We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
3
9
11
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
9
11
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast food iligan city other hotels hot water mall refurbishment
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with 3 other colleagues earlier this month. Our stay coincided with the conflict in Marawi. So there were many personnel from national and international news agencies. The hotel is sufficient but not elaborate. Breakfast was good, rooms were adequate, and the staff was helpful and very friendly. We had our clothes washed through rush service. Our clothes were returned the next day at 3 pm. However, there were bugs in the room. The a.c. is just powerful enough to chill the room. Bathrooms were small and there was barely any suds from the soap. staff would clean the room if requested. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, just a 10 minute walk from the mall. So there are many restaurants nearby. A clinic is located just across the road, catecorner to the hotel in case you need medical help. If you are looking for a basic hotel, this is the hotel to go to in Iligan.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I just concluded a five night stay at the Plaza Alemania Hotel, and came away with pluses and minues.

The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Always a pleasant greeting, and any request for help was quickly dispatched.

So much of the hotel is really nice. The lobby is nicely done and very welcoming, always at least two guards at the front door. Reception was prompt and so friendly.

I had Room 308, the Onyx room. As others have said: somewhat small, no windows. There's a glass block section to admit sunlight. The aircon was effective, very. There was a mildew smell that seems part/parcel of any hotel in Asia that I've visited, not overpowering. My local host pointed out that this building was not originally a hotel, so that explains some of the room size and characteristics. My room was spotless, and serviced very nicely once I learned that you need to request service if desired (not a secret, I just didn't bother to look or ask).

I'd especially commend the restaurant and its staff. So friendly and they soon knew my name (breakfast included, I was there at least once a day). The restaurant is open air, very shaded with potted palms and such, it was warm there during the day, not oppressive, with a good breeze. And then delightful at night, with nice accent lighting and a full bar and good bartender. I tried a bit of everything, all tasty and worth having. Their pizza sauce is not what Americans are used to (sweeter, little oregano) so just enjoy it for what it is.

The plain fact is: there isn't a lot of need for hotels in Iligan, so...there's nothing here of the usual Marriott / Hilton / Hyatt stock Americans are used to. That said, and allowing for where this hotel is in their market, it made for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ljmattox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in room 310 for overnight. The room smelled bad coming from the throw pillows. The pillows also has pungent smell. The airconditoner compressor after shutting down at thermostat setting would trip several times when restarting. Bathroom sink is clogged. Main drain is clogged. Shower not working. No hot water. Had to take a bath using faucet in squat position. This could have a nice hotel with smiling and cordial staff if not for the neglected facilities.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
3  Thank cefontanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, good security, kind staff
The room was nice, not that big but decent size. No view but thats ok. AC made some noise so turned that off at night.

Breakfast is optional for like 600 pesos for 2. Br fast is on the roofdeck which is very nice.

The hotel is in the city and close to everything. The busterminal to the hotel is like 100 with a taxi.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
3  Thank StephendG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2016

It was okay. As mentioned, there is a funky smell, and the rooms are dimly lit. I saw only two adolescent cockroaches in the bathroom. There are windows into the hallway where the lights shine all night. The curtains do not block the light. If you need a dark room to sleep, I am not sure if they have any. And for what you get, compared to hotels elsewhere, it was expensive! The Red Planet in Davao, for example, was P500 less and was an excellent place to stay.

On the plus side; the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was decent, and the people were friendly. There is a nice closet with coat hangers, a place to put the suitcase, and a desk. There is a hot-pot, 3 in 1 coffee, and two bottles of water in the room.

Room Tip: Away from the street, one with less windows onto the hall, if light is an issue.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews