We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evolution: Great Resort, Great Staff & Great Friendly Atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evolution Diving Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Evolution Diving Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evolution: Great Resort, Great Staff & Great Friendly Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2016

We had a great time staying at the resort. Food was splendid, accommodation very comfortable, staff friendly & kind and service be it all around the resort or on the boat when diving or on a trip, was considerate & caring. Basically, for the duration of the stay, service was everything one could ask for.

The resorts bar/restaurant, ‘The Craic House’ always served up tasty food be it morning/noon or night, and importantly happy hour drinks serves up even more reasonably priced tasty drinks/cocktails. The diving (besides my shaky skills) was immersely enjoyable with many highlights, however the 100% success rate of seeing threshers during the morning dive, cannot go without a mention.

We stayed at Malapascua for over a fortnight, so we ventured a bit about the Island which is well worth while. There are a number of sites to see around, be it the barrio or at the far end of the island you can see the light house or Las bambas to name but a few. On Saturday nights one should consider joining the local disco to enjoy the Island atmosphere and music.

All in all, I can only recommend Evolution as a resort in Malapascua and is well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Just decide if you want Air/Con + fan or just fan. We stayed in both types and they were both great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttomreDcMadnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    47
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
48
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dornbirn, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2016

After a warm welcome we felt that we were in good hands at Evolution to do our OWD and our first, positive impression was right. Everyone was nice and motivated.
Our diving instructor was an amazing teacher and he took enough time to explain/show/practice everything properly.
We felt safe and comfortable during all our dives (course and fun dives) and had a great time.

The fan room was quite big with twin beds. Nice and clean. The drying rack on the balcony was very convenient.

They serve good food (different food options than most of the other restaurants on the island – a welcome change) at the restaurant and we especially enjoyed the cocktails (happy hour!). The restaurant area has a great view to the beach and sea.

There are some beach chairs and sunshades at the beautiful beach. The only downside: the beach isn’t really for swimming - a narrow, shallow sand strip and then seaweed.

We enjoyed Evolution so much, we decided to we extend our stay.

  • Stayed October 2016, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aveika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2016

We spent several days here and had a fantastic experience! The staff are warm and welcoming, diving is great with knowledgeable, attentive guides, and the restaurant/bar was very good. If you're going to see thresher sharks, I definitely recommend a stay at Evolution.

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2016

Pro's the room was nice. The grounds and bar area are also very nice. The staff in were all very pleasant, unmotivated wait staff but still not bad.

Cons: The dive operation will waste your time and dives. I had one dive to Gato Island where they made the entire group surface at 30 minutes.....less than half way through my tank. My tank was a short fill.....which makes me think the diver who was out of air probably also had a short fill tank. Come to find out the diver had not been diving in 3 years. Yet he ended up in my group....I have 30 dives in the last two weeks. Also, Malapascua is a long trip from anywhere. You come here for the Thesher sharks, Gato Island and one other Island (the name escapes me as we did not dive it). They did the Threshers every morning...every dive shop does. However, the first day they offered only local diving. The place they took me the first day was little more than sand with some minor coral...really not worth diving. For no reason at all the divemaster ended the dive at 45 minutes.....I was the only diver with him and had the air and dive time to do much more. Every dive the dive masters were in a hurry to be done with the dive. I dont think they really wanted to be diving.
Go to a larger shop that does the two island trips every day. Thresher Shark Divers and Sea Explorers appear to be the best choices here. Only go here if you want to waste your time. Worst dive experience I have had. On the plus side the dive I did get in at Gato was fabulous and the threshers were cool.

The beer was served warm. I ordered a pina colada, what I received was not even a frozen drink and was horrible.

The bar / restaurant area facility was very nice. However, the owner or manager considered himself a music afficiando of some kind. If the drinks do drive you away the music will. I eventually wandered down the beach and found Ocean Vida which had cold beer, good drinks and good music.

Malapascua is an outstanding location. I would go back there again but not with this operation.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
Thank TEXSS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016

2 downsides - the fan may not be sufficient in warm evenings, and the wifi is restricted to the bar area.

Other than that, the rooms are look new and clean and there's hot water. There is a balcony to dry clothes and also a basin to wash your feet before entering the building.

Take note that as this is an island, they only provide about 1L of complimentary water daily. Bring your own kettle if you want to heat up something warm for the rainy days.

  • Stayed October 2016, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
1.0 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.7 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.4 km away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 km away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution Diving Resort

Property: Evolution Diving Resort
Address: Malapascua, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price range (per night): ₱1,811 - ₱4,175
Hotel Class:3 star — Evolution Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evolution is small and friendly owner operated resort that provides everything you could need to enjoy Malapascua's great diving. We have 16 rooms with a choice of AC or Fan, all within a short distance from our golden white sand beach. The resort is home to one of the most highly rated restaurant on the island, where you'll find food for all palates, and a great selection of vegetarian dishes as well. Just let us know what you need to make your trip great and we'll do our best to make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Evolution Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing