We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning tea”

Paris for the Weekend
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Kaiapoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$35
Description: French inspired cafe in a historic building. Serves french crepes, all day breakfasts, hot soups and cabinet food. Wide selection of teas served in English fine bone china. Delicious HOT coffee. Paris for the Weekend is a stand out cafe that offers something special.
Restaurant details
Description: French inspired cafe in a historic building. Serves french crepes, all day breakfasts, hot soups and cabinet food. Wide selection of teas served in English fine bone china. Delicious HOT coffee. Paris for the Weekend is a stand out cafe that offers something special.
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

What a lovely little cafe! Great coffee and tea. Good selection tasty treats. Excellent service. The decor is very quaint with lots of little Paris touches

Thank Errolnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris4weekend, Manager at Paris for the Weekend, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Errol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018

Actualyl all through the day the café sells delightful food and the atmosphere is a little different to most cafes etc. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is fantastic.

Thank Athalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris4weekend, Manager at Paris for the Weekend, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you very much Athalie :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Don't normally order French toast but it was amazing! Great coffee too, didn't even need sugar!
Staff friendly and approachable, and an excellent atmosphere. 5/5 will be back

Thank brownsteveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris4weekend, Manager at Paris for the Weekend, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thanks for your review brownsteveo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We stumbled across this delightful cafe on our way home and count ourselves lucky. The lady serving was very attentive and friendly. The cafe was not too busy when we were there as it was nearing the end of the day.
My partner had the vegetarian nachoes (good lunch portion and lovely flavour) while I had the vegetarian pastry (nice flavour but I had food envy and wish I had gotten the nachoes). We then decided to be greedy and shared a carrot cake cupcake (delicious flavour and moist but we had to leave half the icing behind as there was way too much).
The cafe is light and airy with high ceilings, has pretty Paris themed decor, and an interesting historical background.
Looking forward to visiting again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rundlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

The building has been beautifully renovated especially inside.
Where my experience at Paris for the Weekend let itself down was a lack of engagement from the staff.
When I made the booking I said the booking was a celebration of my partners birthday but there was no acknowledgement from the staff of the occasion.
On arrival I went to the counter and was told where to sit, not escorted to our seats. The person "greeting" me then said when you are ready to order come back to the counter to order. That was it.
I am not saying the staff were rude as they weren't but just a disappointing lack of engagement.
The food was nicely presented and tasted delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank broadhuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charl0ttej5, Manager at Paris for the Weekend, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you appreciated all the renovations and that the food was enjoyable for you. I have passed your comments on to our staff but I know in the past some people do not like attention being drawn to their birthdays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris for the Weekend also viewed

Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 
Kaiapoi, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Paris for the Weekend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing