We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but some changes needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We have just returned from a one week break at the Gaviotas Park. This was our first return to an Iberostar hotel after eight years. We enjoyed the holiday with many positive points:
o All staff our very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble
o Entertainment staff were good fun
o The hotel is very clean throughout
o There is plenty of space and sunbeds available, no need to get up early and reserve (although some people still did)
o You can make use of the facilities in the neighbouring ‘Playa’ hotel
o The all inclusive drinks variety is excellent
o Food choice is generally good (but see point below)
o The new years eve gala dinner and entertainment was very good including the very late bar in the Playa hotel
However, we did feel that Iberostar need to move with the times, and change its policies particularly with relation to the following:
o Charging for a safe in an all inclusive hotel, we hadn’t paid for a safe for years until we stayed here
o Extra charges for using the indoor pool, sauna, etc. which should be free except for treatments
o Charging a cash deposit for pool towels, surely towel cards should be introduced
o Charging for use of the indoor bowling
We also found the breakfast food was not hot. A microwave for guest use would easily resolve this, and certainly a new toaster would be welcome as it required the bread putting in three to four times before it was toast!
As stated above, food choice was good, however if you like anything spicy you would be disappointed. Maybe a few theme nights (e.g. Mexican, Indian, etc.) would add a bit of variety
However, overall a great hotel which we would recommend in a nice area for walking

Room Tip: Rooms facing outwards would probably be quieter than a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carlosUK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Dear Carlos,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park for your holiday. Your kind review is an incentive for us to continue working in a motivated fashion and to give our absolute best so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were.


The fact that you had such a nice time in our hotel is an excellent confirmation of our team effort. The daily dedication of our highly motivated and competent team in their various areas is to ensure a particularly pleasant ambience for our guests to always feel very well cared for. It is really important to us all to know that we could achieve this with you. We would also like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will be forwarding it to the appropriate department on your behalf.

Again we thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit to one of our hotels.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2018

Stayed for 4 nights with my daughter for a birthday break in the sunshine in January. Booked direct through Iberostar website & checked in online. Arrived at hotel between 12 noon and 1 o'clock and were immediately given our room keys. The room was a junior suite in the 2nd floor and had been refurbished. Everything was very modern in the room and also very clean. All of the staff were very friendly and included you in the activities throughout the day. The food was very varied and the drinks were readily available. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for families with children as there were many activities for them throughout the day and night. Best wishes to all the staff for making our break a very enjoyable one. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book direct through Iberostar website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pattydodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Dear Patty,
We are grateful to you for choosing Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park for your latest holiday, and for sharing the experience with us.

Your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure amazing holidays for our guests are great to receive. Beautiful locations, helpful and friendly staff, cleanliness of our hotel and high standards of gastronomy are some of the most important elements of our company and reading that you found them all to your liking is brilliant news.

Once again, we thank you for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

This was our third visit to this hotel so I am only leaving a brief review as I have reviewed it before. The hotel is clean with lovely food and drink,the staff are warm,friendly and very helpful.The hotel is situated at one end of a 2mile long sandy beach ,with shops with in walking distance.
We find this hotel ideal for our January break and its nice to enjoy some winter sun and it is a perfect location for a relaxing holiday.The only to minor downsides are that you have to pay £16 a week for the use of the room safe and the is no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms unless you are in a Star prestige room,but these to us are very minor things.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kinkajou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your friendly review and at the same time for the very helpful assessment of IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park. Also, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel on returning for your third visit.

It is very pleasing to know that our strong service concept was evident during your stay as our daily efforts are geared towards creating the quality atmosphere and bespoke service you experienced.

We are also very grateful and motivated to receive your constructive feedback as we are always open to suggestions on how we can improve our services on a daily basis to satisfy our guest's wishes and provide an even better service now and in the future.

Thank you once again for your detailed description. It is nice to know that you had such a fantastic time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

from the minute we walked through the door we were greeted with smiles nothing was to much trouble quick check in and suite cases taken to room 5116 5th floor sea /pool view and what a view.every thing was tip top in room food at all meal times was fantastic choice arrived with man flue so first night could not be bothered to go to restaurant but lewis the hotel manager personally brought us food to the room which we thought was excellent service what a excellent stay at iberostar WELL DONE LEWISE AND TEAME EXELLENT brilliant new year

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Dear Linda,

We would like to, first of all, thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park.

Such a friendly review our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

Again we thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel and hope that we will continue to provide you excellent holiday experiences in the future.

Best Regards,



Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

The room was very good, extremely clean and tidy and kept clean. It was comfortably furnished, with a large bathroom. The view over the bay was very good. though as stated not suitable for people with walking problems. The road at the bottom of the hotel near the beach is actually flat and a 45 minute walk into Jandia. Plenty of shops and bars also would recommend Chinatown great Chinese food and good value for money.
The 2 hotels which you can use (Except the Al A Carte) option. The bowling alley was good fun. Bar staff and entertainment team were hard working, and nothing was too much trouble.
The gala dinner was extremely good, but the rest of the food was average quite varied but not much good if you like spicy food quite bland normal buffet food.

Room Tip: the annex building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles2017, Quality manager at Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear John,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impression of your recent holiday with us at our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain our excellent standards.


We are saddened and surprised to hear that our exquisite buffet did not live up to your expectations because a passion for gastronomy is one of the strengths of our company. Daily we strive to take care of our varied menus that combine quality and quantity following high standards. We have shared your comments with our team of chefs because; at our hotel we know that the well-being of our guests is the reason for our daily work. We are sorry if this made your stay with us seem less than perfect.


On the other hand, we are delighted to read that you were completely satisfied with the room that we accommodated you in, at our hotel, we aim to provide our guests with spacious, spotless and comfortable rooms and to hear that we achieved this with you is magnificent news. Also, it is wonderful to read that you appreciated the privileged view from our hotel a few steps away from the beach. And last but not least we would like to thank you for your kind words concerning our friendly staff, they will be very pleased to hear that they contributed to your comfort and well-being during your holiday.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future at one of our hotels and once more, thank you for your invaluable review.

Yours sincerely,

Quality manager
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.6 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.7 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
87.4 km away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.1 km away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,171 reviews
0.6 km away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#19 of 73 in Pajara
5,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park

Address: Pasaje Playa 3 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range: ₱10,643 - ₱21,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the holiday of your dreams at the cosy Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park hotel, right next to the stunning Jandia beach, stretching 25 kilometres along the coastline. It’s a very cosy hotel for couples and families with children. There won’t be a dull moment during your holiday. Its complete leisure and entertainment activities guarantee wonderful moments for young children to meet other kids: whether laughing together at the Miniclub, playing in the children’s park, taking a dip in one of the five pools or playing sports. Meanwhile, the older members of the family can make the most of their holiday and relax in the SPA Sensations, go for a bike ride, reduce stress with some yoga classes, play tennis or water sports, among other activities. Everyone has a wide variety of rooms and suites with excellent facilities and with comfortable services, as well as a buffet restaurant with show cooking, themed dinners and three bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park Hotel Playa De Jandia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing