We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
15
28
20
17
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
28
20
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean main road good size minute walk to the beach would stay here again great place to stay hairdryer iron toaster cafes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We booked too late to join our extended family at a resort close by, so being just two, found a room at this older motel close by. Our expectations weren’t great but we should not have been so quick to judge. Our experience was brilliant.
The rooms are very tired but they were clean and comfortable. The manager was super helpful and with great customer service. The cafe on the front of the building is great and gives a 10% discount for house guests.
Great place to stay, close to the beach with off street parking.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aggieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2018

My room was upstairs and looked nothing like any of the rooms photographed. I found the 'reception lady' not terribly friendly or engaging. I had to ASK about the wifi, it certainly wasn't offered.

This motel has the inconvenience of parking being away from the actual rooms, either behind or in front, on the highway.

It wasn't explained how I actually got to the rear parking, that I had to travel down the highway for 2 streets and backtrack to it and find it myself, because the street it is almost on the corner of is one way only, no left turn.

The wifi service was barely there. One or 2 bars signal at best.

Traffic noise was unbelievable, and I'm partially deaf.

Very poorly taken care of on the outside. Worst of all, I had to put the blanket on the bed myself as there were only sheets. In winter? The blanket and bedspread were tucked away in the wardrobe. There was another issue with the cleaning but I left a message for the cleaner...

Try somewhere else.

Room tip: The photos offered on this motel may or may not be what you get. Ask first.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The place looks pretty run down from the outside. Our hearts sank when we approached the room. The little garden and the pool outside looked neglected. The iron rails of the stairway leading to our assigned room looked rusty and seemed to be crying out for a coat of paint.

Our impressions changed when got into the room. Although badly needing a fresh coat of paint, the place was clean. It has useful amenities like a hair dryer, refrigerator,sink, plates, cups, forks and spoons, a heater jug and a microwave oven, iron and ironing board. Toiletries were supplied too although we used our own. All were in good working condition. A toaster would be a helpful addition. The wardrobe was small with a few hangers that have seen better days.

The bathroom was small but had a standing shower, a sitting toilet and a wash basin. Hot and cold water were available. No smoking is allowed in the rooms so the room did not reek of old cigarette smoke.
Other good points are it is about a 10 minute walk to the beach and there is sufficient place to park your car at the rear of the building at no charge.

The negative points (that can easily be corrected ) are:
1. The whole place needs a fresh coat of paint, with old and worn out boards and cupboards being replaced.
2. The taps in the kitchen and the shower kept dripping no matter how tightly they were shut. This can be annoying, especially at night. It is ironic that this has not been attended to, although there are notices asking everyone to save water.
3. There are no hangers in the bathroom to hang up new or used clothes. Everything had be piled up over the sink.
4. Apart from a small soap dish in the shower place, there was no place to store your own shampoo, conditioner or soap.
5. And most disconcerting was the lack of a security lock on the room door. An old lock kept the door closed but even a good bang on the door will flight it open.

Guests who decide on this place should know that towels and linens are not changed, nor is the room cleaned or vacuumed for stays of less than 5 days. Even then, they are only changed once mid-way through your stay. Given this policy, providing a broom or a vacuum cleaner in each room would be a good idea.

Overall, we had a satisfactory 3-night stay. It would have been an excellent choice if some of the niggles noted above can be addressed.

Room tip: Rooms on the first floor feel safer (there are only two floors).
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sunara2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Our rooms are all the same except for a couple of extra rooms with different amenities. The room occupied by this guest is designed for a quick one night stay and although has most of the same facilities that is in all the others it did not have a full hanging cupboard or a sink, hence quick night stay with less use of kitchen. It does provide a small sink in the bathroom for hand washing and cups, glasses can be rinsed here.
The doors are all quite secure and this room although appeared not, the motel is in an affluent area of the Gold Coast.
All our plumbing is attended to once we are informed about any such problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2018

pay few more dollars and do not stay in this motel. stayed for 3 nights -worst choice ever- there were dodgy couple who seemed they were permanently living in that motel the woman crying all three nights and the man was screaming. it was nightmare.
the room was very dirty and low maintained. the guest service was beyond average.

Room tip: probably the upstairs rooms are a tiny bit batter. they have rooms on ground and first floor.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hyun Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

We do not have permanent residents at this property . We are not responsible for guest personal issues that may affect others but we have noise rules that affect others.
Short 3 night stays there are no in room services and this is well noted on our sites. At no time were we aware there was a problem for this guest we may have been able to change their room so their stay was more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Luckily only stayed here for 1 night. Only good thing would have to be the friendly welcome of staff at reception and the clean bedding. The rest of the room was dirty and needing a complete overhaul. Rust around bathroom sink, wall paper peeling off walls, dodgy side table light..... and extremely noisy from main road traffic.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

The motel is well located on the Gold Coast Highway and is advertised as such so one should expect noise.
The rooms although old and tired are kept clean and maintenance issues are dealt with on report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews