We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb boutique hotel in Dauin”
Review of Atmosphere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atmosphere Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2017

We stayed four nights in a family room with 3 young children. The hotel is in a beautiful garden on the sea with 2 swimming pools. The set-up makes the hotel ground very quiet and intimate. The beach is dark sand with some rocks (common in this area) so you tend to stay more near the pools. A lots to do with a great snorkelling sanctuary at a short swiming distance from the resort, diving or snorkelling in Apo island (30 min boat away) and many other diving options. Large dive centre in the resort. The spa is very beautiful and staff skillfull. The manager and staff are very helpful which makes life very convenient for parents with young kids (baby sitting services, activities for kids in the afternoon, snorkelling gear for young children is available). Pick-up and drop-off from the airport is well organised and was provided for free. The food is probably not the highlight of the trip. The buffet breakfast is a bit average, the rest of the meals are quite decent but lack a bit of sophistication and originality. Pretty extensive wine list, reasonably priced for the region. The bottles are well stored in a quality cellar and served at the right temperature. Overall, we strongly recommend this place and had a fantastic stay!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank fredetbrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Dear fredetbrune,
Thank you for your review of our slither of paradise! We loved to hear the kids were looked after well and enjoyed the extensive activities. We're pleased that you were able to spend time in the spa and the pools and we will pass on your kind comments to the team. We pride ourselves on our extensive menu in our restaurant to cater to people from all walks of life and different ages so we're sorry to hear that it wasn’t your favorite, however we appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear you availed of our wine cellar! We hope you choose to come back and see us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 547 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2017

Everything is perfect. The food (diverse menu), the poolside drinks (wicked Strawberry Smoothie), the kids pool (nicer than the adults pool!), stunning sea view (overlooking Apo Island), friendly & professional staff at all outlets & reception, stunning gardens & flowers, great tours & guides, relaxing spa treatments. It's truly a stand-out hotel for Negros and better than anything in Cebu. Pulchra comes close but is over priced & a little stuffy. Atmosphere has it just right. And the kids love it too.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 881Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Dear Julia,
Thank you for the outstanding review of our place here at Atmosphere. We love that you enjoyed the food and drinks, the pool, the view, gardens, our tours, the guides and our spa. We really do pride ourselves on being able to make every single guest happy and it's a joy to hear when we have succeeded! We look forward to a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Most resorts in a Dumaguete is a dive resort since all they have is a volcanic beach (gray sand). Atmosphere seems to be the most expensive one here but I don't think the price is justifiable.

(+) Pros
1. Rooms are spacious
2. Everyone is friendly and empathetic (except for the boutique staff)
3. They have happy hour at lunch and late afternoon. 2 for price of 1, which is good
4. Transfers are well planned and always on time.
5. Their outdoor bathroom is unique and cool, but you tend to get paranoid that someone might see you bathing coz you can hear voices (locals) behind the wall. Its either the bathroom is right beside the road or houses.


(-) Cons
1. For a pricey hotel they don't even provide room-in slippers nor toothbrush. You still have to pay for it.
2. Food are expensive. serving size is also inconsistent for our 3 day stay. Not much on their menu to choose from. Tip: Pizza serving is big, pasta serving is sometimes big or small.
3. They charge extra for room service. Which I never experienced in most popular 5-star hotels/resorts.
4. Tour rates are hilariously expensive and still charge you extra for the packed lunch
5. Air con does not cool the room enough. I think the size of the air con is not appropriate for the room that's why its not getting cold. Staff told me to wait for 15 mins but even after 2 hours and setting it to the coldest it still does not cool up the room. I even woke up sweating.
6. Room Wifi connection is poor and not stable. For a place with poor cellular connection, you should provide a stable wifi connection. This maybe not be the resort's fault but the IT staff told me that this have been a problem since they switched to another provider. If this problem have been happening for too long then something must have been done

This resort's price is almost the same as most 5-star resorts, but their amenities, facilities, service still does not live up to its price. I don't mind paying more if I get what is due. I hope they review their tour prices as there's not much to do in the resort especially when you are traveling with kids. Overall, this resort is OK.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank SingleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear SingleWorkingMum

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We’re pleased that you chose to spend your vacation here at Atmosphere and that you appreciated our friendly staff, the happy hour and the outdoor bathroom design, all of which we are very proud of. We apologise that you were unaware that our toothbrushes are free and available at reception, as stated in the wash area of your room. This is part of our eco policy against single use plastic. Unfortunately we do have the best wifi connection we could possibly have for the remoteness of the resort and we are continuously working with our provider to make it better, in the meantime we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. We’re also sorry to hear you were not informed of our Kid’s activities of which we have many. We will make sure our guests are well informed of this going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

We spent 4 nights at Atmosphere as part of an girls island-hopping vacation. Typically, I'm a demanding guest, but I honestly have nothing to complain about. Overall we had an excellent experience.

Resort: It's a good size -- not too big or small with a good mix of guests. The grounds are gorgeous and meticulously kept. There are two modern, clean pools with a lot of seating and umbrellas. There is an onsite bakery with coffee & lots of tasty goodies. The poolside bar has a good selection of drinks, snacks, & happy hour specials at good prices. The bar staff (particularly Chloe and Zaria (sp?)) were very friendly, attentive and took the time to learn our names and our drink preferences. We got truly awesome service!

All of the resort staff are friendly, visibly present and willingly interact with the guests to ensure that you have what you need and are enjoying your stay. Jennifer at the front desk responded to our barrage of pre-arrival inquiries and helped us arrange our activities during our stay. The manager's reception with a complimentary cocktail was a nice touch and gave the resort a community feel.

We were not traveling with kids, but the resort offered kid-specific activities and they seemed to energetically participate and enjoy themselves.

Restaurant: The restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The menu is large with tons options. As a vegetarian, I was really happy to see that there were a lot of choices. We didn't have to repeat any of our meals. There were a lot healthy as well as "splurge" items on the menu. The food quality was surprisingly really good. All of our dishes were tasty!

Ed is the newly-minted wine steward at the restaurant. He was extremely enthusiastic about his new role and took a lot of time to ensure that we were getting the wine & the service that we wanted. Also, Ed treated us to a complimentary tasting of at least 8 different wine offerings. Ed maintains a pretty large wine cellar for a small resort in a tropical locale! We enjoyed his hospitality and attentive service! Tip: Order your wine by the bottle and not the glass. Even though the wine is stored in a cooled cellar, it degenerates quickly in the heat. If you don't finish the bottle, Ed will mark the bottle with your name and store it in the cellar until the next meal.

Dive Center: Marco & the staff were very professional and helpful. The facilities were excellent with plenty of rinse tanks, dedicated storage areas, & a large camera room. The dives were well organized, properly briefed, and safely operated. The sign-up boards made it easy to see the daily dive options, assigned dive master, & number of divers. The crew did a great job of helping with the gear and answering questions. I dove the house reef, Pyramid, Apo Island, and the mandarin fish dusk dive. The house reef is mostly a muck dive, which I loved but if it's not your thing there are plenty of other options! Apo Island was lovely and a good opportunity for my non-diving buddy to snorkel while I was diving nearby. The coral is healthy & gorgeous. We saw a lot of green sea turtles, but the area is not known for its pelagics.

Daniel, a marine biologist and dive instructor, was my favorite part of the dive center. For a small extra charge, Daniel accompanied me on my house reef dive to find critters and photograph them. After the dive, he sat down to review the photos and discuss the critters and the behaviors that we saw. He also gave me copies of the photos! Daniel also guided a small group on a dusk dive to see the mandarin fish emerge. It was a full moon and we were hopeful that we'd get to witness some mating activity, but we were not so lucky. We did, however, get to see these tiny and colorful fish that were on my diving bucket list! Having Daniel as a guide, was an excellent opportunity not available elsewhere! He also gives critter presentations for the whole resort on some evenings. We attended the frogfish presentation which was fun & interesting.

Spa: The outdoor spa is beautiful & peaceful. They offer a lot of fun treatments at very reasonable prices. We tried the "watsu" which is water shiatzu. Rae provides this interesting holistic experience. It's the definition of touchy-feely treatment, but fun to try something new and Rae is a gem. I tried the carrot ginger scrub which was nice. We got relaxing mani-pedis, which were fine but not as luxurious as we'd hoped. My friend loved the "assisted yoga" with Rae so much that she booked two sessions!

Room: We stayed in #33, spacious one-bedroom garden apartment with a nicely furnished living, dining, & kitchen complete with outdoor patio in the front and a walled-in rock garden in the back. The included wifi was good and the aircon blasted! Cell phone reception (Globe) was good. The beds were decent, but could have been a bit softer as we both had sore backs. The closet space was good and there was a nice vanity space. There were drying racks in the room & the back garden, which was good for all the wet stuff.

Note: There are no ocean/beach front rooms because the resort is on a marine preserve. Although there is a small black sand beach, it is not groomed or maintained because of the marine preserve restrictions. There is a hammock and a couple of lounge chairs on the sandy part near the water, but the beach itself is somewhat rocky with some ocean debris. It was fine & did not detract from our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUFan452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Hi and thank you so much for your extensive and very kind review! We are so happy to have been able to please a “demanding guest” like yourself. It’s great to hear that our vegetarian options and our Healthy living Menu was to your liking and that you had some tasty wines and good wine service from Ed, our Maitre d’. Also, thanks for specially mentioning Daniel, our marine biologist who does marine life presentations and dives with our guests, we agree that he does a terrific job! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We LOVED Atmosphere, and not just because they invited us to their Christmas party! The grounds are beautiful - very well maintained and lush. We came off of a hectic trip in Japan and it was very nice to just relax. We enjoyed the spa many times and really liked their treatments. We also went snorkeling with the turtles - it was awesome. The food was great, and they were accommodating to my food allergies and preferences. Above all, the staff were amazing with us and our 6-month old son. The rooms felt almost a little too big and personality-less. Ours had a kitchen that we didn't use and a view to an outside rock garden - I would have preferred an outside shower and a hammock:) I'm sure that the regular rooms would have been big enough.

Room Tip: It's not necessary to get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
4.4 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
7.2 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
321 reviews
5.5 km away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
214 reviews
0.0 km away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
5.4 km away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atmosphere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere Resort

Address: Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#1 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: ₱11,374 - ₱14,977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atmosphere Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated within an old coconut plantation on Negros Island, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm waters of the Philippine Sea. Our welcoming staff, infinity pools, fine dining restaurant and tasteful, well equipped accommodation provides a melting pot of delightful experiences, making your stay with us unforgettable. Step into our breathtaking underwater world, surrender to the Spa, join a yoga class, snorkel in Apo Island, explore with your family - or simply relax by the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Atmosphere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atmosphere Hotel Dauin
Atmosphere Hotel Negros
Atmosphere Resort Negros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing