We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Dive”
Review of Atmosphere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atmosphere Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2017

My wife and I stayed at Atmosphere the last few days of our honeymoon. It was recommended by our travel agent.
This location is wonderful to sit back and relax by the pool, but also a good place to book excursions to the nearby islands or to go diving. Since the resort has its own diving crew, this last one is surely a must. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Another plus is their spa sanctuary. It's a small resort in the resort.
For us the best part is their kitchen. The chef really knows his products and makes delicious food. Too bad the city is too far away to go for dinner on your own. You best rent a car or hire a taxi, since it is not possible by foot, nor recommended by public transport.
As someone said in another comment: it is not the cheapest spot, but the exclusivity and eco-friendliness have their price.
PS: when you relax at/in the pool at night, it's lovely to watch the bats having a drink from the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wouter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Wouter
Thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience with us. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the exclusivity, the ecofriendliness, the food and the thirsty bats all contribute to our little piece of paradise that we’re so happy to share with you. We very much hope you come back and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 548 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

So I must begin that I'm impressed that this resort is mostly run primarily by foreigners. All other staff are Filipinos. Staff are so friendly and superb in the delivery of their service. We rented the Penthouse and the room was delightful. My family was so comfortable during our whole stay. I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the many activities they offer. A fair warning, they are expensive. The food, even if they say is expansive in the kind of cuisine, it is priced, as any other service offered, like a 5 star hotel. It is best to eat, if not inconvenient, at the nearby (30-45 mins away) city of Dumaguete.
As you are one with nature, not only is wildlife alive in the sea but also near your room like spiders, huge geckos and bats. Ants, also miraculously appear from nowhere so do not leave food laying around. There are also mosquitoes, so be ready with your deet free anti mosquito repellants. I don't dive but I know the waters of Dauin are abundant of sea life. Just a few feet from shore, a guide can lead you to a snorkling tour. I love Atmosphere for its grounds, privacy and beautiful rooms. And I will pay the price for such comfort.

Just a note to management, when the staff take our orders, i prefer that it be written down, so that your staff do not make mistakes and have to return to the kitchen because orders are mixed up. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rnplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Good afternoon
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here, we’re very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our slither of paradise. It’s nice to hear that as someone who doesn’t dive you enjoyed the other extensive activities that we have, but you still were able to appreciate the underwater world and all the other nature around us! We appreciate you bringing us to the attention of the food orders, we will raise this issue with the F&B Manager to minimise mistakes in the future. Many thanks and we hope you can return some day to partake in more of our activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

This place was recommended by my trusted travel agent, who is familiar with my taste and preferences.

The resort is about 45 minutes away from Dumaguete City. The view from the restaurant is stunning, although the beach is rocky. The resort is very quiet, with relatively few guests in the well appointed cottages. Our apartment was fantastic, minimalist with touches of native design. The restaurant offered a mix of Western and traditional Filipino dishes. Service was always friendly although slow at times. If you want to self-cater (tours will provide you with the opportunity to taste the local fare), then just ask housekeeping to supply you with basic kitchen supplies (the cupboards will be empty when you arrive).

People in the resort are very friendly although a few of them didn't introduce themselves properly (including the driver who picked us up from the airport). They were very good at remembering requests and attending to them. Great effort has been exerted to make the resort eco-friendly (e.g., multiple waste bins in the apartments, even biodegradable drinking straws). I hope that someday they will also start using solar power.

Try out the spa if you have time. It truly is an oasis. Note that there are no exercise machines but there are yoga and weight training classes that you have to book in advance.

This is not your cheapest option if you want to stay in Dauin. However, if like me, you prefer to stay in places that are less busy and are willing to invest a little more for environmentally friendly practices, then check this place out.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Talampakan
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our little piece of paradise. We’re so thankful that you chose to holiday with us and that you enjoyed the spa and your apartment. We’re pleased to hear that you chose us due to our eco-friendly practices and we’d like to let you know that we do actually use solar power for all of our hot water and are looking for more ways to improve our carbon footprint going forward. We hope you come back and spend more time with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

My husband, adult son and I spent a fabulous week at Atmosphere. Our Penthouse was spacious and clean. The grounds and pool are beautiful. The best part by far was the incredible service at every place from the front desk to the dining room to the dive shop and the spa. Every staff member went above and beyond to exceed our expectations.Everyone greeted us by name and offered personalized service.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hi Karen
We’re so happy to hear of your experience with us here at Atmosphere. We will pass on your comments to each department regarding the service and we very much hope you choose to spend some more time with us, diving eating and in the spa in the future. You might like to try some of our local tours to the mountains or the city trip next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

had a great week of diving and staying at the Atmosphere in Dumaguete. The staff was extremely kind, helpful and cheerful. Our room was cleaned meticulously. The dive masters all were very familiar with the dive sites, were amazing spotters and the dive and boat crew carried all of our equipment, including cameras, without asking. The managers always had a smile on their face and went the extra mile to make sure we were having a great week. spectacular sunrises each morning. Will miss them!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Smeeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Hi Smeeta
Thank you for your wonderful review of Atmosphere. We’re pleased to hear our Dive masters looked after you well while diving and your room was always spotless! We will pass on your comments to our staff. We hope you decide to come back and experience some more spectacular sunrises with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
4.4 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
7.2 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
321 reviews
5.5 km away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
214 reviews
0.0 km away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
5.4 km away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atmosphere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere Resort

Address: Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: ₱11,485 - ₱14,936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atmosphere Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated within an old coconut plantation on Negros Island, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm waters of the Philippine Sea. Our welcoming staff, infinity pools, fine dining restaurant and tasteful, well equipped accommodation provides a melting pot of delightful experiences, making your stay with us unforgettable. Step into our breathtaking underwater world, surrender to the Spa, join a yoga class, snorkel in Apo Island, explore with your family - or simply relax by the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Atmosphere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atmosphere Hotel Dauin
Atmosphere Hotel Negros
Atmosphere Resort Negros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing