We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
28
15
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
15
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new friends bunk beds common room water supply other guests simple breakfast la union pay pesos solo traveller walking distance upon check special thanks free breakfast nets hammocks pandesal backpackers
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Didn't have any trouble reserving the beds, the website was very easy to navigate. FD called us a day prior to confirm we are coming, advised us to make sure to arrive early at the terminal as the lines sometimes can be so bad. Upon arrival she welcomed us so warmly (she isn't there anymore though). Come night time, FD made sure we were able to mingle with the other guests. We arrived there only me and my friends knowing each other, and we left knowing the other guests as well. Their reception area where you can mingle with the other guest is really awesome. Affordable. Good company. Easy to get to. Couldn't ask for anything more. Will definitely go back.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank iam17heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Cool artsy place but not so cool in terms of cleanliness. Cobwebs are everywhere; you'll regret it if you're placed in the top most bunk bed. You'll be the one to set up your own bunk bed and the staff won't even bother checking if your mattresses are still okay. The pillows are a little bit hard and the pillow case, blanket and bed sheets are too worn out. The rest rooms are also not well-managed; tissues everywhere.

Security is also not granted. After 10PM or so, the staff asked us if there were anything else that we need and after saying none, the staff left us and the other guests for the night.

The staff isn't welcoming too. We had to wait for them to accommodate us upon arriving, considering that we came from a tiring 5-6 hour travel.

The only thing that I enjoyed here is my friends' company and the bond that we shared. Other than that, this place is not so worthy of our time, effort, and money. Well at least from our experience.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horiannx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The idea is nice: an artsy, sociable hostel for budget travellers.
Pros: it's affordable, the beds are fine, the common area is a handy way to meet people (if you're travelling solo), it's in a good location off the main road, and they provide free water

Cons: The staff are pretty disinterested and unhelpful, the "breakfast" consists of a piece of bread you can put peanut butter on, it gets bright and hot very early (but what do you expect if you're sleeping outside?).
I enjoyed my time there and would probably stay again, but I just wish the breakfast could be slightly better and the staff could be friendlier/more helpful.
Also, if you arrive between 9pm and 6am, there is nobody at reception so you cannot check in - but you can grab some sleep in the hammocks in the common area so it's OK. Tip: bring a padlock so you can lock your valuables in one of the lockers. They don't sell padlocks nearby, you need to take a jeepney into San Fernando town to buy one there.

Room tip: Pay a little bit extra for a bed instead of a hammock.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kieran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2016

The circle is a nice idea. It looks pretty and artsy on pictures. But in reality it is a place without a soul. The staff does not care about the visitors at all. Mattresses are dirt cheap and dirty. For breakfast you can fish a dry piece of bread out of a container and spread it with some peanut butter. The toilet is dark and dirty. Really the owner/staff do not seem to care at all about the customer experience of this place. It is cheap (P500-700) but it is bad value for money nonetheless. Pretty much any other place in La Union is better taken care of and offers better value for money

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

With the option of sleeping up in a dorm bed under mosquito nets or under the dorm room in hammocks, it can get noisy as there are no walls to block out the sound. This also lead me to worry about my belongings as there was no security guard.

But it's a bright and friendly place with plenty of space to hang out after a day on the beach.

Would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank eleventennine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews