We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glencoe House
Nearby Hotels
The Glencoe Inn(Glencoe Village)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballachulish Hotel(Ballachulish)
US$171
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$318
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$348/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
US$239
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Croit Anna Hotel(Fort William)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Innseagan House Hotel(Fort William)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
US$149
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
388
13
7
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
13
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubglass of champagnebell towerdining tablehonesty barliving roomprivate terracethe main housebath bombsmaxi barroom barseafood platterthought of everythingsupermarket pricescourse meallog firehuge suite
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

A great view and excellent accomodation.
The evening meal is served in your room which means that you miss interaction with other guests..The food lack finesse but was good but not great.
A very expensive hotel that misses the mark but lives on the view and the presence of the building.
Staff very nice and friendly.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Graeme Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Graeme, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you felt that accommodation was excellent and we do feel luck to have panoramic views over the Loch - we certainly don't get tired looking at them! Also your comments about the service are particularly welcomed as the team seeks to give guests a sense of true Highland hospitality.

One of our unique services is the in-suite private dining as standard in the Glencoe House Suites and this is strongly highlighted on the website. As a result this offering should not have been a surprise to you. Many guests enjoy this level privacy but clearly this dining experience was not for you. If you return then we would be very happy to book a table for you at a restaurant for a more traditional dining experience.

We hope to welcome you back.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Glencoe House was just as special as we remembered it. The rooms are so spacious (separate living room and bedroom) and ours had a terrance and a view of the water, both of which we loved. The wood burning fireplace in the room is also very special, especially on a rainy day or cold night. The surrounding area is wonderful - Glencoe village has some great restaurants/cafes, right next to the hotel are beautiful trails, and the property has its own gardens (which I think are a work-in-progess and full of amazing potential if management has plans to develop them). Meals are served at the dining table in your living room which is a unique experience and very relaxing. We did feel disappointed by the food quality and taste, and as a result we only had one dinner during our 5-night stay. I understand there is no restaurant on site, but the dinners were noticeably lacking compared to the other dining experiences we had during this trip at Kinloch Lodge, The Torridon, and Downside House. This property is so special, and I hope someday they add a first rate restaurant or at least elevate the food offering. We will certainly return; it is one of our favorite UK hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time post a review. It was lovely to see you again and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Also thank you for your comments regarding the suites and we agree that putting your feet up in front of the fire in your private sitting room is a great way of hiding from a rainy day! We are indeed developing the woodland garden but we are at the rather unexciting (but necessary) stage of clearing some the areas, putting drainage in and creating additional paths. The next stage of planting will be much more more exciting and you will see the significant differences on your next visit!

We take your comments regarding the food very seriously and the kitchen team will take your points into account and adjust accordingly, although we do find that with food in particularly there is always the issue of personal preferences and expectations. As you are planning to return which is fantastic but please contact us prior to your arrival and we would be very happy to prepare a bespoke dinner for your personal taste.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Absolutely fantastic venue. Worth every penny this was our second 2 night stay and we will definitly be back. All the staff are so welcoming and friendly making you feel at home the minute you arrive. Nothing is an effort and the food - delicious drinks selection(honesty bar) expansive... hot Tub - Brilliant - and cosy fire place all combine to make for a memorable stay

Stayed: April 2018
Thank WarrenKaren63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much again. Our aim is to provide true Highland hospitality with a warm welcome and we are thrilled that you felt at home straightaway. Although it is spring time, an open fire still brings a bit of joy, particularly when you have a little glass of something from the honesty bar. It sounds as though you really entered into the 'Glencoe House spirit' which is fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back to you Highland home!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Belltower duote £380 per night for 3 nights.
Suite was excellent with log fire at a and plenty of space. Armchairs uncomfortable & needs good old-fashioned sofa.
Kitchen well stocked with good quality crockery.
Large bathroom with double shower but eater pressure low.
Large comfortable bed.
Netflix in living room much appreciated. Outside hot tub excellent and useful after long walks around the pleasant grounds.
We expected ingredients for breakfast to be as advertised on website. We did not expected boxes of coco pops & Alpen as the choice of "4 cereals & muesli". We did not expect the yoghurt to be two small toffee flavoured tubs nor "selection of cheeses" to be packaged grated cheddar. The promised fruit was not there on arrival, welcoming glass of champagne did not happen.
Thanks to the Chef who came over personally the next day and helped sort out the problems.
BUT I hate complaining which took the edge off the expensive stay. So much good about the place ruined by poor quality breakfast ingredients. Shame!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CaraBaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we welcome constructive criticism from guests as it helps us improve. There seems to be a number of issues that you enjoyed during your stay including the the comfortable bed, the well stocked kitchen that includes an Aga, the bathroom and the large private hot tub, which is great. Price is of course a matter of perception, but the suite itself is 75 sqm. in size and has an private terrace of approx 40 sqm. that includes a large 6 person hot tub for only the two of you; the space and quality of finish is difficult to find elsewhere in Scotland for the same price.

We note, however, that there were a number of areas that you were dissatisfied with. In this review you are quick to criticise but fail to include all that the hotel staff did to address some of your personal preferences. For example:

Your issue: no welcome champagne:
Our response: We do welcome our guests with a glass of champagne in the Great Hall where we sit guests down and have a chat with there by way of introducing them to the house, the area and ourselves. You were very insistent that you wanted to go to your suite straight away hence the omission. But when you highlighted that you did not receive a glass of champagne, we apologised and a bottle (not two glasses...) of complimentary champagne was sent to your suite, which you duly accepted albeit in a rather rude manner.

Your issue: the breakfast selection was poor
Our response: The Bell Tower Suites have been open for a year now and we have received no criticisms of the breakfast offering to date. We do, of course acknowledge that guests have different expectations and individual preferences. First of all, it would have been useful to tell us in advance that one of you was vegetarian so that we could include a vegetarian breakfast platter in the fridge. How would be know otherwise? We acknowledge that the fruit bowl was missing in the suite but this was rectified as soon as it was highlighted. This was an oversight on our part, for which we apologise, but it was resolved immediately. You indicated that you only eat 'artisan bread'. Given the remote location, there are no bakeries in the area. The Head Chef, however, specifically baked bread for you and also some of the homemade granola and natural yoghurt was brought to your suite along with a selection of cheeses. You also complained that there was no Prosecco included in the breakfast provisions. Although there is a bottle of Prosecco in each fridge for purchase at a supermarket price (under £15), by way of a good will gesture we provided you with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco. Therefore we provided you with two bottles of complementary wine, which you have failed to mention in your review.

Here at Glencoe House we strongly believe in the personal touch and try to exceed guests expectations. Where we fall short, or where guests have individual preferences, we try to go above and beyond to address any issues or accommodate preferences. We believe we have done everything in our power to make your a stay a great one but it is always a pity when our efforts go unappreciated; we are at a loss to know what else we could have done.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Excellent! And a surprising service with breakfast and dinner in the room. Beautiful views. Very cheap and good drinks in the room. And perfect service.Surroundings are perfect for walks and close to the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRVR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are also very happy that you enjoyed the in-suite dining, which is means you can have a relaxed full breakfast in your dressing gowns! We are agree with you that the views of the Loch Leven are spectacular and we certainly don't get tired looking at them. We look forward to welcoming you back and the champagne is on ice!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews