We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
110
74
30
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
110
74
30
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop beach resort hot shower large balcony clean bathroom the air conditioning great diving island storage sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 238 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2022 via mobile

Stopped in n here to watch the great live entertainment. Two girls with tremendous voices belting out a mixture of pop and rock classics. They were superb.

Sadly the same cannot be said of the bar. We ordered gin and tonic and were shocked to discover that the gin was clearly watered down! We complained to our waitress who brought us fresh gins and this time opened the bottle in front of us. I know times have been hard but treating customers this way is not the way forward.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FaroMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee Gallant, Marketing at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2022

Thank you for the review and we are happy you enjoyed the entertainment! We have never ever watered down our alcohol, and would never consider it. The local gins are not as potent as Bombay sapphire or other gins made internationally, and with the heat the ice tends to melt fast into the drinks potentially causing it to taste watered down. Sorry for your experience and we hope you will make it back someday - if you do, your first gin n tonic is on us!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2021 via mobile

My weekend was amazing while staying at Hippocampus Beach Resort. They have well trained and accommodating staff to make your stay memorable and safe. You’ll feel like your part of the family.

Rooms are spacious and clean to ensure that you will have a great sleep at night.

A bar right at the beach front will spice up your night mood.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank ucatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 26, 2020 via mobile

It’s sort of a home away from home. Except, people are more friendly. In the recent light of covid-19 scares, this is when you get to see people as they are. Here are the friendliest and most helpful staff, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. We got help with transport, pharmacy runs to the mainland and so much more, while still feeling we belonged.

It’s the best place. Nothing else to be said about it.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank christiankI89WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2020

Those are very kind words for such an ugly guy! Haha! Thanks for also being so understanding while you guys were here. It was great meeting you and we really hope to have you back here again after this is all over! Take care in cold Denmark!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2020 via mobile

If you are traveling to Malapascua, and you don’t know where to stay, look no further. Hippocampus has everything you want in a hotel. It’s directly on the beach, rooms are great, has a packed beach bar, staff are nice and very attentive. Manager will go beyond, and make sure you feel welcomed and have the time of your life. Nothing but love for this place, and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank juliebA1501RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2020

THANK YOU SO MUCH, it was so nice having you guys here. Hope to see you guys back under some more normal conditions!

Take Care,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2020

Stayed for 2 nights in a Deluxe beachfront room. Very convenient location. They had a faucet by the balcony to rinse sand off your shoes - very thoughtful. I also liked that they provided the complimentary drinking water in a glass bottle everyday rather than in single-use plastic water bottles. Everyone should be doing that! Bathroom was a bit cramped, there was no bidet or pail with "tabo". No tv so you will really be encouraged to go out and find stuff to do. Wifi didn't work most of the time. Didn't get welcome drinks even though the room inclusion said there were.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mandy0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2020

Hi there and thanks for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed our environmental touches as well :) We try to keep our environmental footprint down as much as we can. We apologize about the welcome drinks - please come back and visit us after this pandemic and we can offer you some yummy cocktails in place of those welcome drinks! As for our Wifi, it's a curse on this island... most places wifi doesn't work at all because we have no solid connection to the mainland.

Thanks for the feedback and the kind words. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews