We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$78
View deal
Vio.com
$57
View deal
Priceline$66
Travelocity$78
Orbitz.com$78
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
128
34
9
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
128
34
9
5
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 177 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2019

In July 2019, my stay at BUena Vida was less relaxing than in former years. There were noisy (!!!!) building sites around/ near the hotel and this noise was highly enervating - so it was certainly NOT very inviting.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oceanvidamalapascua, Gérant at Buena Vida Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Hello Romtas,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. We really apologize about the constructions around our resort. During the low season, some resorts take the opportunity to make renovations or new constructions. Fortunately it does not happen often. Know that the buildings are finished now and that the calm is back !
We hope that this incident hasn't diminished your confidence in our establishment and we will be pleased to welcome you again soon !

All the best from Malapascua and Greetings from The Buena Vida Family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

We loved our stay at Buena Vida. It is a beautifully styled hotel with lots of small touches which really add impact to your stay. For example each night they left some cake and a hand written poem on our door. So lovely. The breakfast was also great with amazing hand made bread and hot food. We both got a massage which was delightful and worth every penny. The spa is one of the nicest I have ever been in and a surprising find on an island as remote as Malapascua!

The only criticism I would have is on our first night there was incredibly loud music near by which kept us awake until 2am. We asked if they had any ear plugs which they didn't. If this music will happen again I would suggest guests to take ear plugs and the resort to have some for guests to use!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oceanvidamalapascua, Gérant at Buena Vida Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Hello Jacquelyn,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to leave your impressions! Your feedback is very appreciated! We are happy to read that we reached all your expectations! We really apologize about the loud music. As you know, there are parties every Saturday on the island (They always change place). At this time, the party was near our Resort. We take your advice into account and will provide ear plugs to our guests!
We hope to see you again!
All the best from Malapascua and greetings from The Buena Vida Family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

I have been to different places in the Philippines, but this is the place where I experienced the best massage in my entire life(so far). The breakfast(chef's choice) is amazing, its like it is the only meal you will need for the day. The food during our candlelit dinner is delizioso(mixed seafood is our main course)! The bed is comfortable, the A/C is freakin cold(we love it). The whole place is relaxing/quiet and rejuvenating, the staff are very accommodating and attentive. Check-in and check-out is fast and smooth. Ok, I will stop here. One last word, I would definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph Khem Ant... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oceanvidamalapascua, Gérant at Buena Vida Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Hello Joseph !

Thank you very much for being our guests and for your detailed warming feedback to our facilities you experienced. We are reading your feedback with a big smile :)
We count ourselves lucky for customers like you and hope to stand on your vacation destination list again.

All the best and sunny greetings from Buena Vida Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

From the very beginning when we made our reservations the staff at Buena Vida answered all our questions in a very timely manner. I never had to wait more than a day for any reply. They helped to arrange all of our airport transport from Cebu to Maya Port then from Maya Port to Malapascua. There was a little confusion at the port, but that was due to the national coast guard not communicating to the passengers.
When we arrived at Malapascua, the staff at Ocean Vida (Buena Vida's sister resort) welcomed us and brought our bags to Buena Vida while we checked in with the dive company Sea Explorers. We were then shown to Buena Vida and welcomed very warmly.
Our room was lovely with a private outdoor sitting area. The grounds were quite beautiful with a a spa, wading pool/jacuzzi, yoga shala and exercise room. My husband and I took advantage of daily massages.
Each morning we had a very delicious and filling Filipino breakfast, which we needed to power us through a full day of diving. The service was always friendly and helpful.
The following staff members at Buena Vida were particularly great. Freeda always had a smile on her face and was always happy. Lorenza could solve any issue or problem and was so helpful when our bags got misplaced at the airport. Giziel went out of her way to make sure all of our airport transfers went smoothly so we didn't have to worry about anything.
While Buena Vida is on a beautiful island with world class diving, amazing amenities and lovely accommodations, it's the people that make it truly worth visiting. Every night we were presented with homemade baked good hung on our door with a sweet and inspiring note attached wishing us a good night sleep and a wonderful tomorrow.
If I could, I would go back tomorrow!

Room tip: All the rooms are equally great.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Atina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oceanvidamalapascua, Gérant at Buena Vida Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Hello Atina.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this great comment ! Your feedback is really appreciated.
It was a real pleasure to have you with us !
We are happy that we reached all your expectations and We hope to see you again!

Warm regards and greetings from Buena Vida Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Buena Vida. Spacious room and terrace overlooking the garden, the most precious reception room and delicious breakfast. However, the main reason of our visit was the free yoga classes, which we were told after arrival that only one class is free and its organised if at least two guests are interested. Unfortunately, there was noone interested in yoga during our stay, so my boyfriend was forced to do yoga with me every morning, which he had enjoy in the end:) Yoga teacher was the nicest person we met at the hotel, very nice lady who invited us for a night yoga on the beach - the most memorable night of our stay in Malapascua. The resort was fully booked and I have tried to contact the resort on Facebook if theres any availibility. I was surprised by getting no answer at all and when I booked it (suddenly there was one room left on Agoda) and showed up at the hotel the girl who was showing us around said "sorry we are busy". That was like the first thing she said when we entered the place. Girl I dont care if you are busy or not, Im a client who paid more than enough to get a simple one sentence long answer. Besides this bad experience all other reception employees and staff were super super nice!!! Over all we really enjoyed our stay and hopefuly will come back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Veronika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FabienneandSven, Inhaber at Buena Vida Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Dear Veronika,
we are happy you joined the morning classes with us and your boyfriend as you write enjoyed too.
Like usually there were enough registrations for our candle light beach yoga - so you could join there too.
During high season we are usually fully booked, seems like you had a lucky moment when we had a cancelation with Agoda and one accommodation was free again.
Thanks for your stay and enjoying the Yoga classes with us.
All the best from Buena Vida Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews