We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dinner”
Review of Dark Sky Diner

Dark Sky Diner
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Description: Located on Takapō (Tekapo) lakefront, Dark Sky Diner is undoubtedly the township's best positioned eatery with spectacular views day and night. The Diner ticks all the boxes when it comes to food, beverages, coffee, service and location. Enjoy a range of delicious options from our menu and cabinet selection during the day. The restaurant resets early evening creating a great dining option.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on Takapō (Tekapo) lakefront, Dark Sky Diner is undoubtedly the township's best positioned eatery with spectacular views day and night. The Diner ticks all the boxes when it comes to food, beverages, coffee, service and location. Enjoy a range of delicious options from our menu and cabinet selection during the day. The restaurant resets early evening creating a great dining option.
Reviewed 11 April 2021

I think this was the best venue at Tekapo for Dinner. Great service with friendly staff. I recommend the salmon as a main - delicious.
Get a window seat as the sun sets for a good view.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank nostrebor_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2021

Outstanding food brilliant service and the most amazing night had by all. Would so recommend to everyone. Great atmosphere A huge THANK YOU

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Ian2021kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Fantastic food and service. Nice location inside the Dark Sky Reserve, comfortable seating area with a bar as well. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O3946EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2020

This looked an interesting place so went in to have a coffee. Got a table right by the window with the magnificent view. Just had coffee but it was excellent when it came. Did take a while to arrive considering we had only ordered coffee and the cafe was not overly full. Lots to look at in and around the cafe and we will go back as we would like to do the Dark Sky Experience.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julietquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2020

We visited the Dark Sky Diner on two days - the first time for coffee and cakes when we were booking the Dark Sky Experience, then again the following day after we had done the Experience. Both times very good. The second day we had Brunch/lunch which we all enjoyed.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank horseymum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dark Sky Diner also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Dark Sky Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.