We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,461)
Filter reviews
6,461 results
Traveler rating
4,183
1,658
440
123
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,183
1,658
440
123
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskasbah restaurantpiano barsea viewprivilege loungea la carte restaurantbelow ground levelindoor poolhalf boardcouples hotelprivilege packageprivilege gueststhomson repsmain restaurantshow cookingplenty of sunbedsreception staffplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 6,461 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We came to this hotel over Christmas, after much looking at different hotels to stay, the timanfaya stood out for us. And we were not disappointed, a brilliant find. Set in a lovely location, the hotel was impressive, staff were so attentive, hardworking. Food was very good and the best Xmas gala evening we have ever had, and we go away every Xmas. Pepe is amazing in the restaurant. We enjoyed the activities around the hotel, even I going to do the aqua aerobics everyday was so enjoyable. Entertainment was enjoyable, best we have enjoyed compared to other hotels we have stopped in. The drinks/cocktails were fab, all premium drinks great. We were in room 300,s with a mountain view, good size, clean good TV channels, not that we had time to watch much. My only negative to the room was delivery noise early in the morning each morning. Sadly we had to leave our holiday a few days earlier than we should for personal reasons, but now we are preparing to come back to this hotel for Easter, and we can't wait..

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank lindseyhorn171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear lindseyhorn171,

Thank you very much for your goodness. I appreciate your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

I hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Hope this is a balanced review. We wanted a quiet decent hotel and that s what we got. Our room was very good with a lovely view. A long way from reception but not an issue. Pool area was quiet apart from barbecue day. Inconsiderate people still hog sunbeds and don't use them, but this is the fault of the clients not the hotel.
Staff were incredible, always helpful and smiling. Sometimes room was not serviced until 3 p.m. But expect this was due to prioritising rooms vacated.
So the issues. Firstly lack of vegetarian food. We did alert hotel in advance and told receptionist on first night. However none of the h'ors oeuvres on entry were labelled and all seemed to have meat or fish. No way of telling which deserts had gelatine so we couldn't risk them. I guess they don't get many vegetarians but a bit more effort on the main courses such as a veggie pasta each night would help.
Our main concern was with the Privilege upgrade. It got us a nice room with some extras but far too many people were included in this. It was impossible to get a seat in the Privilege Lounge pre dinner ( 6.30- 7.30) and post dinner ( after 8) the lounge was taken over by a large group who moved all the furniture into a circle and treated the place as their personal lounge. Again nowhere for anyone else to sit so unable to take advantage of what we had paid for.
Finally we did eat in the Kasbsh one night and had a lovely meal. Unfortunately they charged us for the food which should have been included in our deal. Fortunately I noticed this when settling our final bill and it was rectified. I wonder how many other customers experienced this " mistake"?
So overall we enjoyed our stay but felt we did not get value for our Privilege upgrade. I would still recommend this hotel but we did feel somewhat let down

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
23  Thank veggie-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear veggie-dave,

Thanks for your review.

"vegetarian food. We did alert hotel in advance and told receptionist on first night. However none of the h'ors oeuvres on entry were labelled and all seemed to have meat or fish. No way of telling which deserts had gelatine so we couldn't risk them"... -> There are 14 Allergens that we have to legally identify ... not even vegetarian dishes, they are products that can cause illness to certain people.
As it is totally impossible to indicate every allergy or product, you have been able to see that we have posters indicating that if you have any allergies, doubts or needs, please contact our staff that will gladly assist you.

If you were privilege, of course you had all courses and all meals included in the Kasbah, even if you had a special request out of the menu that we can arrange... sorry if we charge for that.

"I wonder how many other customers experienced this " mistake"? " -> Normally no more that 0,05%, I have stadistics of that... and even so, I want to reach 0%, as we send the bill to the rooms the last night so that the guest has quiet time to check it.

Best regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2018

What makes this hotel so good? The STAFF. Also the fact it is ADULT ONLY.
As so many have said, the staff are so friendly, very helpful, always happy and smiling, nothing is too much trouble for them. Viky from customer relations was outstanding, replying to my e-mail, from home, late on a Sunday evening, with really helpful information, thank you.
Thank you also to the bar staff / waiters, who were happy to let me practice my Spanish and always gave such good, efficient service, again the dining staff, everyone seemed so happy to be working there.
We stayed at this hotel, a couple of times, many years ago, when it first opened,, [about 2001], and it was nice then, but the re-vamp and the fact it is now adults only, has made it so much better.
The rooms are modern,but not too trendy, fairly simply furnished, but have plenty of space,
There is a kettle, [small travelling type], with cups etc. and a regularly topped up supply of coffee, tea, milk.
Should you feel you'd like anything to go with these supplies, [like a few biscuits, some chocolate etc.] then there is a well stocked supermarket, less than 5 minutes walk away. [Go on to the coastal path, turn left and you'll see it almost immediately].
Though the hotel do bring you chocolates each evening and offer a fresh towel replacement service, nice idea.
There is also an empty fridge you can use for free, or pay to have it stocked up.
A safe is available, at a charge.
As is dry cleaning and laundry service, also room service, with limited menu.
Bathrooms vary a lot, some have been completely renovated, with walk in double, rainfall showers and.masses of shelf space, others are still a little dated, with a bath and shower over.
Again beds vary, from two huge singles, to a really enormous double.
Lovely comfy armchair, coffee table, large balcony with furniture, completes the facilities.
By the way, you can even get all the British television channels on your room TV.
The restaurant food is good, with plenty of variety, having "themed" evenings, most nights, [Asian, Italian, Canarian, Mexican etc.] There is a "show cooking" area, making items individually for you, so you could get rare or well done steaks of an evening, or pancakes or omelettes etc. of a morning. Obviously there are times when a short queue builds up, but the food is worth waiting for and it is easy to judge the wait, if you're impatient, but after all, you are on holiday! There were always tables available, whatever time you went down They never ever ran out of crockery / cutlery, [which I've known elsewhere, in the past.] Service was always good.
The pool bar is very efficient at serving you tapas type food, so you're soon back outside, enjoying the sun.
A very small criticism, is that it would be nice to have a pasta option, of a lunchtime, goes great with a glass of wine and light enough to enjoy, not spoil your evening meal.
We didn't pay for the all-inclusive option and feel you really do need to like lots of alcohol, to get the most out of this, for what you pay. We had reasonably priced wine with our evening meal, sometimes a glass with lunch, and they do "store" any wine you've not drunk, till the following night.
Incidentally, you are given free pool towels, which can be exchanged whenever you like.
There was never any problems getting a sunbed, but the pool staff do enforce the rule, of no reserving beds, before 9.30 of a morning, thank you for this.
Evening entertainment was varied, with some outstanding shows, in particular, the Flamenco show, which was very authentic, yet modern, not the usual tourist rubbish.
There were some good rock-and-roll music nights also.
Daytime entertainment was a bit mixed and it was a pity that so much happened immediately after meal times, do wish they had put more on, late of an afternoon, when you're back from a day out and not just eaten!
The majority of the guests are English, but there are lots of Spanish and some German.
The hotel is at least a ten minute stroll out of the main shopping area of Playa Blanca, but it's a very pleasant stroll, on the coastal path, [which goes for miles, in both directions, if you like long walks], or else you can walk on the road, much quicker, but not so picturesque.
Playa Blanca has a very good selection of shops and restaurants.
Having first visited the island, some 30 years ago and seen it develope, each time we return, it is nice to see it is well controlled, [thanks to the architect Caesar Manrique], and it never feels crowded.
Having stayed in a variety of hotels, over the years, [though always in Playa Blanca], I think that Timanfaya Palace is now the best hotel there is and will be returning.

Stayed: January 2018
14  Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Fantastic holiday again here, I celebrated my birthday here and wow what a great night,dining room staff all sang to me brought champagne and a cake it was amazing.Also a special mention for Antonio,the waiter,what a great guy.so funny made our holiday brilliant. He is a valued member of your team.cant wait to return again next January.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

First arrived New Years Evening,no welcoming drinks as some people’s reviews,check in wasn’t great not a lot explained just pointed to a door and told where to go,we walked for ages dragging our own luggage,up in a lift,the more walking,had to stop people and ask directions twice. Room 029 not nice at all,dark,damp,ants,no iron,drain outside door so all night was noisy. Gala dinner wasn’t great as was expected,you felt that you were supposed to have booked although we were all inclusive,service and food was poor.
Had to return to reception to ask to hire a safe as it wasn’t explained,no irons left as they didn’t have thousands (I was told) could hire one from an outside company costing 15 Euros which we had the following day.
Certain areas were very in need of upgrading and maintenance,broken floor tiles were every where,old bathrooms very unsafe,went and asked for a bath mat,walls mouldy,hit and miss with food,be careful some food not cooked through and was sent back.
Entertainment was very poor,decided to get a cab and go to some really nice restaurants which also had great pubs around.
You could go on and on,I will not be returning and definitely not worth the money we paid.
Never complained as that’s the type of people we are but heard lots and lots of people over and over again making complaints.
Be careful when booking days out reps don’t get updated information regarding trips in the way they work,boat trips,food,stops of on beaches.
To be honest look else’s where to holidays

Room Tip: If you do try this hotel ask to have a high room
Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
24  Thank michellecoughlan2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear michellecoughlan2606,

I was on a trip and had no possibility to reply you before... but it is a shame that you did not contacted me when you were at the hotel.
Reading your review, I see that we are not your type of hotel, because we are an expensive hotel but focused to a different profile als yours.

No, we are not a party hotel with a huge enterteiment program, we are a quiet hotel.

We have different types of rooms and, the cheapest one has the safe not included. If you want that service, you have to pay for it.

We have a laundry service to wash or iron your clothes. As courtesy, if you need it just for 30 minutes, we lend it for free, but if you want it longer... we can provide the service with an external company.

About the reps... we have now Natalie and Abi, and I am very happy with them: ones of the best that we have had at the hotel.

Shame that you did not talk to me at the hotel to help you to find you better hotel and were able to enjoy your holidays.

Regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews