We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday jaunt”
Review of The John Roy

The John Roy
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Rangiora
Price range: US$6 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We have completely renovated the pub inside and out for a fresh, clean, contemporary new look! Our All Day Brunch Menu is a big hit with our patrons as is our Tapas! Try our new dinner menu with table service. Food, drink, great times to be had at The John Roy.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Decided to head out of ChCh for lunch so of to Rangiora. We saw this place as we entered the township from the east and thought was worth a look.
Parking was an issue - we questioned our decision, but we decided to try it anyway.
The interior was well presented and we were welcomed by the wait staff.
We had a fish of the day, and a steak dish. Both were what we'd call "pub grub, but were very good. We were well cared for by the staff, and were well satisfied with the lunch.
Great value for money.

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are pleased that you made the trip from Christchurch for Sunday lunch and enjoyed your experience. We pride ourselves on great meals and friendly service. When you visit again you are very welcome to use our parking spaces which can be accessed from Ivory Street. We look forward to welcoming you with a smile and great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We had a late lunch and asked if they could be quick as we needed to be at an appointment. Ironically my steak and chips were over cooked and it took 25 minutes to bring them!

Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Warwick, this is not our usual form. We are normally very particular about our steaks. We would welcome the opportunity to show you how well we cook a fabulous steak the next time you dine with us. Please allow us to offer you a complimentary pint of beer the next time you dine with us and order a steak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2017

the men had their usual steak cooked to perfection, the women had the chicken bacon and kumera salad.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denisbowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

The John Roy Team are delighted that the meals you enjoyed were well presented, cooked to perfection and served with a smile. We appreciate your custom and look forward to you visiting us again to enjoy food, drink and great times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Called here on a cold July evening and decide against having a meal,the restaurant/ bar had a very small ineffective gas fire which put out about as much heat as a cigarette lighter.The decor etc is fine but the menu is sparse and uninspiring.The staff must have been feeling the cold too as they were huddled in a corner at the back of the bar.We had a drink and then left for a warmer place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frankroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We had visted the old Jr's and hadn't been that impressed but thought we would give it a go again ,I'm so pleased we did the service was fantastic and the food was both tasty and reasonably priced. We both had roasts of the day and they are very generous servings followed by sticky date puddings made on site we will definitely be returning and taking the family with us.

Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

The John Roy Team are delighted that you like our new look and our great food. We look forward to welcoming you back with a smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The John Roy also viewed

Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The John Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing