We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Dinner”

Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Turangi Bridge Bar and Restaurant offers a stylish and welcoming atmosphere for sampling mouth-watering New Zealand cuisine. A Turangi icon since 1931, our restaurant has a genuine history and ambience unlike anywhere else. The large open fire makes it the perfect spot for a cosy, lodge-style winter dinner. Or in summer, you can sit on the deck to enjoy a glass of wine and a view of the Tongariro river and New Zealand landscape. The restaurant is also available for hire as your New Zealand wedding venue, conference venue or function room. We can cater to groups of different sizes with our buffet or a la carte options - please talk to us about what you need and we'll make sure you and your guests have a memorable evening. Please take a look at our seasonal menu - we have something to suit everyone's needs or budget.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were a group of 14 people. Have dined here on a few occasions. Meals delivered at different times and auctioned off to the dinners at the table as staff not noting who ordered what. When the last meal was delivered others had finished their mains. Not professional. Had to ask for wine top ups or go to the bar to get it our selves... staff definitely need training on service in the restaurant. Food was ok, mains relative to the pricing. Too much potato with the steak, steak was good though.. Desserts are good.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuwharetoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

I read positive reviews about this restaurant and certainly wasn't let down. The food was very good, staff very friendly and attentive and there was a lovely little bar area complete with a large fireplace for those cold winter nights. We had the pork belly and steak, eggs, chips and salad. Neither of us could fault our meals.
This restaurant is easily accessible off SH1 as you cross the bridge on the northern entrance to Turangi but a little hard to spot as it is on the back off the complex.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Previous reviews read seem a little harsh. I just had one of the best medium rare sirloin I have had in a long time - cooked to perfection! Sure, not much in the way of pretentious menu options, but nevertheless plenty of good options. I prefer good food with friendly service, not the latest trend and a quantity to feed a spindly waif. Will happily return and recommend to others with confidence. Solid wine list with pretty low markups ie great prices. Rubbish beer, (ok, I am a beer knob).

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Glenn_taplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

We were staying at the motel and went to the bar and restaurant for drinks and a meal. Very relaxing, great service, lovely people. We spent some time in the bar in peace and quiet.
We went through to our table and enjoyed a wonderful meal.
Finished off with a special coffee.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank philip1benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Not a lot of choice for dinner in the area, so we decided to try it.
Nothing went particularly wrong, steak was cooked decently and despite a misunderstanding with the sides it was overall ok. But that's exactly it, average place, convenient, especially if you're hungry and staying in the area.
Staff was super nice on the positive side.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Pierpaolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.