We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2-star accomodation for price of a 4-star”
Review of Sampaguita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sampaguita Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2-star accomodation for price of a 4-star”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We were really surprised by the quality of the lodging, which was not to our expectation regarding the price paid.

The accommodation are cabins in the local architecture style which is neat. The amenities inside are outdated; old fridge, bathroom very small and not renewed for 20 years, electrical cables stapled on the walls.

There is no phone to call the reception, no TV. All in all the lodging quality was more like an hostel than an hotel for 250 euros per night (room for 3).

The package was inclusive of meals but quality of them wasn't worth the price. The cooking was very average like any filipino restaurant in the village that would have been cheaper.

Also location very remote of the village and rough road that it discouraging leaving the place. Evenings are particulary boring... they even don't have board games or cards.. only books (in many languages), each of them minimum 500 pages... what about short novels, comic books, magazines?

For divers, snorkeling on the house reef is nice and you may spot some turtles!

I would not recommend that place as long as they don't cut the price by half as it's not worth it. We stayed in much nicer and cheaper hotels in Philipinnes that were up to international standards.

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    80
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
87
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this place to anyone.

Clean room. Good food. Great service. We will definitely be coming back on our next trip.

Thanks guys!

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2016

A small Resort.
It was clean and tydi.
The Staff was very friendly. The kitchen do her best, for enjoying our meal. I think more typical Philippines meals where better then European meals.
The Divebase ist in good condition, the boats are small and not so comfotable for the divers they are typical for the Philippines.

Stayed October 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
Dear George,

Thanks for your review; we appreciate your comments, happy that you did enjoy our local food; we strive to do always better and satisfy everybody... very difficult!
You did not find our boats comfortable because they are traditional of the Philippines, you should have informed yourself better before booking.
At Sampaguita we strive to offer a comfortable, safe, fun holiday by applying mainly International Standards of service with many minor details that are often not found in starred hotels; all this within the traditions of the Philippines.

Regards

Gaspare and the Sampaguita Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moessingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2016

if you look for a pleasant resort with convenient access to nice dive spots with nearly everything in close reach, than Sampaguita resort will be your perfect choice.
You got spoiled by excellent food, nice service and an all you can expect from diving spot. Here you find everything from different kind of ghostpipe- and frogfishes to a huge amount of turtles upt to a local sardine run in combination with lots of other marine life and unspoilt reefs. Go there and try it.

Stayed September 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank meinwahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
Dear Meinwahl,

Warmest Regards from Sampaguita Resort

Thanks for having chosen Sampaguita for your recent Diving Holiday.
Your compliments express the essence of Sampaguita Dive Resort in a nutshell.
Thanks for inspiring not alone us the Management and Staff of the resort, but also many other keen divers who are looking for diving fun, good food, comfort and safety.

Thanks again; we look forward to welcoming you back at Sampaguita, we do have surprises for our returning clients.

Best wishes and Regards

Gaspare and the Sampaguta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with friends for three nights and was extremely impressed with hospitality of this small resort. Beautiful location, for us non divers there were opportunities for snorkelling and other trips including canyoning (use cyan tours they were brilliant).
Fantastic caipirinhas also!
The only downfall was that we were overcharged for transfers to and from the resort (to Cebu airport)so it may be worth organising this independently.

Stayed September 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
Dear Bron,

Warmest regards from Sampaguita Resort.

Thanks for having chosen Sampaguita for your short break and thanks for your kind review of our staff and facllities.

We regret that you feel that you have been overcharged for the transfer from the Airport to Sampaguita by private car, with one of our trusted drivers. Of course you can manage it cheaper, there are plenty of taxis to be found at the exit of the Arrival Terminal, there are also busses if you take a taxi to the city terminal; everyone of us choses his comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
6.6 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
429 reviews
1.6 km away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
174.8 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.9 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,216 reviews
175.0 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
2.0 km away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Resort

Property: Sampaguita Resort
Address: Tongo Point | Basdiot, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price range (per night): ₱5,034 - ₱10,475
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampaguita is for divers that insist on an overall delightful experience, above and below the surface. The small-scale OCEANFRONT dive resort of 16 traditionally styled bungalows, is nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Our lush garden is shadowed by gigantic palms, rustling in the marine breeze, lapped by crystal waters. You appreciate sea, nature, good cooking, diving and congenial company? This is your little heaven! Our "Gangga Divers" Diving Center is manned by Excellent and professional dives guides who, as native, know the diving sites as well as their own houses. Non divers are always welcome on the boats during diving excursions free of charge, space permitting. Great swimming and snorkeling also in front of the resort. Unlimited diving on the drop-off! according to the center rules and timings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sampaguita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing