We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
107
71
29
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
107
71
29
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live band deluxe beachfront room rooms are clean stayed here for nights a great stay home away from home beach bar cebu airport lee resort diving philippines island malapascua vibe mainland sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Stayed for 2 nights in a Deluxe beachfront room. Very convenient location. They had a faucet by the balcony to rinse sand off your shoes - very thoughtful. I also liked that they provided the complimentary drinking water in a glass bottle everyday rather than in single-use plastic water bottles. Everyone should be doing that! Bathroom was a bit cramped, there was no bidet or pail with "tabo". No tv so you will really be encouraged to go out and find stuff to do. Wifi didn't work most of the time. Didn't get welcome drinks even though the room inclusion said there were.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mandy0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2020

Hi there and thanks for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed our environmental touches as well :) We try to keep our environmental footprint down as much as we can. We apologize about the welcome drinks - please come back and visit us after this pandemic and we can offer you some yummy cocktails in place of those welcome drinks! As for our Wifi, it's a curse on this island... most places wifi doesn't work at all because we have no solid connection to the mainland.

Thanks for the feedback and the kind words. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. Rooms are clean, have AC, wall fan, hot water shower come with decent size balcony. Bathroom is a bit small but ok with us.

Cafe serves wonderful meals with friendly staff. There’s a Devocean dive centre operated there, local DM are knowledgeable and friendly too. If you want hassle free, the dive centre can help you to arrange pick up from Cebu Airport all the way to the island with charges.

Hope to make a trip back there again...

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 001_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Thank you so much for the kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2020 via mobile

Booked our stay through devocean divers. Little pricier then normal for us but the service is great and free a la carte breakfast every morning! Rooms are very clean and super convenient if you are diving with devocean divers.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank maggiecwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Hi there,
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We're so happy you enjoyed your time here with us and our yummy breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

We stayed here for 3 nights and we had a great stay! The place is very nice and the rooms are clean and nice. the restaurant facing the ocean is the best thing!!
this hotel is located directly on the beach and they provide sun bed and towel for free!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cribe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Hello,
Thank you so much, so glad you enjoyed your stay! Its nice to enjoy your meal while looking at the clean and clear turquoise water. Hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

Its a well known place for divers. What you might get from my review is that it retains its good value. Facilities are as good as it can be in malapascua and the vibe , especially around sunset is amazing.also worth mentioning is that you dont get lonely, even if you are solo.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Ido K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hipporesort, Manager at Hippocampus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Ido,
Thank you for your nice comments!! It was really nice having you here, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews