We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibes, excellent diving”
Review of Evolution Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evolution Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful 9-night stay at Evolution.

The diving gear is of high quality and the instructors are very professional.

The fan room is a good value for money, especially with the breakfast included. Moreover, the food is great and the staff is very friendly.

Thanks to all staff, management, dive instructors, DMTs, and regular guests for making it a wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank carelcoenraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2017

Second time for us on Malapascua, and first time staying (end of May 2017) at Evolution - and we couldn't fault the place, in fact we regretted only booking a 4 night stay !. Rooms big, clean and modern, bar on the beach with ice cold beer and good deals on cocktails, a good food menu with chefs happy to conjure up other things when requested (as we did as we took young baby with us), helpful and friendly staff, dive center perfectly and professionally run, and Evolution located right on the soft white clean sand beach, with clear blue water (occasional current when swimming offshore), and yes, Evolution definitely one of the nicest places we have stayed in the Philippines. We will go back at some point. If the flights Manila to Cebu were cheaper and the 4 hour transfer from Cebu airport to island was shorter we would no doubt be regular visitors as that is all that stops us visiting Malapascua more often.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017

This is a bit more like paradise. The island is 1.5km long but the main beach – Bounty, is full of dive centres. Initially I thought it was over developed and it is to an extent but it was also quite isolated in this place, as you are at one end and we never really ventured out – there was real no need to. Nice sandy / ground up coral beach. You can walk about barefoot all the time although the sand can be hot. The Craic House –bar/restaurant is fine. My only issue was too much American / UK food – burger and chips, fish and chips etc. I had the Filipino Bicol Express on 4 nights to be authentic!
The rooms are lovely, huge beds, air con was ok and a ceiling fan. The TV had various films on demand, rather than actual channels. So for the few hours you might be in the room – you can watch Bridge over the River Kwai or Star Wars etc.
The staff are really helpful, friendly and smiley, you run up a tab and settle at the end of the week. They get to know your names which is quite nice. No need to tip as you go – just chuck it in the box at the end of your stay. Even though it is an island the food and drink were about the same price as we paid in Moalboal, Cebu – 60PHP / £1 for a small beer (San Miguel brewed in the Philippines) £1.30ish for a large beer 500ml – Red Horse 6.9% and roughly 300PHP-500PHP £5-£8 for a main meal. It’s very laid back and relaxing. I was here for diving so didn’t do a lot else. The Thresher shark dive was ok, it was mobbed with divers (13 boats) and we only saw glimpses of the sharks but its almost guaranteed you will see them. It’s off the bucket list. The diving was pretty good. Water temp was 28 degrees – I used a 1mm shortie and 2mm undervest – I was fine. Some others wore 5mm.
Behind all the hotels are alleyways where the locals live. It’s got the shanty town feel but this is how locals live. We never really went out anywhere else as when you are in a largish group its difficult to organise at times and it is too east to stay put. The one time we did go out was the dwarf v lady boy basketball match at one end of the island. So politically incorrect, but very entertaining. If you have to stay in touch etc, Wifi is on offer in the restaurant area only and was perfectly ok.
Diving is well organised, your kit is carried for you and tanks changed as well. The guys get to know your equipment and set up. We could do with this in the UK!
Lovely setting, warm sea water, nice diving. Viz is probably 15-20m so it is not up there with Red Sea viz but there’s plenty of life and colour and it was nice to see things that I’ve not seen before.
I really enjoyed the week I spent here, it’s a great set up, well run, nice accommodation. More or less everyone seems to say the same and rate this place highly on Trip Adviser and to be fair you shouldn’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the Craic house are nearer the beach and are by the dive assembly area. Rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharkyrjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

My husband and I traveled to Evolution in April for four days of diving. We're fairly high maintenance (both photographers) so we'd pre-arranged with Evolution to have our own boat and guide. This meant we could leave earlier to get to sites when no one else is there, and pretty much go where we wanted. The diving was effortless - warm water, no current, and the staff takes care of all of your gear. We did the shark dive at Monad Shoal each day, day trips to Gate Island and Kalanggaman Island, and several local dives (including the mandarin fish dive at dusk).

The dive boats for Monad Shoal and the day trips are very large outrigger style. Entry is a giant stride off the front, and exit is via a handy trap-door staircase. So if you didn't have your own boat, there would be no awkward floating waiting to get back in the boat because there is plenty of room to hang off the outrigger pontoons.

We had room #13, which was upstairs, had plenty of privacy, and good air conditioning. Not sure I would have survived in one of the fan-cooled rooms as it was HOT. We stayed at the resort for all of our meals - safe to say that we enjoyed the mac and cheese with meatballs at the Craic House for more than one meal. There is free wifi available in the restaurant area, but it was painfully slow anytime except early in the morning. If you HAVE to stay connected, make sure you have a data roaming package or get a local sim.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

I stayed for 4 nights at the resort and had a great and chilled time. The staff in general was super friendly, always receiving you with a big smile. The diving was amazing. I did my AOW and I was extremely happy with the dives and especially with my instructor (thanks, Dannie!!). The equipments were in great conditions, the boat was never too full, small diving groups,... The food at the restaurant was also really tasty and with an ok price! All in all, a great experience and I would defiantly recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: Fan rooms were quite hot, so maybe AC would be the best option. Shower has hot and cold water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
1 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
565 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
428 reviews
0.8 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
123 reviews
1.3 km away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
278 reviews
0.1 km away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution Resort

Address: Malapascua, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range: ₱1,918 - ₱4,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evolution Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evolution is small and friendly owner operated resort that provides everything you could need to enjoy Malapascua's great diving. We have 16 rooms with a choice of AC or Fan, all within a short distance from our golden white sand beach. The resort is home to one of the most highly rated restaurant on the island, where you'll find food for all palates, and a great selection of vegetarian dishes as well. Just let us know what you need to make your trip great and we'll do our best to make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Evolution Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing