We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing through”
Review of The John Roy

The John Roy
Ranked #27 of 47 Restaurants in Rangiora
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We have completely renovated the pub inside and out for a fresh, clean, contemporary new look! Our All Day Brunch Menu is a big hit with our patrons as is our Tapas! Try our new dinner menu with table service. Food, drink, great times to be had at The John Roy.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Called here on a cold July evening and decide against having a meal,the restaurant/ bar had a very small ineffective gas fire which put out about as much heat as a cigarette lighter.The decor etc is fine but the menu is sparse and uninspiring.The staff must have been feeling the cold too as they were huddled in a corner at the back of the bar.We had a drink and then left for a warmer place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frankroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We had visted the old Jr's and hadn't been that impressed but thought we would give it a go again ,I'm so pleased we did the service was fantastic and the food was both tasty and reasonably priced. We both had roasts of the day and they are very generous servings followed by sticky date puddings made on site we will definitely be returning and taking the family with us.

Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

The John Roy Team are delighted that you like our new look and our great food. We look forward to welcoming you back with a smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2017

only went for sunday lunch because we had a 25% off voucher .we were pleasantly surprised . the atmosphere was okay for a pub. Service from agreat young lady was excellent .food was very agreeable at a good price . we would go back again much to our surprise . as locals we had avoided the place because of a previous reputation. we were happy with our visit .

    • Value
    • Food
Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

The John Roy Team are really pleased that you visited us and noticed the difference. We are very different to the history that the pub had. We pride ourselves on our service, great food and a great atmosphere. We look forward to you visiting us again for food, drink, great times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We went there on a Friday night . They have a great range of drinks available & we enjoyed wonderful friendly service , I was very impressed with the meals & can't wait to go back . The fries are amongst the best that I have eaten . Thanks for a wonderful evening . Kim T

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Izzy969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

The John Roy Team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

this a wine bar sort of thing but the food is not to bad. and on the weekend has good bands not to big and not to small.is good for a big group of people has a up stairs part for big groups.

Thank kerrie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at The John Roy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

The John Roy is a place where you can enjoy a good meal, listen to music or enjoy a great time at a function upstairs to celebrate with friends.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Food. Drink. Great times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The John Roy also viewed

Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The John Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing