We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
₱16,433
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
₱16,433
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
₱15,972
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
619
146
31
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
619
146
31
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apo island yoga classes the penthouse garden apartment whale sharks daily specials relaxing holiday beautiful resort top end dive resort dive center divers and non divers muck diving world class fish camera room every meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 812 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2020

My husband and I stayed at Atmosphere for one week over New Year's and had the most relaxing and comfortable stay. The resort really caters to every guest's comfort and we had a great time, we really didn't want to leave and surely will return!

We took our Advanced Open Water course and went diving nearly every day, to Apo Island and along the Dauin coast. The dive shop was professionally run by Oli and his team. Our dive instructor Je-An really was one of the highlights of our trip. He was fun, professional, took great care of us in and out of the water. He was super knowledgable about the waters around Atmosphere and showed us a lot of sea creatures. We learned to appreciate macro life because of him. The coral reefs at Apo Island are some of the most lush and unaffected we have been to in the past 5 years we have been diving and we really hope it stays that way.

I am vegetarian and the resort has many vegan and veg options. The food is great and has a decent mix of international and filipino fare. The restaurant and bar staff are also super friendly and attentive, Edward, Paul, Jose are just some of the few we can remember the names of but they were all lovely.

The spa is also super serene, we had a few very relaxing massages there and were so thoroughly relaxed after.

We would definitely recommend Atmosphere for a luxurious diving trip! Though not inexpensive, we felt it was definitely worth it!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank OliviaL2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Hi Olivia! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! We are very pleased that you and your husband had the most relaxing and comfortable stay and completed your Advanced Open Water course at Atmosphere. We share the same passion for scuba diving, and we are always amazed by the incredible underwater critters and undamaged coral reefs this area has to offer. Also big thanks for your compliments regarding the food, the Spa and our staff! We will certainly pass your kind words to them. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

My partner and I booked six nights over Christmas and it was absolutely perfect. We picked the hotel for both relaxation, activities on offer and the food (my partner is a vegan and through our research we knew that Atmosphere would be able to cater).
The resort itself is truly beautiful- so green, and tranquil and the rooms spacious with everything you need. I was worried with it being Christmas it would be busy but despite it being full it never seemed busy and the three pools on offer meant that there was always a spot for peaceful relaxation. The adult only pool I thought was a great idea.

The food was a highlight, not only with many vegan options (which we rarely see) but also for the standard, very reasonably priced.

The staff offered great service- a lovely balance of attentive, but not in your face. I tried diving for the first time and both Don and Russ were great instructors and I felt really safe, reassured and had a fantastic experience. The Apo Island trip was really special and definitely gave me the inspiration to do more diving!

We did one of the mountain bike trips with a guide which was fun but we would have liked to just hire the bikes and do our own routes, but this wasn’t an option unfortunately (our guide said for our safety). Maybe this could be an option.

Another part of our stay we loved was the lack of plastic everywhere- no plastic bottles in the room or anywhere- very eco conscious.

Our overall experience was really fabulous and the only problem we had is that we spent the rest of the second week of our holiday comparing our stay to atmosphere! The only solution is we will have to come back! Thanks for a great week.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 945alil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Hi and thank you for writing such an excellent review! We absolutely agree with you on the essentials for a perfect tropical Christmas holiday: beautiful settings with great rooms and facilities, nice food, various activity options and great service. We would also like to thank you for mentioning our efforts regarding vegan food options and sustainability. Last year we've signed up to Mission 2020 and we have challenged ourselves to eliminate all single-use plastics from our front of house areas by World Oceans Day 2020. We will also continue to expand our sustainability efforts in all aspects of the resort, and raise awareness with our guests, suppliers and local community. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

This was our first trip to the Philippines and it didn't start of well. Manila with its heavy traffic and life concentrated around malls, was not what we expected. What a relief to arrive at Atmosphere, with beautifully maintained grounds and heart warming hospitality.
We spent 4 nights here and do not have any complaints. Or maybe one, a tip to the staff. You have an excellent wine list, but prices are excessive to any standards (x5 to 6). Lower your price and people will order more wine. We would have.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KoenDenolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Hi and thank you for your kind review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the calm and warm Atmosphere at the resort. We will look into the pricing of the wines - and hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at Atmosphere. Although we only live 15 minutes from the resort we wanted to have something special and Atmosphere definitely delivered. We love Atmosphere, the landscaping is fantastic, the villas are great (we stayed in one of the new pool villas, with centralized switch) and Atmosphere has a great atmosphere.
We know the property for more than 5 years and as a hotelier with > 35 years of hospitality experience (GM in several 4 and 5 star hotels) I understand that nothing is perfect in this world and it is always possible to nag about issues, but in my modest opinion Atmosphere has been chosen as the most luxurious resort and has many rewards for a simple reason: THEY DESERVE IT
Also our anniversary was a great success, we enjoyed the romantic atmosphere of the tree house in our own private setting and the food, as usual was great.
We would like to thank the Atmosphere team for a great anniversary.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter Gerardus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear Wouter, thank you for your review! It makes us very happy when local residents chose to visit Atmosphere and enjoy our services as a special treat. Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights to use the time before Christmas to get away from our daily routines

As we are and were prepared to pay the mark up for a real 5 star resort, $258 per night incl. breakfast our expectations might have been a little bit on the high end side naturally as this rate in the Philippines in Negros not Manila/Luzon is certainly on the top

The property in general is nicely maintained, the villas (we had the highest category) are large with 70sqm, the pictures on the net were actually a bit different (most are versus reality), the room has 16 light switches and there is no centralized switch next to your bed to turn on or off all those lights, that’s quite a task and not very pleasant, I guess the one who designed this has definitely never slept in one of his creations...

The bathroom is missing scales

The main restaurant is a complete open terrace style design, yes it has a roof but no wind or rain protection from both sides, we had rain and heavy wind on a daily basis, certainly if it’s beautiful no trouble at all, however once the rain comes down and as it is right next to the sea there is no way you can sit in the first 3 to 4 rows, someone should think about this when designing this kind of restaurants, would be easy to have folding screen doors than all is good

Also there is a messy administration table in the place where the cash register (old style PC no touch screen) and printer is build up, lots of other stuff hanging around, a messy meeting point for the waitstaff and as I am a perfectionist and hotelier it turns my tummy upside down, a nice service terminal which on the wall contains the IT etc - no chairs around! Would do the trick and the messy place is gone, during all those days we never saw any of the big guys (GM Food & Beverage Manager etc), the staff is nice and friendly however they lack supervision and professional guidance....

The food is nice and tasty, the presentation however is not favorable as they serve the super mini portions in super mini plates where one has trouble to eat with fork and knife, very unfortunate and not necessary, not complaining about the prices, they are of course accordingly their room rates which is to expect, but please make me comfortable eating it!

Enjoyed the bread at breakfast, looks like it’s baked on site, the selection of cheeses and cold cuts are on the poor side, no Camembert or soft French cheeses available, the kind of Gouda is acceptable but not really what I would like to see, there should be a big wooden board with big pieces of real Gouda and Emmentaler Gruyer etc, same on the cold cut side, dry salami ham etc is just part of the selection I would expect, there is no yoghurt selection, the “muesli” corner is what u find in a typical bed and breakfast in the Philippines,

There is no bread toaster available, aside from very small mini chocolate croissant, regular croissants and an assortment of Danish are lacking

The selection of warm dishes at the breakfast buffet are more on the poor side,

Would highly recommend that the F&B manager starts to do his work....

Atmosphere is a kind of search for the top range level, the practicality in performance and realization is however lacking behind, if you come to a high end place and you are willing to pay for it than the complete package must go along with it, this can only be achieved by strong presence of the once who have to live this along with the guests on a daily basis, only than the wheel becomes round and quality satisfaction feeling in the smallest details comes to light,

Will we come back? Maybe to check out if any of the proposals have fallen on a fruitful ground

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank thomassW7510ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AtmosphereManager, General Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Dear Thomas,

Many thanks for taking the time to write the Tripadvisor review, we were happy that you did so whilst still at the resort giving me, the Resort Manager the opportunity to talk with you personally. We take all feedback seriously and use it to improve on our services.

We are glad you enjoyed the property and our new Premium Pool Suites. With regards to Breeze restaurant, as I mentioned in person, we launched this new area only at the beginning of December. This is by no means an excuse but we are still awaiting our custom piece of furniture that houses our computer terminal and a few other bits of signage that will improve on the overall appearance.

It is unfortunate that you were here during unusually high winds - weather was indeed taken into consideration when the owner and architect designed the building. There will always be those times when the wind or rain pick up, forcing guests a little further into the restaurant, but given the scale of the restaurant, we can still comfortably fit all guests in even with the front-facing tables unoccupied.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and the warmth of the Filipino hospitality at Atmosphere! Your feedback regarding the breakfast will be up for discussion and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to talk with me in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews