We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty is the BEST policy :)”
Review of Sampaguita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sampaguita Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honesty is the BEST policy :)”
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in transit to Kawasan Falls & Oslob as we heard Moalboal was a beautiful place, and indeed it is! The resort was exactly like the pictures on the website and on tripadvisor so we couldn't resist not to book. Despite the resort being quite secluded and far from the main town, the view from the lodge to the sea was maginificent. The staff are lovely and so helpful, they even helped us (English- speaking only) tourists on connecting us with private drivers to get us to Badian (Kawasan falls) and Oslob for whale shark swimming. Super thankful!

But this isn't the reason why i'm writing this review. The main reason is because i am truly and utterly grateful for one specific reason. On the early morning of checkout (approx. 5am) to go to Oslob, I had forgotten my tablet/laptop in the safe of our resort room. My clumsy and forgetful self did not realise until the day after check out. I had called the resort immediately once i got to Cebu airport on my way to Manila, and they had found my laptop and kept it in a safe place and even kindly mailed it to me to Manila!!! This item was so important to me and I am so thankful for such honesty of the housekeeping staff and the manager of Sampaguita resort!!! I am so happy and grateful that i even offered to pay more for the shipping and courier costs to Manila but the manager didn't accept. She was so kind and great with communication, texting and calling back and forth. The item was packaged so safely and securely due to the typhoon that was about ti hit Philippines too! Their high quality service with honesty, integrity and support has truly and will continue to go a long way. I am back in my home country of Australia, and i only wish them a prosperous, successful new year because they all deserve it :) THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I will never forget this experience. From a super, grateful Australian :D

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rae_calugay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    80
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
87
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We were really surprised by the quality of the lodging, which was not to our expectation regarding the price paid.

The accommodation are cabins in the local architecture style which is neat. The amenities inside are outdated; old fridge, bathroom very small and not renewed for 20 years, electrical cables stapled on the walls.

There is no phone to call the reception, no TV. All in all the lodging quality was more like an hostel than an hotel for 250 euros per night (room for 3).

The package was inclusive of meals but quality of them wasn't worth the price. The cooking was very average like any filipino restaurant in the village that would have been cheaper.

Also location very remote of the village and rough road that it discouraging leaving the place. Evenings are particulary boring... they even don't have board games or cards.. only books (in many languages), each of them minimum 500 pages... what about short novels, comic books, magazines?

For divers, snorkeling on the house reef is nice and you may spot some turtles!

I would not recommend that place as long as they don't cut the price by half as it's not worth it. We stayed in much nicer and cheaper hotels in Philipinnes that were up to international standards.

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this place to anyone.

Clean room. Good food. Great service. We will definitely be coming back on our next trip.

Thanks guys!

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2016

A small Resort.
It was clean and tydi.
The Staff was very friendly. The kitchen do her best, for enjoying our meal. I think more typical Philippines meals where better then European meals.
The Divebase ist in good condition, the boats are small and not so comfotable for the divers they are typical for the Philippines.

Stayed October 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
Dear George,

Thanks for your review; we appreciate your comments, happy that you did enjoy our local food; we strive to do always better and satisfy everybody... very difficult!
You did not find our boats comfortable because they are traditional of the Philippines, you should have informed yourself better before booking.
At Sampaguita we strive to offer a comfortable, safe, fun holiday by applying mainly International Standards of service with many minor details that are often not found in starred hotels; all this within the traditions of the Philippines.

Regards

Gaspare and the Sampaguita Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moessingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2016

if you look for a pleasant resort with convenient access to nice dive spots with nearly everything in close reach, than Sampaguita resort will be your perfect choice.
You got spoiled by excellent food, nice service and an all you can expect from diving spot. Here you find everything from different kind of ghostpipe- and frogfishes to a huge amount of turtles upt to a local sardine run in combination with lots of other marine life and unspoilt reefs. Go there and try it.

Stayed September 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank meinwahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
Dear Meinwahl,

Warmest Regards from Sampaguita Resort

Thanks for having chosen Sampaguita for your recent Diving Holiday.
Your compliments express the essence of Sampaguita Dive Resort in a nutshell.
Thanks for inspiring not alone us the Management and Staff of the resort, but also many other keen divers who are looking for diving fun, good food, comfort and safety.

Thanks again; we look forward to welcoming you back at Sampaguita, we do have surprises for our returning clients.

Best wishes and Regards

Gaspare and the Sampaguta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
6.6 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
429 reviews
1.6 km away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
174.8 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.9 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,214 reviews
175.0 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
2.0 km away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Resort

Property: Sampaguita Resort
Address: Tongo Point | Basdiot, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price range (per night): ₱5,034 - ₱10,475
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampaguita is for divers that insist on an overall delightful experience, above and below the surface. The small-scale OCEANFRONT dive resort of 16 traditionally styled bungalows, is nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Our lush garden is shadowed by gigantic palms, rustling in the marine breeze, lapped by crystal waters. You appreciate sea, nature, good cooking, diving and congenial company? This is your little heaven! Our "Gangga Divers" Diving Center is manned by Excellent and professional dives guides who, as native, know the diving sites as well as their own houses. Non divers are always welcome on the boats during diving excursions free of charge, space permitting. Great swimming and snorkeling also in front of the resort. Unlimited diving on the drop-off! according to the center rules and timings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sampaguita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing