We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the long trip!!!”
Review of Sampaguita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sampaguita Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the long trip!!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2016

At first we were unsure if its a good idea staying in Moalboal (the 3-4hours drive from Mactan Island was crazy!), but we want to be close to Oslob & Kawasan falls for the tours. Happy with the decision, we had an amazing 6day stay in Sampaguita!!
We were upgraded to a cottage as my partner is tall and our previous bed is short for him, we were happy about that, more comfortable and cozy.
This resort is all-inclusive so we were treated with good food, including snacks and tea/coffee, free shuttle to town, and Panagsama and white beach, plus the free laundry!!
And the best part- their inhouse reef!!! you can snorkel everyday, you don't have to go farther, too and a lot of seaturtles, it was amazing!!!! me and my partner aren't divers, and because this resort is a diving resort, we initially thought we wouldn't enjoy our stay, but we were so relaxed at the end of our trip, we spent days snorkeling and even tried the free dive at the resort (tried scuba diving for the first time), it was just great! my partner had few encounters with seaturtles, and he enjoyed it so much that he went for another dive the next day! the staff are so nice, we felt we stayed in a big house, nice to meet other friendly guests too. We will come back soon!!!! Hopefully by then they have renovated, this has a lot of potential to be 4-5stars resort! :)

Room Tip: better stay in one bedroom cottage with a living room and TV. No disturbance.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Avz0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Dear ‘Avz0326’, warmest regards to Perth from our little paradise! It is such a pleasure to read your comments. Please know you much encourage us to move on in further upgrading! With our small size we pride ourselves to be extra flexible. So, once we understood your bed was too short, we immediately searched for a solution. As the resort was fully booked, we stretched our possibilities a little further… The one bedroom cottage was The Manager’s Suite. It is the only one with a large kingsize bed, lounge and TV… and … it is not a guest room. So, the exception was made especially for you and we’re very glad you enjoyed your stay. This being said, means that your “room tip” is actually not applicable. However, your situation has certainly motivated us to search for solutions for larger guests. So, we are already much looking forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, also in the name of the Sampaguita team, Gaspare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    80
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
87
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Really great set-up with friendly staff, good food (and lots of it). The Dive centre is run incredibly smoothly giving access to all the sites in the area - and they are very accommodating to schedule the dive sites to individual needs.

Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Sea view from room 10 was Super.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Rogerinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Dear ‘Rogerinho’, thank you so much for your feedback. Knowing that you had such a good time with us feels like a “mission accomplished”. You know, with our small scale, we’re gladly offering the little extra in “fun, comfort and flexibility”, which is not only our motto, but which allows us also to differentiate us from the also beautiful, but larger resorts in our region. Bye for now, in the name of the entire Sampaguita Team, I am sending our sunny greetings to London. Sincerely, Gaspare Davi, CEO / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Rooms and staff were fantastic. Location amazing. Great snorkelling off the house reef. Great dives at arms' reach. Food was buffet style, but good. Plenty of it. We had an amazing time! Would recommend for divers!

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank robynrogers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Dear ‘obynrogers002’, sunny greetings to Singapore! Your comments make our hearts sing. The way you describe your experience at Sampaguita is exactly matching how it is meant. A beautiful place, where divers, snorkelers, sea and nature lovers find “their” holiday hide-out for nothing less than an amazing time. Thank you so very much for your stay and your comments. Best wishes, looking forward to welcoming you back, sincerely, Gaspare and the Sampaguita team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2016

Very good for divers with the dive centre just below the hotel
Meals are good and staff is friendly
2 dives in the morning, free diving (without a guide) in the afternoon and night dive possible
ask for the books on the underwater fauna at the reception!

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank esbouee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Bonjour, ‘Esbouee’, it’s been a pleasure hosting you in our little paradise. We’re very pleased to read that you had a good time with us … thank you so much, your positive feedback is motivating us a lot. Hopefully, we’ll have the honor to welcome you back one day. “A la prochaine” and sunny greetings to Paris, Gaspare and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2016

Sampaguita hotel is beyond expectation. I am so please with everything they offer. The room is surprisingly huge for the price that we paid, the resto bar is well stock, the layout of the whole resort is traditional but impressive. The staff are super nice and friendly too. Diving was second to none.

  • Stayed April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspare D, General Manager at Sampaguita Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Dear ‘Jenn M’,
Thank you so much for your feedback. You just made our day with it! You know, ensuring that our guests have a fabulous time with us is what we as a team are working hard for every single day. Reading then, we managed to let you enjoy “a little piece of paradise” is making us very happy. You’re always welcome back! Once again, thank you, also in the name of the entire Sampaguita team,
Gaspare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
6.6 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
429 reviews
1.6 km away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
174.8 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.9 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,216 reviews
175.0 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
2.0 km away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Resort

Property: Sampaguita Resort
Address: Tongo Point | Basdiot, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price range (per night): ₱5,034 - ₱10,475
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampaguita is for divers that insist on an overall delightful experience, above and below the surface. The small-scale OCEANFRONT dive resort of 16 traditionally styled bungalows, is nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Our lush garden is shadowed by gigantic palms, rustling in the marine breeze, lapped by crystal waters. You appreciate sea, nature, good cooking, diving and congenial company? This is your little heaven! Our "Gangga Divers" Diving Center is manned by Excellent and professional dives guides who, as native, know the diving sites as well as their own houses. Non divers are always welcome on the boats during diving excursions free of charge, space permitting. Great swimming and snorkeling also in front of the resort. Unlimited diving on the drop-off! according to the center rules and timings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sampaguita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing