We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$98
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grove Court Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkgate Farm(Holmrook)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
74
26
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
26
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe ownerlovely sitethe pubcamping tripsmall siteflat pitchesgift shopbridge innlovely walkwell behavedwashing machine and dryerperfect spotresident dogwash areaelectric hook upsown devices
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Brilliant site ... perfect location if you fancy a walk up Scafell Pike! Pub and cafe just 2 mins walk from the site .. very friendly owner met us on arrival and even friendlier dog that came to visit .. will be back soon !!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to this lovely site which is in a great location for Wastwater & surrounding areas.
Very welcoming with good facilities which are kept spotlessly clean.
Our dogs loved playing in the river.
Happy to recommend to singles / families. Great place for kids to play freely & put down their iPads

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jooles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Great little campsite with all the facilities you need to wash,yourself plus your clothes .Theres wi fi available lots of hot water showers are perfect enough time to scrub up well.
Check out the bridge inn thats 30 yards from the campsite nice food.they will allow you to take your dog into the bar area but not the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jafy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this Campsite for three nights at the end of August/beginning of September. It is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful and unspoilt Western Lakes. The campsite is in a perfect spot right next to the River Irt. No problem with midges and the children absolutely loved playing in the water. Our pitch was conveniently located near the washrooms, although we did find these facilities rather old and inadequate for the number of people on site. Not the cleanest either.
The children loved the campsite Dog who roamed the field. We will miss Georgie!!
Recommend The Lion and Lamb pub in Gosforth for delicious meals

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank lucycruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We booked at this campsite last summer 2016 but they called the day before our booking to let us know the campsite was flooded and they said they could hold the deposit and we could rebook for another date. We have subsequently tried rebooking a number of times and eventually after no response have asked for our deposit back but they have ignored all our emails and phone messages.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank dominiquemccaffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews