We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Was a quick trip here 3 oktober.

I was a little early so things werent open but i got a little look around inside the walls and it... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
Bjørn E
,
Stavanger
Nice day out from Oslo

This was a very easy day (direct – about an hour) train trip from Oslo. I can’t say that it is... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2018
Squidhead
,
Costa Mesa, California
Read all 329 reviews
  
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
196
107
20
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
107
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fortified town free ferry the river old city nice walk train station cafes and restaurants cobbled streets guided tour ferry trip star shaped living city every saturday northern europe summer sun main part worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

I was a little early so things werent open but i got a little look around inside the walls and it was impressive.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Bjørn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This was a very easy day (direct – about an hour) train trip from Oslo. I can’t say that it is among the most interesting sights in Europe, or even in Norway, but if you are staying in Oslo and want to see a different area, take this trip. There is a fun (literally one-minute) ferry trip to get from the train station (after a 5 minute walk) to the Fortified Town. You will see that the town is (supposed to be) unchanged from when it was actually fortified. Walk along the walls, and enjoy the views. Check out the craft shops and restaurants. Then I recommend taking the other ferry back to the main part of Fredrikstad for some shopping.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Squidhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The old town is very nice, many galleries, nice cafes - try the Magenta - and nice views. Easy to get to with the free ferry.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 360travelling247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

When you want to escape big town hustle, then go to this place. Lots of small streets and old buildings. The art scene is nice to see. Great place for small kids, the streets are mostly empty of traffic.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DutchTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Really pleasant walk there. Cafes and restaurants. Galleries and great views from the old fortress walls.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Syril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews