Resort
Address: Tongo Point | Basdiot, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price range (per night): ₱4,845 - ₱8,991
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampaguita is for divers that insist on an overall delightful experience, above and below the surface. The small-scale OCEANFRONT dive resort of 16 traditionally styled bungalows, is nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Our lush garden is shadowed by gigantic palms, rustling in the marine breeze, lapped by crystal waters. You appreciate sea, nature, good cooking, diving and congenial company? This is your little heaven! Our "Gangga Divers" Diving Center is manned by Excellent and professional dives guides who, as native, know the diving sites as well as their own houses. Non divers are always welcome on the boats during diving excursions free of charge, space permitting. Great swimming and snorkeling also in front of the resort. Unlimited diving on the drop-off! according to the center rules and timings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Sampaguita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing