We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean with well cooked food”
Review of SBH Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SBH Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently spent a week here to celebrate a friends birthday. We were two couples , all now in our 60s. We arrived in the dark in torrential rain. We had two apartments in the 600 block. Felt this block was a little out on a limb and seemed to not always have been part of the hotel. It had plenty of wardrobe space, a kitchen with two hotplates, a fridge and a microwave, table and chairs, sofa, a second television and a balcony with chairs. I think the sofa may have converted into a bed. There were cups and saucers and spoons but nothing else. Really quite a lot of wasted space for us. We did take a travel kettle so could make a cuppa in the morning, especially as breakfast didn't start until 8am . The room was spotless.
It was a bit of a stroll to reception, the grounds were also very clean and the flower beds tended.
Reception was manned by really helpful friendly staff.Nothing was too much trouble.
There were plenty of sun beds. All wine was acceptable, Amstel lager, not my favourite but drinkable. Spirits were acceptable, noticed the gin was about 24% from memory but measures huge.
Food was all cooked well but not terribly inspiring. Lovely roasted meats. Grilled lamb, steak and pork at times. Also fish, which were a bit bony. Pasta and pizza, paella and mussels at times.It was just a little boring.
At breakfast I would have loved some mushrooms or a grilled tomato but that is just me. Cava available at breakfast but not lunch or dinner.It was available in the bars.
The Asian made a change and we booked once for each room so went twice!
Desserts were very highly coloured cakes and the chocolate fountain on occasion.
Marshmallows and sweets more for children.
Just a few negatives.We were impressed to get a phone call to the room to ask if everything was ok. Our friends pointed out the hairdryer didn't work so they said they would fix it but it didn't happen without more reminding a couple of days later.
Having to pay for a safe was disappointing and the wifi was expensive too. Towel deposit also I felt was unnecessary. We wandered into the Costa Calma Palace, next door and quietly sat in their lobby and used their free wifi. I bit naughty I know.
Very few English which really didn't bother us. Most guests were friendly. The entertainment team were enthusiastic but not for us
Little shops in both directions for holiday essentials.
All in all a good break. Some days the weather was disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Linda H,

Thank you very much for your review about our SBH Monica Beach Resort. We are so delighted and happy that you had such a good time and shared your thoughts and experience with us and future guests.

We regret that we could not reach the expectations of our food. We offer a wide range of international delicacies with a lot of variety in our restaurant. Our clients can enjoy fish, meat, veg, salads, soup, pasta, etc. and live cooking every day. Furthermore we offer the possibility to enjoy our themed restaurants, the “Asiatico”, which offers a buffet with foods from Japan, China and Vietnam or our “Mare Nostrum”, which is situated in our Adults-Only SBH Crystal Beach and offers delicacies from the Mediterranean Sea.

Extras like Wifi are charges for the guarantee a very good basic rate. We are very sorry that you were not informed about it prior to your stay even though it is explained in all travel catalogues.

We hope you had a pleasant flight home and we would love to host you again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived here from Glasgow on 13th January with Jet 2...

After having done the usual check in procedures etc. We then headed for room to find that the Mattresses weren't suitable for a sound night's sleep due to them being like CONCRETE!!!

Rather than dragging this Stressfull story out I think its best to keep it brief: The check in staff either couldn't or wouldn't offer an alternative solution other than to advise us to contact our Jet 2 holiday company...

To which we did..

Now you would think that would've then led to a positive outcome..

Think again!!!

The contact that initially dealt with us was a Female representative called Moira with Jet 2 based in the North of the island...

Having explained to her about our predicament with the beds & that my wife suffers with MS and her obvious need for a comfortable bed...

All we got was that she couldn't do anything at all till Monday due to the relevant office in UK not being open over weekend!!

I then was prepared to move in to new accommodation at our expense for 2 nights... but I was read the riot act and told that I would be in breach of holiday conditions terms etc...

We weren't given any short term solutions until Monday...

Moira Jet 2 rep lacks compassion empathy and displayed to us a No Can Do attitude!!!

But alas another Jet 2 person contacted us next day by showing a genuine interest in our predicament and demonstrating a hands on approach and a very much Can Do manner...

Thank you to Audrey (Jet 2 rep) based in Jandia for helping us out... you definitely went the extra mile for us.. and know how to deal with a distressed couple that were nearly both thinking of catching the next flight home...

So back to the main point of this story...

SBH MONICA BEACH = "HARD MATTRESSES"☠☠☠☠☠☠

WE HAD TO PAY ANOTHER £300 to escape to basically but was worth every penny.










Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Keith M,

We are sorry about your disappointment but we are really surprised to read your comment about our SBH Monica Beach Resort and that you couldn’t enjoy your holidays.

Sorry we didn’t meet your expectations regarding our mattresses; please keep in mind that each and every guest has different sleeping habits therefore it is very difficult to fulfil the expectations. We are aware that each guest has their own preferences regarding the beds and therefore we offer various options, such as special blankets to adapt the quality of mattresses to the habits of our guests.

We regret too the service of your travel agency, so we would recommend you to complaint it to your agency.

Please visit our official website with all our hotels. We would be delighted if we could welcome you again in one of our hotels to gain your confidence in us.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

The staff is very polite and makes you feel at home. The tourists that come to this island are mostly italians, germans and in a minor number from Britain and the nordic countries, so you have to talk to the cooks,waitresses and maids to hear some spanish. We are a family of three and my little girl had a great time, the beach is at two steps from the hotel and it's water is crystal clear and the waves are not as big as they are in the north of the island. It is a bit windy some days, but you have to expect that from an oceanic beach. Every night there was a baby dance at one of the main rooms that had a bar where you can get warm milk and everything else, all the families met there and the kids had a blast, you could get a drink while they would make friends and run around waiting for the dancing to begin. The food was very good at the buffet restaurant, there where a variaty of local products and international dishes too. I do have to say that the asian dinner that you can choose making a reservation in advance was not that good. Our room was clean and had a terrace with a view to the pool, to us it was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Danitzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Danitzu,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a positive review of our SBH Monica Beach Resort and had a wonderful holiday.

As we know all of our clients are looking forward to their holidays, all our staff works to satisfy the expectations of our customers and make their holiday that extra little bit special and unforgettable. For example our reception is more then happy to take requests regarding location, number etc of the room into consideration at the time of assignation.

A lot of our clients comment very positive about the quality and variety about the hotel. We are glad you liked it too. To assure customer satisfaction we have also added a themed restaurant after the modernisation. It’s Asian themed and in buffet form, our clients can enjoy foods from Japan, China and Vietnam. The reservation is made via the reception. We are sorry if we could not reach your expectations.

We would love to see you soon in our hotel and have the pleasure to host you again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

This hotel really knows how to look after its guests. From start to finish everything was spot on.
I emailed the hotel in advance with a room request for health reasons and received a very prompt reply advising they will try their best and they certainly did just that, everything I had asked for we received.
Such friendly helpful staff, the reception staff were amazing, in particular Diana, who went the extra mile for us, by even writing a note for our taxi driver in case he did not know what we needed.
The rooms were large and spacious and exceptionally clear. Mini toiletries in the bathroom, lots of clothes hangers in the wardrobe, 2 large single beds and a sofa bed, table, chairs and large vanity unit. Patio sizes do vary, we had large ones with sunloungers, tables and chairs.
The hotel grounds were spotless with lots of sunloungers dotted around this very large complex with windbreakers.
2 pool bars and Africa bar. Mail pool bar serves a late continental breakfast, snacks and afternoon tea.
The Gala meals on both Christmas day and New years eve were amazing and so well organised. We have been to many hotels and these Gala meals and presentation topped any we have ever had.
Various animation teams Italian, French and other nationalities, I think they all started at this hotel in November they were so energetic and happy in their work, they never seem to stop and always around day and night to entertain the guests of all ages will a smile on their face.
The hotel runs like clock work, bearing in mind the size of it and the number of guests it holds. Our electricity went off, I reported it and within minutes the electrician was there ans repaid in seconds.
Every member of staff we had the pleasure to meet were fantastic and so hard working, reception, bar staff, restaurant, cleaning, I would definitely recommend and hopefully return. Our group consisted of ages of 10 - 80.
Thanks so much for making our Christmas ans New Year Special, you have nailed it SBH Monica Beach

Stayed: December 2017
3  Thank anita_and_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Anita_and_jay,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to read you are happy with all aspects of our SBH Monica Beach Resort and have had a fantastic holiday with us. Reviews like yours confirm us in our well doing and give us a boost to continue doing our job as well as we are doing it.

We offer the possibility to let us know about a room preference via email telephone or fax. We are pleased to read that we could fulfil your request. If at arrival the client is not satisfied with the pre allocated room we are more then happy to offer an alternative.

Our chefs prepare a vast amount of foods freshly on a daily basis. Thank you for mentioning the Christmas and New Years Dinner. Our Chefs have a lot of passion into preparing this individual menu.

We hope you were able to bring back some happy experience back home and it would be lovely to see you soon again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Lovely hotel. Light and spacious.
Staff very helpful but discrete
Room lovely with balcony overlooking the beach with palm trees around.
Food excellent and very varied. No need to repeat a meal if you do not want to as so much choice and food always hot.
Lovely walks on the beach, tennis to play or just swim or read a novel.
Great relaxing time in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Overlooking beach separate from main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Heather S,

We appreciate you have taken the time to write such a positive review of our SBH Monica Beach Resort and had a relaxing holiday.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and liked our services and facilities. Furthermore we would like to thank you for mentioning here on Tripadvisor and share your thoughts with us and potential customers.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.3 km away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
603 reviews
1.7 km away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
3.5 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.5 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.9 km away
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
#10 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,589 reviews
1.2 km away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Monica Beach

Address: Avenida Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: ₱7,947 - ₱14,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SBH Monica Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex consisting of several buildings in a palm garden of more than 77.000 m2, our SBH Mónica Beach ofers spectacular entertainment, with sports and activities for everybody, live music, professional shows etc. And for our star guests, the children, we've thought of everthing: miniclub, children's playground , games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Monica Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Monica Beach Costa Calma
Monica Beach Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing