We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$225
View deal
Trip.com
$230
View deal
Agoda.com
$191
View deal
Priceline$244
Hotels.com$225
Travelocity$225
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
597
141
27
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
597
141
27
9
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 778 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

I stayed at Atmosphere Resort (AR) based on feedback on Instagram and other social media platforms.
Let me start out by first saying as always the local filipino workers were fantastic and friendly.
Unfortunately they have a management that has an attitude of grab as much tourist money as you can.
For eg. At breakfast they have a fantastic coffee machine. Ask for a straight coffee no problem. Ask for a Latte or Cappuccino that's extra sir.
Happy hour is just that happy 1 hour. Local San Miguel is 180 pesos.
(If you walk 15 mins down the road you can buy the large bottles of the same beer for 105 pesos and keep it in the fridge.
I am a solo traveler so paid for that on my booking. I wanted to book a trip to see the Whale Sharks. Sorry you are a single so we have to charge you for 2. 17000 pesos about $400 for a 8 hour trip which was 3 hours spent in a car!
I was there for 4 days and each night at the bar I heard similar stories of 'gouging'.
A request for a taxi to take a family of 5 to Dumaguete was 2500 pesos ($50)
The local bus stops out the front for 20 pesos per person.
A 120gram 3oz steak for 1900 pesos($40).
Local travel agents will not recommend this place due to the negativity from their additional pricing.
I have spent 4 weeks travelling the Philippines and have stayed in 5 star locations and this would be middle of the road.
Staying in 5 star places will mean additional charges but I have never had a 400% markup on local beer.
Call it the Big Mac index of bars (apologies to the Economist) but it is a good example.
Their gym is nonsense.
Website has this open air gym where you can work out and commune with nature.
It looks like a jungle gym from a kindergarten.
The 2 weight bars they have are rusted out. I would hate to do any clean and jerks.
The rest of the 'equipment'is a bunch of left over 1970s Rocky Balboa workout regime.
No Cardio equipment, nothing for the 21st century workout needs.
Oh and the Wifi is non existent unless you sit in the bar or the restaurant. I wonder why?
Choose to stay but be prepared to keep putting your hand in your pocket.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 8, 2020

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review Atmosphere Resorts & Spa! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our local staff, they are above all our pride and joy!
We are however sad to hear that you feel that rates are too high. We can of course not know exactly where you have stayed during your 4 weeks in the Philippines - although your Tripadvisor profile gives some of it away - but having done extensive research into the price levels of 5 star properties in the Philippines, our pricing is at par, or in some cases below. We think that you understand that as a luxury resort, using a lot of imported items within all departments and with at least 2 staff members per guest, we have high costs and this is reflected in our pricing.
We do not feel that it is relevant that the local non aircon bus costs 20 pesos - what is relevant though is that to take you to Dumaguete, we have to hire a van from the only tourist-accredited van rental service in Dumaguete, and that costs us 2000 pesos return. It is also irrelevant how much a beer costs in the supermarket - we do allow our guests to buy beer or any other snacks and keep it in their rooms for consumtion during their stay - but you will struggle to find a luxury resort where beer in the bar costs the same as in the supermarket?
The whale shark excursion is one of our most popular excursions and due to it being far away (something we cannot do anything about), we ask guests to go together to keep the cost down for the transport. You were unfortunate to go on your own. Considering the cost for us to rent a van to Dumaguete (as mentioned above), you can imagine the cost of renting a van all te way to the whale sharks, plus the fee to take a van on a car ferry and the actual entrance fee to the whale sharks.
We are very proud of our outdoor Warrior gym with its TRX bands, yoga balls, free weights and obstacle courses amongst other things, but we cannot have cardio machines outdoors. We try as much as possible to offer services that are out in our gardens, such as our yoga classes and our Spa, which won "World's Best Garden Spa" a year ago. We will definitely look into upgrading those parts of our gym equipment that has weathered a bit since we opened the gym two years ago and if anything is rusty, we apologize for that. All in all, thank you for some valuable feedback and we will extend your compliments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2020

Family fun weekend...Mom, Dad, children 10 and 8. Bubblemaker for the kiddos with Kirsty was a wonderful introduction to scuba diving! They loved it. Apo Island also a very nice snorkel trip, Aldi was a great guide.

The grounds were lovely. The children’s pool area was perfect or a mixed age group. The views from all the pools and dining were just what you would expect from paradise. You will need booties or sturdy aqua shoes for playing in the surf. We also did the ATV mountain tour - fun way to see the country side. Wind at this time of year can make for white caps, but also provide a splendid breeze.

Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend retreat! Thank you Atmosphere!

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank luckynjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi Luckynjuly! Thank you for such an excellent review! We are very pleased to hear that your family have had a lovely long weekend at Atmosphere. We pride ourselves being a family-friendly resort by offering facilities and activities for kids. Scuba diving and snorkeling in Apo Island are definitely things not to miss in the area. During the "winter" months, it can be a bit windy but like you said, it gives a lovely breeze. We look forward to seeing your family again and that you might join us for more holiday activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2020 via mobile

Atmosphere resort by far is the most luxurious of all the resirts in Dumaguete area. It has 5-star accommodations that can compare with other 5-star beach resorts in the Philippines. The property is vast with huge gardens for strolling. The beach tho is rocky so bring aqua boots. Good snorkeling in front of the resort but if the waves are strong this is nit for the weak of heart. Staff is excellent and very accommodating. Food tho is catered too much fir the foreigner taste. If you are looking for traditional food from the area, you will not find it in your breakfast meals. Traditional Filipino condiments are not readily available. We preferred to go to the city for the delicious seafood restaurants which is plenty in Dumaguete City. You will need to rent a van tho for 1000 pesos per way. But considering the food prices at the resort, you will end up paying this much anyway. Fun activities are also expensive at the resirt. We booked our activities with Dumagetme tours at much reasonable prices. Accommodations are excellent with cable tv and airconditioning. No sea view from rooms tho. You can cook upon request for utensils as some units have kitchens.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank DocBench
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi and thank you for a great review of Atmosphere! We are very happy that you enjoyed the grounds, the rooms, the staff and the snorkeling. The beach is a bit rocky, but we have neoprene booties to lend to our guests to make the swimming and snorkeling more convenient. We are sorry to hear that you felt the food offerings were not that Filipino - we created a complete Filipino fusion menu in Ocean restaurant, aiming to give our guests a different feel for Filipino food, but we understand that the local restaurants have more traditional Filipino food and we are happy that you had some great seafood in Dumaguete during your stay. We offer AC'd private vans rides to Dumaguete city which is around 40 minutes away, but you can also chose to go by bus, tricycle or jeepney, which would come out a lot cheaper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2020

Giving 4 stars instead of 3 primarily because of their Wine Expert Mr. Ed and how he made our anniversary dinner a little extra with his well placed chit chat and check ins. First time we also finished an entire bottle of wine! ☺️

I must also mention their superb The Sanctuary spa/massage service. My husband and I got their Atmosphere Signature Massage and it was really good! It's been a while since we got a thorough, I'd even say "scientific" massage. Well, it felt that way, all movements - precise. Although it was great, I still think it was quite expensive for Php 4590. We had a similar package in Cambodia, a signature 4-handed massage and it was around Php 2500. The only difference was that there is a beautifully scented bath prepared for us after. Again I don' think that should cost an extra Php 2000 each.

I was really looking forward to our stay in Atmosphere because of the reviews. It looked promising when we were able to request for a pick up from another hotel for our check in date, with no hassle. Atmosphere van arrived before time and off we went. The hype didn't stay that long though. Upon arriving the driver pointed us to "walk towards the end for the reception". All good I guess. We can walk. I must say however we were cautious as we were trying to find the straight path to reception because it's not like there is a paved path all the way to the reception and we were walking on apartment grounds already. It felt awkward we were by ourselves, unregistered guests, right there outside the doorsteps of occupied units. Anyway, mid way, another personnel met us to take us halfway to the reception. First impression matters but we decided to brush it off.

The next thing that disappointed us were the food choices. Very limited and very expensive for the serving. Their Filipino dishes did not taste anywhere near authentic. It was appalling. Sorry, that's how bad I felt. If you must know, it's the Bistek rice bowl. And I really love to eat! We do a lot of order-ins on our stays but we did not do it here.

The dish prepared on our anniversary dinner was superb. I love the seafood platter (Php 1890). We also welcomed the different approach on bicol express (Php 700). The price comparative to serving was still unsatisfactory, especially since we have been going around Dumaguete and we know how fair priced the food and delicacies are.

The last item that stained our stay was the AC in our bedroom. For some reason, a timer was set on it and it kept on turning off even when we called their technicians multiple times to have it fixed or reset. For the two nights we stayed, we had to open the living room door to get cold air inside. We had swollen mosquito bites when we left.

You may ask then, why stick with 4 stars. Their personnel were professional and courteous. The place was set up for luxury and it has aptitude for it. It just didn't deliver the full package for us when we went there.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 8484cjdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi and thank you for your review of Atmosphere! We are excited to hear that you had a wonderful wine tasting with our Maitre d' Ed - we will make sure to let him know - and that you enjoyed the award-winning Sanctuary Spa. We are quite proud of the Atmosphere Signature massage and we are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed it as well. Our therapists are highly trained, which is why it felt almost "scientific" as you said! We are sorry to hear that you felt that the walk to the reception was a little long and meandering. We have realized over the years that our guests are very different and the thing that one guest will absolutely love, will be something another guest dislikes. The thought behind the ondulating lawns and the walk through the resort as that guests often come here who live in cities, and they love the feel of manicured grass under their feet, and the lack of concreted walkways. We have no intention of changing that but we are taking onboard comments from you and some other guests, and moving the reception up near the parking within the next year, hoping that will be more convenient. It is lovely to hear that your anniversary seafood platter was superb - that is fantastic! Our restaurant serves what we call "Filipino Fusion" - which is a new and different take on Filipino dishes. Some guests love it and others are disappointed when it doesn't taste "authentic". We are very sorry about the issues with your AC unit - we should have moved you to another room when it wasn't working properly and we will look into that it doesn't happen again - but thank you again for your kind words regarding our staff and your 4-star review. We hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

The rooms are extremely beautiful as well as the territory (it's not that big).

Probably good for divers as they have boats and equipment and other things like special lockers.

We were disappointed by the beach: nowhere to go and you can't swim. No restaurant or bar in the surrounding, so you will need to eat and drink in the hotel. The prices are extremely high... a simple ordinary bottle of wine is about 40 eur the same I would buy for less than 7 eur at home.
Food ok but not extra. We tried the fine dining at the a la carte restaurant. It was ok but definitely not worth the price.

Something to consider is the level of service. You barely have 5 free minutes before someone comes to try to sell you something. At one point it seemed there's more stuff than guests and the stuff has commissions for cocktails they sell (that's the impression due to how often they come to advertise).

The downside is that all living creatures can enter your room. On last day we had a huge dead cockroach on the floor and a big lizard was in the bathroom during the whole stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 664helenad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Dear Helena, thank you for your extensive review of Atmosphere Resorts & Spa. We are very excited that you loved the rooms, and yes you are correct, the scuba diving and snorkeling are spectacular here. You did not mention if you had the chance to go snorkeling in Apo island but it is stunning with incredible coral and lots of sea turtles. The beach along the Dauin coast is brown sand and rocky in places - this is due to the volcanic nature of the area. Because Atmosphere is built on a beach where the sea is a marine protected area, we are not allowed to alter the coastline in any way - we can not even remove bigger rocks and definitely not build any structures in the water. However we have beach/snorkeling booties in the dive centre that we lend to guests to make it easier to enter the water. The snorkeling equipment is also free of charge and right next to Atmosphere, the snorkeling is fantastic. Most of our guests enjoy the fact that we are set quietly on a beach without surrounding restaurants and beach vendors, but we understand that it is not for everyone - we do have two restaurants just to make sure that there is a choice for our guests. Being a 5-star resort, with the level of service that it expected, means that we have a lot of staff and we have to get the best produce - which many times is not available on our island and has to be imported - this goes for wine but also for other parts of our F&B. This brings up the F&B rates, but we are just at par or below the rates of restaurants in Manila or Cebu. The staff has no commission on sales whatsoever but our beach butlers and bar staff are keen to do a great job - we are sorry if they become overbearing at times. We will certainly bring that up with them so that it doesn't become too much! Big apologies for the bug in your room - we are set in nature with indoor/outdoor bathrooms and occasionally we have an unwelcome visitor but it is never pleasant when that happens. The local lizards (tokos) can be a little noisy but they cannot be shut out and the positive is that they eat insects, and therefore help us out! We hope that you overall had a pleasant holiday and wish you will come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews