We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, stunning diving !”
Review of Atmosphere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atmosphere Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2016

I had a short stay at Atmosphere over the Easter holidays. The resort is really amazing, from the landscaping to the rooms, to the service and especially the staff. I very much liked that although this is a 5 star place the ambiance is very relaxed and not at all stuffy as some high end resorts are.

The reason for my trip was diving and I must say that the dive center is the best I have ever encountered. Until now I considered the resorts in Maldives to be the yardstick but Atmosphere surpasses them in the level of organisation and attention to detail in their quest to give the customer the absolute best experience possible.

The staff are very thoughtful, super professional and still relaxed. The dive masters are exceptional in their ability to find the rarest of creatures and excellent guardians of the delicate eco-system that is Dauin's coast. It is obvious that these guys have been very well trained and very well looked after by the management. They enjoy their job and are very good at it.

Special thanks to Arjay, Noel, Daniel the resident marine biologist and Adam the manager for a most enjoyable stay. Great operation and great dives!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank fisheyedivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Hi Anne S Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. We do have lots of activities for kids and we pride ourselves on being a family friendly resort. However, we try to keep the room occupancy to the number of beds rooms are planned for – to avoid being too crowded and for you to take better advantage of the room WE hope to see you back here for an overnight stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 547 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Just finished a great week at this place for family vacation. We were looking for a place where the parents could hang out and the kids could dive in a great setting with professional people. I think we found it here among the well-manicured resort grounds.

However, there is plenty to keep you busy here if you are not a diver with excursions for snorkeling (Apo, whale sharks on Cebu), pool, spa, or just hanging out and enjoying the huge menu(s) with ingredients sourced locally.

Here is the low-down to help you see if this is a place for you:

Thinking you should finally do your dive certification at the well-equipped, professional dive center at the hotel? Sure why not but you can also just sit by the pools or enjoy a huge breakfast selection while you watch the others slog their way to the beach to catch one of the resort boats to the great macro dive sites along the coast or a 20-min boat ride across to Apo Island for world-class corals and sea turtles. The choice is up to you.

Looking for a place with a small fitness room with treadmill to finally tone your "dad-bod" during holiday? Forget it - there isn't one (yet) so hit the rocky, black sand beach for a walk and get tempted to snorkel on the coral reefs just off of the beach in front of the hotel. Or check out the great spa for a massage or get up early to try some yoga to show just how really inflexible you are.

Looking for a place with crap wi-fi speed to avoid downloading the 40Mb Powerpoint your boss sent you the day you landed to proofread for him? Great, this is the place: hit the daily happy hour instead with specials that change everyday and relax around the pool bar with friendly staff and service and get to know the people around you. You are on vacation - take part in it.

But seriously thanks to all the staff for great food and service and especially to the dive team for a great experience for our kids. Special thanks to Adam for advice on dive computers and telling us about the resort, Marco for certifying our daughter for Nitrox, and Matt and Lor for the great dive guiding and making the kids confortable in the water all week long. The parents had fun too and we'll be back.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Oilguy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Thanks Oilguy34 for giving a great lowdown on Atmosphere Resorts! I think you captured us quite well. We apologise that our wifi is not great, through no fault of our own except the area we are is remote and we are unable to get the highspeed we are looking for. But just like you said this can also be a great excuse to sit back, chill and connect with the people around you instead! We are pleased you took advantage of the diving and other excursions we have to offer. There really is plenty to do for the non-divers as well! We hope you will come and visit us again in the future and perhaps you might like to book some circuit training or TRX sessions with our in house trainer, Joel. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2016

Resort van was not around when I arrived at the airport. I called Raquel regarding my concern . All vehicles in the parking area had already left leaving me behind under the blazing sun. Waited for 20 minutes under the shade of the tree until my transfer arrived. Travel time to the resort is about 40 minutes. There were different versions for the delayed transfer. Driver said he had a flat tire while resort front office staff said they had picked up another guest. I dont know who is telling the truth.
Welcome drinks were served & check in was fast by Jen. Villa 13 was ready before the check in time. It has a spacious room with a large king sized bed. Mangoes were provided on the fruit platter. There is no complimentary resort rubber slippers. Fortunately I brought my own slippers with me. The safety deposit box is complicated to use. It has a relaxing outdoor shower with strong water pressure and heater.
There are 2 pools in this diving resort. The main pool with depth of 9 feet & the dipping pool which is also child friendly. One good thing here is the introduction of scuba in pool aside from the complimentary Indian head massage. Breakfast is plated with choices of Filipino & American. There is a buffet spread with pastries, salad & fresh fruits like mangoes, oranges & apples. Special mention to restaurant waiters Joel & Felix for assisting me toasting my bread that it will not be overcooked. Toaster has a broken conveyor that doesn't work. Complimentary cocktails are served at the bar every 6 to 7 pm.
Housekeeping/utility staff always greeted me but front office staff doesn't greet. I have to greet them first & will just stare at you. Mr Adam, the resort manager, is very friendly. He introduced himself & asked me that if I need assistance during my stay. Just feel free to call him.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Thank you Jun L for your review of our resort. We hope you enjoyed your stay despite some of the misgivings you encountered. We’re very sorry about the delayed airport transfer, we have spoken to Raquel and drivers teams to find out what happened; Unfortunately guests from another resort decided they could use our transfer services despite it being your name on the sign and it wasn’t until 10 minutes down the road that it came to the attention of our driver that it was not you in the van. I think due to language barriers it was explained to you that he had a flat tyre.

On a lighter note we're happy that you enjoyed the introduction to Scuba and the Indian head massage. We hope that you will choose Atmosphere Resorts in the future, we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016

We are a family of 2 adults, 3 kids aged from 11 - 4, 1 adult diver and 1 adult with no interest in diving. We stayed in a 2 bed penthouse which was a great space for the family. Only slight negative should you have much smaller kids is that the 2 bed penthouses are upstairs (obviously) so carrying up babies and toddlers may become a pain. Once upstairs though it is a big space for the family.
The resort is beautiful, the staff were wonderful and we were all able to truly relax thanks to the ability to hire help for the children at pretty much anytime you would need it. Kids had tons to keep them busy - yoga, craft activities and kids spa.
The diving and snorkeling at Apo island is amazing. Turtles everywhere and the coral reef was beautiful. It is only a half hour boat ride from the resort. My husband who is usually not interested in boats or the sea loved it too and the reef is so spectacular.
The dive operation is faultless - easy to book up and you are really looked after.
Food was great, good selection of wine and a very relaxed, warm atmosphere to the resort. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDaniels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Hi Ndaniels123 thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to holiday with Atmosphere. We’re very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the kids were kept busy with our fun kid’s cove activities! We hope to see you all back here again in the future, perhaps you might like to see some special sights the island of Negros has to offer or spend some time in our spa, we’re looking forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2016

Manager announced resort was famous for fine dining. Food not bad but certainly not fine dining.
Rooms ok but considering the 5 star price need a bit more thought. Resort caters to European tourists mostly so they would consider it 5 star.
Dive operation is tops.
Wine corkage 1,000 per bottle so bring something expensive if so inclined. Lauded their own cellar but glass door left open most of the day and a/c turned off at night.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrayb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Thank you for your review Murrayb63. We do try to ensure our rooms are comfortable, yet minimalist, clean and homely for our guests and we're sorry this wasn't to your liking. We are very proud to have such an extensive wine list at Atmosphere. Currently we stock around 60 wines in our wine cellar, selected for Atmosphere by our Sommelier and chosen to fit the dishes on our menus. The corkage fee is there to ensure that our guests – unless they wish to bring a very exclusive wine not available at Atmosphere – appreciate the wines we have chosen. As for the door being open and the AC turned off at night – this is definitely not our procedure and we will investigate this to ensure the wines stay cool at all times. Despite these issues we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the diving and our dive centre and we hope you decide to come back and dive with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
4.4 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
7.2 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
321 reviews
5.5 km away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
214 reviews
0.0 km away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
5.4 km away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atmosphere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere Resort

Address: Maayong Tubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#1 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: ₱11,459 - ₱15,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atmosphere Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated within an old coconut plantation on Negros Island, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm waters of the Philippine Sea. Our welcoming staff, infinity pools, fine dining restaurant and tasteful, well equipped accommodation provides a melting pot of delightful experiences, making your stay with us unforgettable. Step into our breathtaking underwater world, surrender to the Spa, join a yoga class, snorkel in Apo Island, explore with your family - or simply relax by the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Atmosphere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atmosphere Hotel Dauin
Atmosphere Hotel Negros
Atmosphere Resort Negros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing