We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good everyday restaurant/cafe”

Jagz Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Kaiapoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Striving to be Kaiapoi number one destination. From breakfast to lunch to snacks and dinner. a casual place with kid friendly playground, pop in for a coffee and cake or a refreshing beer after work . A nice night out with the family or we can cater for big groups, nothing is too much trouble Jagz. So hope to see you soon.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to chill out in summer or winter. Small playground for older kids. Staff awesome. Menus well planned. Both cafe & restaurant great to visit. Must go local hangout. Enjoy

Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Jagz Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you Judy for your awesome review, much appreciated and we do hope to see you all again soon Greg Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Last evening my children and I decided to go to Jags for dinner. Myself and 2 of my children ordered the $10 Pizzas, and my eldest daughter ordered the Chicken Caesar Salad. The meals were delicious our only problem being my daughter commented that the salad was too big and she couldn't finish it. Our meals were delivered to our table by pleasant friendly wait staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. We noticed that there has been redecorating and a change to the staff uniforms, which looks great and I'm excited about all the changes they are making. All together a very pleasant experience and we will be back again!

1  Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This was a difficult visit. We were seated. 10 minutes later our order for drinks was taken. 20 mins after our arrival another couple were seated. 40 mins later we were asked for another drinks order. We said "food order would be nice", waiter said he was here for drinks order. he then came back and took food order. Other couple by this time had their order in, been served their food, eaten and table cleared. We paid for our drinks and left. Would definitely not go back to this restaurant again, never. Very rude.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sgapes161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Jagz Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Sgapes,Thank you for your feedback. Sincere apologies for your experience on Sunday afternoon. Our standards are much higher than this and I am very sorry that we let you down with wait time.i have also investigated timing issue with our staff and found that you were obviously not informed about the bookings prior on your arrival. Our cooking times can vary, on reflection we do agree that your table should have had priority before the one in question. This is not normally the Jagz way but you have highlighted a flaw in our system on sunday and i can assure you the matter has been dealt with and this hopefully never repeat. Again our sincere apologies. The Timing issue however was only 20 minutes not 40 as suggested but i can agree that it might have seemed that long. I would be very happy to discuss this with you further if you would like to call me. Kind regards Jane (Owner/Director) 03 260 16 18

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Dined at this lovely establishment last night with family. Everyones meals were generous and tasty. Good kiwi variety as well. Lovely atmophere and staff

Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Manager at Jagz Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Thank you for your 4 star review, here at Jagz we strive to give our guests the best service and food we can so im glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope to see you here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and myself are rather picky when it comes to paying for meals so it takes something special to impress us and Jagz Restaurant ticked all the right boxes for us. We ordered the Lamb and the Ribeye and both were delicious. If I had to find one thing that could be improved it would be to have a small salad or some veges with my steak but I like my greens so perhaps the wedges would be ok for the potatoe lovers out there. We finished with a Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee which was perfect. I would definately recommend Jagz to anyone wanting a filling and scrumptious meal. We'll done Jagz

Thank 200lovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Manager at Jagz Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Many Thanks for your kind words about Jagz, it was a pleasure to serve you and we are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us. We do hope to see you again in the future cheers Greg Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagz Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Jagz Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;