We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
34
73
41
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
34
73
41
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full board meals enjoyed our stay night trip fur babies rice buffet food an upgrade nice pool water dispenser their website swimming pool via email beach resort jet ski cottage trees sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 165 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2022

Not too crowded -- at least when we were there, even though they had plenty of guests. Our beachfront cottage was very good: the air conditioned room is good for 4, two queen size beds, comes with a small fridge (the bigger rooms have a bigger fridge and a water dispenser). They provide towels and they have their own shower gel/hand washing soap and shampoo. The veranda, with wooden seats and a rocking chair, was very relaxing. It was not noisy at all, contrary to my fears -- the resort is located adjacent to several other resorts; one of them used a sound system on the day we left (I think one of the local officials who won during the election treated his supporters/family ugh!). There is a washing up sink at our veranda, which was a good idea. They provide drying racks for clothes so you won't have to put your wet clothing on the wooden balustrade -- again, a good idea. Pet friendly (we had three dogs with us). Place looks secure -- but always lock your door when leaving your room and carry your keycard with you.

Buffet food, which comes with the room rate, was OK; I wouldn't say it was outstanding, but good enough to fill our tummies: breakfast (rice and some mains like adobo; they cook eggs to order), afternoon snack and dinner. No lunch. You can order a la carte if you don't fancy the food. My sister liked their kapeng barako.

They have a swimming pool -- but it was nothing extraordinary. Surprisingly, many guests stuck to the pool instead of the beach. The beach itself was mostly clean -- there was some littler (plastic wrapper mostly) but I think most beaches have the same fate nowadays. The sand was grainy/pebbly but that was fine with me. The water was mostly calm in the mornings but would have large waves by the afternoon. The beach is not exclusive to Sabangan guests but most guests of other adjacent resorts stick to the frontage of their resorts. You can go on a banana boat ride and jet ski for a fee.

Staff (from the guard to the front desk to the food servers and room attendants) were all very pleasant and attentive. They appear to be very well trained when it comes to customer service. Very nice. We booked a one-hour in-room massage for only 400 pesos (1 pax); really good -- you arrange the massage through the front desk.

The resort can improve on the following:
1) WiFi -- very patchy and weak; yes, we went to the beach to relax but we also need to keep in touch online. If you are thinking of going here and doing some work using the internet, this is not the place for you. This was one of the major disappointment for us. To be fair though, we don't know about the WiFi situation in the adjacent resorts.
2) Install an outdoor shower near the beach so guests can wash off the sand instead of bringing them into the rooms. Our room had a faucet outside, so we were fortunate to be able to wash at least our slippers and feet before entering the cottage.
3) Reservations are done via email. They do have a phone number in their Manila reservations office but they don't always answer the phone. The reservations office is also limited to regular working hours and days, so if you have a last-minute urgent request or query, no one will be there to reply to you concerns.
4) It is not quite clear what their cancellation policy is; it would be ideal if they could state this on their website (unless it is already there but we just did not see it). However, we found it easy to rebook our reservation -- without any fee (we appreciate that).

I might go back to Sabangan Beach Resort if I don't have to use the internet.

Room tip: Narra A (for 4 pax) and Yakal (for 6 pax) are beachfront cottages.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Srlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 25, 2022 via mobile

We went there for a company teambuilding and we all arrived earlier than check in time. It was situated along laiya between Blue Coral and Acuatico. Once rooms were available, we were handed our room keys. The rooms were dated and the shower in the second floor rooms brely had water at all, slow to no water pressure and Im not sure it its because the shower head was old and the holes are already broken or there is very little water pressure...either way, plan to allot a least an hour to take a bath! They could have put in a pail and dipper in the bathroom cos the faucet had better pressure. The water from the bathroom where we stayed is also leaking in the balcony area. There were free water in the room fridge and aircon was working properly. The food was okay, had enough spread of filipino food and snacks. Overall vibe of the resort is good. When you go to the beach, you wIll see a lot of trash floating aroud and we had to remove some tree branches, face masks and even some food wrappings. I hope someone is cleaning them from time to time, its a real turn off. We just went to the pool area instead. Pool area is great, temp is pretty warm. During nighttime, you can utikize the small cabana at the center however you cant make a noise beyond 10pm. Its lights out by then. Havent tried buying hotel food since we had full board meals but 1 lomi costs 300 pesos. There is a lomi house just outside rhe hotel premises where its cheaper and had quite a selection. They also charge corkage fee for drinks beyond the allowed@1500 each. Check out was fast. Overall the resort can be maintained and updated, it has the beach resort charm that guests would look for. I also wish they had a hall where videoke can be done so guests who want to enjoy can still stay a little late.

Room tip: Parking availability might bectiugh if the hotel is fully booked. You will need to wait outside the gate until guests are out the resort. Usually busy during chrckout
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank maytheresebalbuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 5, 2022 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in this cozy beach resort. The room is clean and it's nature ambiance is relaxing. I can lounge at the beach front area with a nice sofa. They have a nice pool after you enjoy your beach swimming. The beach is great, I spent most of my time sun bathing. The food is OK, I suggest to add more viand. The hotel staff are respectful. To make it a 5 star, I hope they accept alacarte lunch order on my last day in laiya even im booked in the adjacent hotel resort since I'm a guest the other previous days. Sharing nice pics so the travelers can appreciate its beauty.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kristel Mae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 12, 2021 via mobile

We actually enjoyed our stay in Sabangan. We’ve already been a couple other resorts in Laiya and honestly, Sabangan was last on our list. However, after experiencing our stay in your resort, we’ve realized that it’s actually better in a lot of ways. Not only it gives more value to our money, it’s also a lot more serene and composed than the others. At this time of obscurity, it is nice to stay in a place that’s laid-back with all the trees and the good stuff. We hope that you keep the same atmosphere and looking out to make another stay. Oh and yeah, kindly give kudos to your staff especially those in the concessionaire as they are very particular on what they do.❤

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank rosellemdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
anna salvador, Innkeeper at Sabangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2021

Hello rosellemdiaz,

We are happy to know that you were able to spend a relaxing weekend at our resort. We are glad to have inched our way at the top of the list of Laiya destinations. We are looking forward to seeing you again to create more wonderful memories in the future.

Thank you for staying at Sabangan Beach Resort!

Stay safe!

Best regards,

Sabangan Beach Resort
Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2021 via mobile

Pros:
• Beach front resort
• Nice pool
• Secured parking lot
• They allow early check in - just let them know ahead of time
• Nature friendly resort

Cons:
• LIMITED FOOD CHOICES! - the food options in their buffet were not appealing unlike before; for you to go back to the buffet table you have to bring your used plate - it seems to me that they dont want you to get additional food; no dessert and no fruit juices!!!
• We stayed in Guijo E - had some funky/weird smell Yuck!!!

I will not recommend this hotel to my friends and family members!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Serdmelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews