We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Thames Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Seaspray Motel(Coromandel Peninsula)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
19
28
10
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
28
10
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wififlat screenone nightgreen lawnthameskitchenettebedspaknsavecoromandelaccommodationunithost
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Accommodation was hard to get when we were in Thames we were recommended by another establishment and we were very pleased to be staying here.
The welcome was very good easy to book in room lovely and clean and well appointed and great value for money
The garden is something to walk around with the fruit trees lovely lawns and a pleasure to sit out relaxing and resting.
Guessing that one will not get anything better in Thames.
Well done to all the staff for making our stay very pleasant and happy

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank johnamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

We booked with booking.com as it was high season and accommodation was scarce. We did well. The host has recently taken over and cares about the motel with great pride we had one request which was ice. There are no ice trays in the room but the host hunted down a container full of ice for us. The room was spacious with a microwave kitchenette. We did a little wine and cheese dinner and picked up fruit and yoghurt from Paknsave The tidy fresh motel met all our needs.

It is well worth considering you could always ask for more but you certainly don’t need it. A fantastic place to stay

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank tezzaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

The place we were supposed to stay at got flooded during the storm and had no power and water, so we were left to look for alternative accommodation. We were so lucky we managed to get the last apartment here! The manager was so friendly and helpful. The apartment itself was very spacious and looked like it has been recently been refurbished. Huge flatscreen TV a bonus! There was a kitchenette with fridge and microwave, but no stove top. Everything was spotless and clean. Location is a short walk from centre with cafes and restaurants. Beds were super comfy!

Thanks for saving the day(or night)!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Kiwigirl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

We stayed for two nights having to come to Thames at short notice for a family event. Our contacts with the management were effective and prompt. The unit was spacious and very clean. It met all our needs and we would happily stay there agin should the need arise

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaughan a, Front Office Manager at Avalon Thames Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Hi guys, thank you so much for your comments as it is so wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay and our help.
We try very hard to keep our rooms clean and fresh. Thanks again Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

A big wide room, well equiped, with a perfect working wifi connection. Big windows to let the sunshine in on morning. Bed really confortable. The kitchen is cleaned and usefull. You even have a big table to eat.
The owner was realy kind and helpfull, he help us while we re having problems with our car.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews