We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sampaguita Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
134
80
14
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
80
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgangga diversfree shuttledive sitessardinesopen waterdive crewrestaurant barcebu airportkawasan fallsstayed nightsa great staypescador islandseaturtlesresortaccommodationreef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 231 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We were really surprised by the quality of the lodging, which was not to our expectation regarding the price paid.

The accommodation are cabins in the local architecture style which is neat. The amenities inside are outdated; old fridge, bathroom very small and not renewed for 20 years, electrical cables stapled on the walls.

There is no phone to call the reception, no TV. All in all the lodging quality was more like an hostel than an hotel for 250 euros per night (room for 3).

The package was inclusive of meals but quality of them wasn't worth the price. The cooking was very average like any filipino restaurant in the village that would have been cheaper.

Also location very remote of the village and rough road that it discouraging leaving the place. Evenings are particulary boring... they even don't have board games or cards.. only books (in many languages), each of them minimum 500 pages... what about short novels, comic books, magazines?

For divers, snorkeling on the house reef is nice and you may spot some turtles!

I would not recommend that place as long as they don't cut the price by half as it's not worth it. We stayed in much nicer and cheaper hotels in Philipinnes that were up to international standards.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this place to anyone.

Clean room. Good food. Great service. We will definitely be coming back on our next trip.

Thanks guys!

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Zachb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016

A small Resort.
It was clean and tydi.
The Staff was very friendly. The kitchen do her best, for enjoying our meal. I think more typical Philippines meals where better then European meals.
The Divebase ist in good condition, the boats are small and not so comfotable for the divers they are typical for the Philippines.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear George,

Thanks for your review; we appreciate your comments, happy that you did enjoy our local food; we strive to do always better and satisfy everybody... very difficult!
You did not find our boats comfortable because they are traditional of the Philippines, you should have informed yourself better before booking.
At Sampaguita we strive to offer a comfortable, safe, fun holiday by applying mainly International Standards of service with many minor details that are often not found in starred hotels; all this within the traditions of the Philippines.

Regards

Gaspare and the Sampaguita Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

if you look for a pleasant resort with convenient access to nice dive spots with nearly everything in close reach, than Sampaguita resort will be your perfect choice.
You got spoiled by excellent food, nice service and an all you can expect from diving spot. Here you find everything from different kind of ghostpipe- and frogfishes to a huge amount of turtles upt to a local sardine run in combination with lots of other marine life and unspoilt reefs. Go there and try it.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank meinwahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Meinwahl,

Warmest Regards from Sampaguita Resort

Thanks for having chosen Sampaguita for your recent Diving Holiday.
Your compliments express the essence of Sampaguita Dive Resort in a nutshell.
Thanks for inspiring not alone us the Management and Staff of the resort, but also many other keen divers who are looking for diving fun, good food, comfort and safety.

Thanks again; we look forward to welcoming you back at Sampaguita, we do have surprises for our returning clients.

Best wishes and Regards

Gaspare and the Sampaguta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with friends for three nights and was extremely impressed with hospitality of this small resort. Beautiful location, for us non divers there were opportunities for snorkelling and other trips including canyoning (use cyan tours they were brilliant).
Fantastic caipirinhas also!
The only downfall was that we were overcharged for transfers to and from the resort (to Cebu airport)so it may be worth organising this independently.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Bron,

Warmest regards from Sampaguita Resort.

Thanks for having chosen Sampaguita for your short break and thanks for your kind review of our staff and facllities.

We regret that you feel that you have been overcharged for the transfer from the Airport to Sampaguita by private car, with one of our trusted drivers. Of course you can manage it cheaper, there are plenty of taxis to be found at the exit of the Arrival Terminal, there are also busses if you take a taxi to the city terminal; everyone of us choses his comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews