We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Orchid Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moalboal Beach Resort(Moalboal)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bonita Oasis Beach Resort(Moalboal)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Turtle House Moalboal(Moalboal)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savedra Beach Resort(Moalboal)(Great Value!)
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$72
TravelBook.ph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
359
116
36
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
116
36
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managershoneymoon suitewhite beachkawasan fallsthe ownersardinessteve and michellewhale sharksfishthe kitchen staffother guestsrooms are largeoverlooking the oceanlow tidecoral reefscuba divingmarine sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Blue Orchid for four nights, and we would have stayed there a lot longer if we hadn't planned the next destination.

It takes about three hours from the airport to the resort, which is in the middle of nowhere, but it is worth the traveling time! The place is very charming, filled with beautiful views and the staff and managers there are so warm and welcoming. Even the other guests were very friendly and we ended up having the best time with everyone.
We went diving with both Emily and Matt, two of the managers and dive instructors, and they were very helpful and dedicated. They even included us in a new turtle project, and I got to official name one of the green sea turtles in Moalboal. :D
We also went canyoning, which was one of the best experiences in my life!

The food is good and the ice coffee is AMAZING! ;) The pool is quite warm and the rooms are simple, but has aircondition.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank KiaWilkenloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
81
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The resort was nice and clean. Staff was friendly. Although we arrived late and the kitchen was closed, the friendly philippino guy made us sandwiches. The only downside was it's location, which apparently is great for divers, it is far out of town. If you want to do something, go to a restaurant or something you do need to take a trike for 15 minutes. The staff will call them for you.
We did want to go to another restaurant as the basics on the menu where kinda expensive (for philippino standards).
The extremely bumpy road wasn't that comfortable on the trike :)

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue O, Manager at The Blue Orchid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, we're glad that you found our staff to be helpful when you checked-in late.

We do pride ourselves on the quiet location and tranquil setting, rather than the hustle and bustle of Panagsama Beach or Moalboal Town. The white beach area is much more chilled out, and although this isn't ideal for all guests we're glad you put our tricycle service to good use while you were here! Hopefully you found other accommodation later in your trip which was a bit more suitable to your needs :)

Warmest regards,
The Blue Orchid Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a really lovely place to end up in Maolboal. Our check-in was uber friendly and Matt gave us excellent advice as to how we could best take advantage of the area over the three days we were in Maolboal. The team were really helpful at arranging snorkelling equipment etc., along with tours and afternoon trips out to swim with the sardines. Added to this, there is an excellent poolside bar and busy kitchen that prepares a really good variety of delicious food.
The hotel arranged a pick up at Cebu City airport and we drove in safety and style across the island to the resort.
Moreover, it's a short walk to White Beach with it's cruisy bars and aqua water.
I'm so happy we spent a few nights at this really lovely boutique hotel. Wis I was there now!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue O, Manager at The Blue Orchid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Drew, wish you were both here now, too!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the fantastic review! Really, really appreciated. We like to think our staff is very friendly and welcoming, and we're pleased they looked after you both so well while you were in the resort - I know they enjoyed spending time with you, too!

We would love to welcome you back again in the future - it would be an absolute pleasure.
All the best,
The Blue Orchid Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Quiet and low-key and not busy at all makes this a comfortable, peaceful place for families.

We stayed at the Superior room and it was very spacious! It would have been able to fit a family of 8 (with extra beddings) but I believe their maximum number of guests were 2 adults and 2 kids.

Some downsides were frequent power outrages, an underpowered aircon that took a while to cool the big room, even with the help of 3 electric fans, and a gecko I found in the ceiling.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank diaryofadesertfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue O, Manager at The Blue Orchid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi diaryofadesertfox,

Thank you for this nice review, we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Orchid Resort.

We do not have any "Superior" rooms in the resort, so I think you are referring to our Double Room with Pool View. This is large room which often takes a while to cool down. With regards to the gekko, there isn't too much we can do about that when we are out in lush green parts of Moalboal - our staff are always happy to shoo any out on request.

Thank you again for your kind words and feedback, we would love to welcome you back to the Blue Orchid Resort in the future.

All the best,
The Blue Orchid Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We spent a week at Blue Orchid, looking to get off the beaten track to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet. The Blue Orchid was perfect for us: we could just put on our masks and walk straight in the water for amazing snorkeling right on the hotel reef.There is a PADi dive centre on site, and my husband got his advanced dive qualification with the friendly instructors (and hotel managers), Emily and Matt, who are also qualified Free Dive instructors.

The food was great, the rooms were great, the staff are great, the view is great. We had a massage most days, and hired a tricycle a few times to take us down the bumpy road to Moalboal town to eat at some lovely waterfront restaurants or do a bit of exploring. Emily organised an excursion for us to swim with the whale sharks at Oslob and onwards to see the Kawasan Falls.

We really enjoyed meeting the other guests, coming in from all over the world, and the warm and friendly and caring staff working there made for the perfect relaxing week.

Keep in mind that this isn't a western chain hotel, so the occasional power outage (complete with No Power Happy Hour) is all part of the charm.

Overall, our week was a great success, and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue O, Manager at The Blue Orchid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Shallam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review - we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Blue Orchid Resort. We agree that we have beautiful reefs in the area, which are excellent for snorkellers, divers, and Freedivers alike!

It's great that you noted we are not a chain hotel - we aim to give each guest a personal experience in a small, cosy resort. Interaction with other interesting guests and staff members is often what makes the experience here so special. We're so pleased to hear that you would like to return.

All the best,
The Blue Orchid Resort Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews