We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice day trip from Oslo

In less than 90 minutes by train from Oslo, which costs about € 45 return ticket. The town is very... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2018
PH v
,
Tilburg, The Netherlands
via mobile
Was a quick trip here 3 oktober.

I was a little early so things werent open but i got a little look around inside the walls and it... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
Bjørn E
,
Stavanger
Read all 329 reviews
  
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
196
107
20
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
107
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fortified town free ferry the river old city nice walk train station cafes and restaurants cobbled streets guided tour ferry trip star shaped living city every saturday northern europe summer sun main part worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

When you want to escape big town hustle, then go to this place. Lots of small streets and old buildings. The art scene is nice to see. Great place for small kids, the streets are mostly empty of traffic.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DutchTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Really pleasant walk there. Cafes and restaurants. Galleries and great views from the old fortress walls.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Syril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

The trip by train from Oslo was one hour and very comfortable. After a two block walk one is transported by ferry (free of charge) to the town. It is charming. A great place for a picnic. If you are interested in historic sites this will be very attractive. We saw all that was necessary within about two hours and took an early train back to Oslo. I am glad we took the trip. However, I would not put it at the top of my "must do" tourist activities for Oslo.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank mhdicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A part of Fredrikstad City is the Fortified Town, where you can see some Norwegian history in addition to small shops, cafè`s and some nice restaurants. From Fredrikstad down town, 10 minutes walk to the boat that brings you to this old town. PS: The shuttle boat is for free.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank 584egilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

In the ‘Gamle Fredrikstad’ it feels like time has never passed by. Vintage markets, wooden houses and, in our case, even a historical reconstruction of a battle, including cannon shots! It’s worth it for a stroll.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank CodaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews