We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time in a year!! Excellent resort! 😃”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

This was my second time visiting the resort in one year!! The first time was with my family in late August 2015, we were all inclusive and had such an amazing time! Me and my boyfriend therefore decided to go back to the resort in July 2016 for our first holiday together - and we made the best choice!! The weather was beautiful all week at temperatures of 27 degrees and over!
When we first arrived at around 12:30pm we went to the reception desk where we were kindly greeted and given lots of information about the resort and the room that we would be staying in. The only annoying thing at this point was that we weren't able to check in until 3:00pm, however, we dropped our bags of into a room and took the time to go and explore the place for a while.
There is so much to see and do within this resort. There are 4 different swimming pools (one of them being the main), a marina where you can swim with sealions, go on jetski's, feed fish and do different sorts of water sports. The beach is literally a 30 second walk from the resort and it is surrounded by different shops and restaurants. There are also 4 different buildings that you can go to as part of the resort. 2 of these are restaurants/bars, one is a main stage with a bar inside (this is where the kids mini disco and shows were held every evening) and a club/bar.
This time around we went half board, but to buy lunch and drinks wasn't a problem for us at all!! Everything is at an amazing price over there, and even if it does seem too expensive you definitely get your money's worth!! We spend the most of our week laying by the main pool - sunbathing and enjoying the sunshine. However, one day we did go for a little explore out of the resort where we came across a load of shops/outlets and even a market!! (These were all about a 10/15 minute walk from the resort).
The fun coaches at the resort were excellent!! They are the ones who will try and get you involved with every activity possible and make your stay at the resort a happy, unforgettable and welcoming one. There was always something going on each day in which the fun coaches held such as water polo, table tennis tournaments, beach games, aqua aerobics and more! This is an excellent opportunity to get involved, and make friends (this is especially good for the children!!)
We liked to spend our evenings at El Faro, a bar/club at the resort and it is the best place to go to!! Every other night they had a Live DJ who was absolutely incredible! The view from the lounge bar is beautiful and the drinks are priced good too! We also went to the stage one evening to watch one of the shows held, which was also incredible too!
The restaurant does a different range of foods from different cultures and tastes insane!! Very good for food lovers and explorers, however if you are not, there is always something for everyone!
Last of all, the rooms in which you get are like mini apartments. We stayed in a superior deluxe bungalow and got maid service every single day!! If you were to go half board (like us) or self catering then there is a supermarket inside the resort in which you can buy your own drinks and food etc. There are kettles, microwaves, toasters and a fridge within the rooms!

You really cannot fault this resort at all, I would recommend it to anyone and go back there any time of the year as a couple we had the BEST first holiday and it will be very hard to try and top it the next time around! I would say it is an amazing family holiday with those with children! This place should definitely be a 5 star!!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
9  Thank laureneakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Director General at Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Barceló Castillo Beach Resort and for sharing your feedback. We are absolutely delighted to read that you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed our facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Alirio Pérez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,561 of 5,384 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

5th year off visiting this beautiful resort & intend to return next year :) not a bad word to say.. Excellent quality off food very good variety,
plenty off space around the pools, friendly helpful staff!
entertainment for all throughout the day my 6yr old daughter loves the mini club!! Younger Kids loved the mini disco every night especially when barcey makes a appearance,
Evening shows really entertaining animation team work so hard keep up the good work

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Ebony1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Director General at Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read comments like yours and the other travelers can know the impression of a customer. You make our staff motivate to improve day by day in the services we offer. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alirio Pérez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We were worried after reading some bad reviews. We shouldn't have listened to the complainers at all. Lovely apartment. Very spacious and modern with two outdoor patio areas. No worries about security with secure doors and windows and regular patrols by security through the resort. Food was great. Plenty of choice, great quality and chefs constantly cooking fresh meat/ fish in front of you. All inclusive service at two pool bars during the day was great. Ice cream and slush puppies, fizzy drinks and water, hot snacks, coffee machine, cava, wine, sangria, beer all available for you to help yourself to at main pool bar and queue at the bar for any other alcoholic or non alcoholic drinks you might want. Service in the evening was fine. The bar was in the place where the evening entertainment is on. This is really not our thing but our daughter loved it. However the theatre us fullly opened out to the harbourside bar area outside so we sat by the water while our daughter stayed with her holiday friends she had made watching the show. We could easily keep an eye on her whilst relaxing by the harbour. Location of hotel is great. Right by a gorgeous beach. Sea lovely to swim/ snorkel in. Lots of fish and very safe can be a little stony when tide is low. 15 minutes walk along prom brings you to another beach which is a lot sandier but also windier and more waves in the water which was fun for a change. Resort is large but feels more like a little village. Reasonable privacy around apartments, slept well at nights as it was quiet and comfortable and walk to restaurant for meals was absolutely fine and welcome given the amount of delicious food we were eating. Only down side was activities advertised by kids club were a bit of a let down. My daughter only popped in for a few she was interested in. The "surf school" turned out to be a rep dressed as a surfer standing on a board in the pool for 2 min play acting. Kids werent even allowed in pool then they spent the rest of the hour colouring. She was pretty disappointed. However she loved the reps who were friendly and welcoming and it gave her a good opportunity to make some friends who she played with on the beach and in the evenings. Overall great resort for a family holiday and would highly recommend .

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Director General at Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure to read you nice review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all our facilities. We are working hard to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and we are proud to know that we obtain it. We look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alirio Pérez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Just back from an amazing 2 weeks in this hotel. I was worried prior to going having read some troubling reviews but I worried needlessly. The resort itself is beautiful and so well cared for, entertainment staff work tirelessly and even after the evening shows have finished they stayed on to chat to the children and guests. The accommodation is very spacious and cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding (though this was every second day). We were in room 2180 which is really handy for both the restaurant ,reception, the main pool and theatre. It was an upstairs apartment which caught the sun right up till 8. The all inclusive package is ideal if like us you have children, slushes ice creams and all the usual kids fare are available all day from the main pool bar. We didn't have any problems getting seated at any of our meals in the restaurant and our food was always piping hot. At night time there are 2 bars that are all inclusive, the theatre bar and the bar at the ice cream cafe (also next to the theatre) . If you are considering this resort please don't worry too much about the bad reviews, you will have an amazing time, we can't wait to book again!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Director General at Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Barceló Castillo Beach Resort and for sharing your feedback. We are absolutely delighted to read that you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed our facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Alirio Pérez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

The hotel room was in a great position and was lovely and clean room number 2073, it was within 100 yards of reception, Restaurant and two pools. This was our third year running visiting the hotel and it had changed a little from the previous years somethings for the better a few for the worse.

Firstly the occupancy of the hotel seemed to have changed nationality wise, I would say 45 percent were Spanish, 25 percent French, 10 percent British, 10 percent German and 10 percent others. This was not a problem, I figure for there to be so many Spanish staying there it must be a great hotel.

The small pool that was heated and was not salt water is not now heated and is salt water, it buys you a little but you get used to it.

All the pools seemed well maintained, lots of missing tiles last year this year I seen none.

NO MORE RULE ABOUT LONG TROUSERS FOR MEN AT DINNER, DEFIANTLY THE BEST CHANGE, WEARING LONG TROUSERS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE THE PREVIOUS YEAR.

We were allowed to use another bar by the Night Time Entertainment hall which we were not allowed to use last year on AI.

in the pool with the spa in next to La Perina, the pizza and ice cream promenade bar they had made extensions to it which were better, easier to get a seat. Although I would like to see a small free section offering drinks, slush and ice cream, for when you are by this pool and and are all inclusive. It is the only pool that does not have an AI section in the hotel. You have to walk a fair distance to get drinks etc from one of the other two pools. I would not expect to see food there as a trip to get lunch to one of the others is no problem its just drinks etc that you need to keep hydrated.

We seen a few more cockroaches than normal in our room this year but talking to other guests they had aswell so it was not our room, anyhow they do not bother most of your family, my wife is just petrified of them.

Food was great as usual no issues except dodging hungry people and waiting in the odd occasional queue for fresh produce to be cooked. The omelette is a must in the morning although the poor omelette cooker tries hard to look happy cooking hundreds of omelettes.

Last year there was always chicken nuggets in the pool side AI areas, this year I hardly seen them and as the kids like them we ended up going to main restaurant each day for a light lunch something we never done once the year before.
All in all great holiday, great hotel and friendly staff. Will return one day :)

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank jasonjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Director General at Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read comments like yours and the other travelers can know the impression of a customer. You make our staff motivate to improve day by day in the services we offer. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alirio Pérez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 km away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
864 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
59.7 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
1.2 km away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: ₱5,679 - ₱10,656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing