We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dumaguete Springs Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liquid Dumaguete(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Dorado Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort(Dauin)(Great Value!)
US$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
458
116
21
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
116
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapo islandtree housesoup kitchenkids clubinfinity poolthe penthouseyoga classeswhale sharksoutdoor showerhealthy menuprivate dinnerspa managermarine biologistrelaxing holidaymuck divingdive centrenon divers
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 605 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Most resorts in a Dumaguete is a dive resort since all they have is a volcanic beach (gray sand). Atmosphere seems to be the most expensive one here but I don't think the price is justifiable.

(+) Pros
1. Rooms are spacious
2. Everyone is friendly and empathetic (except for the boutique staff)
3. They have happy hour at lunch and late afternoon. 2 for price of 1, which is good
4. Transfers are well planned and always on time.
5. Their outdoor bathroom is unique and cool, but you tend to get paranoid that someone might see you bathing coz you can hear voices (locals) behind the wall. Its either the bathroom is right beside the road or houses.


(-) Cons
1. For a pricey hotel they don't even provide room-in slippers nor toothbrush. You still have to pay for it.
2. Food are expensive. serving size is also inconsistent for our 3 day stay. Not much on their menu to choose from. Tip: Pizza serving is big, pasta serving is sometimes big or small.
3. They charge extra for room service. Which I never experienced in most popular 5-star hotels/resorts.
4. Tour rates are hilariously expensive and still charge you extra for the packed lunch
5. Air con does not cool the room enough. I think the size of the air con is not appropriate for the room that's why its not getting cold. Staff told me to wait for 15 mins but even after 2 hours and setting it to the coldest it still does not cool up the room. I even woke up sweating.
6. Room Wifi connection is poor and not stable. For a place with poor cellular connection, you should provide a stable wifi connection. This maybe not be the resort's fault but the IT staff told me that this have been a problem since they switched to another provider. If this problem have been happening for too long then something must have been done

This resort's price is almost the same as most 5-star resorts, but their amenities, facilities, service still does not live up to its price. I don't mind paying more if I get what is due. I hope they review their tour prices as there's not much to do in the resort especially when you are traveling with kids. Overall, this resort is OK.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank SingleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear SingleWorkingMum

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We’re pleased that you chose to spend your vacation here at Atmosphere and that you appreciated our friendly staff, the happy hour and the outdoor bathroom design, all of which we are very proud of. We apologise that you were unaware that our toothbrushes are free and available at reception, as stated in the wash area of your room. This is part of our eco policy against single use plastic. Unfortunately we do have the best wifi connection we could possibly have for the remoteness of the resort and we are continuously working with our provider to make it better, in the meantime we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. We’re also sorry to hear you were not informed of our Kid’s activities of which we have many. We will make sure our guests are well informed of this going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

We spent 4 nights at Atmosphere as part of an girls island-hopping vacation. Typically, I'm a demanding guest, but I honestly have nothing to complain about. Overall we had an excellent experience.

Resort: It's a good size -- not too big or small with a good mix of guests. The grounds are gorgeous and meticulously kept. There are two modern, clean pools with a lot of seating and umbrellas. There is an onsite bakery with coffee & lots of tasty goodies. The poolside bar has a good selection of drinks, snacks, & happy hour specials at good prices. The bar staff (particularly Chloe and Zaria (sp?)) were very friendly, attentive and took the time to learn our names and our drink preferences. We got truly awesome service!

All of the resort staff are friendly, visibly present and willingly interact with the guests to ensure that you have what you need and are enjoying your stay. Jennifer at the front desk responded to our barrage of pre-arrival inquiries and helped us arrange our activities during our stay. The manager's reception with a complimentary cocktail was a nice touch and gave the resort a community feel.

We were not traveling with kids, but the resort offered kid-specific activities and they seemed to energetically participate and enjoy themselves.

Restaurant: The restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The menu is large with tons options. As a vegetarian, I was really happy to see that there were a lot of choices. We didn't have to repeat any of our meals. There were a lot healthy as well as "splurge" items on the menu. The food quality was surprisingly really good. All of our dishes were tasty!

Ed is the newly-minted wine steward at the restaurant. He was extremely enthusiastic about his new role and took a lot of time to ensure that we were getting the wine & the service that we wanted. Also, Ed treated us to a complimentary tasting of at least 8 different wine offerings. Ed maintains a pretty large wine cellar for a small resort in a tropical locale! We enjoyed his hospitality and attentive service! Tip: Order your wine by the bottle and not the glass. Even though the wine is stored in a cooled cellar, it degenerates quickly in the heat. If you don't finish the bottle, Ed will mark the bottle with your name and store it in the cellar until the next meal.

Dive Center: Marco & the staff were very professional and helpful. The facilities were excellent with plenty of rinse tanks, dedicated storage areas, & a large camera room. The dives were well organized, properly briefed, and safely operated. The sign-up boards made it easy to see the daily dive options, assigned dive master, & number of divers. The crew did a great job of helping with the gear and answering questions. I dove the house reef, Pyramid, Apo Island, and the mandarin fish dusk dive. The house reef is mostly a muck dive, which I loved but if it's not your thing there are plenty of other options! Apo Island was lovely and a good opportunity for my non-diving buddy to snorkel while I was diving nearby. The coral is healthy & gorgeous. We saw a lot of green sea turtles, but the area is not known for its pelagics.

Daniel, a marine biologist and dive instructor, was my favorite part of the dive center. For a small extra charge, Daniel accompanied me on my house reef dive to find critters and photograph them. After the dive, he sat down to review the photos and discuss the critters and the behaviors that we saw. He also gave me copies of the photos! Daniel also guided a small group on a dusk dive to see the mandarin fish emerge. It was a full moon and we were hopeful that we'd get to witness some mating activity, but we were not so lucky. We did, however, get to see these tiny and colorful fish that were on my diving bucket list! Having Daniel as a guide, was an excellent opportunity not available elsewhere! He also gives critter presentations for the whole resort on some evenings. We attended the frogfish presentation which was fun & interesting.

Spa: The outdoor spa is beautiful & peaceful. They offer a lot of fun treatments at very reasonable prices. We tried the "watsu" which is water shiatzu. Rae provides this interesting holistic experience. It's the definition of touchy-feely treatment, but fun to try something new and Rae is a gem. I tried the carrot ginger scrub which was nice. We got relaxing mani-pedis, which were fine but not as luxurious as we'd hoped. My friend loved the "assisted yoga" with Rae so much that she booked two sessions!

Room: We stayed in #33, spacious one-bedroom garden apartment with a nicely furnished living, dining, & kitchen complete with outdoor patio in the front and a walled-in rock garden in the back. The included wifi was good and the aircon blasted! Cell phone reception (Globe) was good. The beds were decent, but could have been a bit softer as we both had sore backs. The closet space was good and there was a nice vanity space. There were drying racks in the room & the back garden, which was good for all the wet stuff.

Note: There are no ocean/beach front rooms because the resort is on a marine preserve. Although there is a small black sand beach, it is not groomed or maintained because of the marine preserve restrictions. There is a hammock and a couple of lounge chairs on the sandy part near the water, but the beach itself is somewhat rocky with some ocean debris. It was fine & did not detract from our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUFan452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Hi and thank you so much for your extensive and very kind review! We are so happy to have been able to please a “demanding guest” like yourself. It’s great to hear that our vegetarian options and our Healthy living Menu was to your liking and that you had some tasty wines and good wine service from Ed, our Maitre d’. Also, thanks for specially mentioning Daniel, our marine biologist who does marine life presentations and dives with our guests, we agree that he does a terrific job! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We LOVED Atmosphere, and not just because they invited us to their Christmas party! The grounds are beautiful - very well maintained and lush. We came off of a hectic trip in Japan and it was very nice to just relax. We enjoyed the spa many times and really liked their treatments. We also went snorkeling with the turtles - it was awesome. The food was great, and they were accommodating to my food allergies and preferences. Above all, the staff were amazing with us and our 6-month old son. The rooms felt almost a little too big and personality-less. Ours had a kitchen that we didn't use and a view to an outside rock garden - I would have preferred an outside shower and a hammock:) I'm sure that the regular rooms would have been big enough.

Room Tip: It's not necessary to get a bigger room
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

5 nights of fun with fabulous food and dives , & both were personally tailored to our needs , including tours and even learning to make the kinilau dish ! Always a pleasure to recommend and return ....

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank nick_cronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Hi Nick

Thanks for visiting our slither of paradise, we’re so pleased you enjoyed the food, dives and the day with the chef! Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the Apartments for 4 nights. Rooms were spacious and clean. Wifi signal is strong in all areas. Cellphone signal in the room is not good but this is not really a bad thing specially if you're on a holiday.
Staff were excellent. They were friendly and very attentive. They addressed all our concerns promptly.
Will definitely stay here again if given the chance.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank ADesquitado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Atmosphere. We’re pleased that our staff were attentive and helpful and that our wifi was strong during your stay. We can’t wait to see you back here with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews