We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree top challenge ”
Review of Thunderbird Park

Thunderbird Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.38*
and up
Tamborine Mountain TreeTop Challenge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thunderbird Park is an amazing wildlife and geological rich oasis stretching over 112 hectares on Tamborine Mountain, Queensland, Australia. Translucent rock pools, inspiring landscapes, towering rainforest and star studded skies all add to the magic of Thunderbird Park. Enjoy an affordable mountain adventure, a romantic escape, or a family holiday. Thunderbird Park has gum studded powered and unpowered camp and caravan sites along with bunk room camping.Thunderbird Park’s range of onsite adventure activities adds to the fun. Fossick for gemstone-filled thundereggs formed when dinosaurs roamed the earth. Find treasure and meet Rockodile, Thunderbird Park’s rock expert. Take excitement to the top at Adventure Parc, Australia’s longest and highest adventure ropes course. Climb cable ladders, balance on rope bridges, catch a flying fox, crawl through tunnels, manoeuvre on suspended trunks or jump from great heights. Go horse trail riding, bush walking or play laser skirmish in an outstanding rainforest battlefield, themed with an authentic Kokoda village. Set in the heart of Thunderbird Park is the new addition of the Terrace Kiosk with a wood fired pizza oven. The Terrace Kiosk offers affordable and tasty meals and snacks and the Terrace Deli sells essential items and take away frozen delicacies that are easily microwaved.A hidden oasis just 40 minutes drive from the Gold Coast and less than an hour from Brisbane.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would have given it a 5 but the customer service was not very good. It was our first time to the tree top challenge. We have an 8 year old and we were not told what courses he could and couldn't do. We were not told about lockers or water or phones or really anything. The man at the front took our money and we were given the compulsory safety talk then we were set off to our own devices. Young kids can only do the 2 green courses and maybe the red if they can reach the height of 160cm. They are challenging and tough for some kids and adults. The red course is hard and higher. Make sure you wear dark clothes as you will get a bit dirty. You can take your phone for photos but it needs to be safely in your pockets. Take a small water bottle or be charged $1 for 1. It took us nearly 4 hours to do 4 courses. We will go again.

Thank Bourkeys14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraMoore, General Manager at Thunderbird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the 4-star review :) We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent TreeTop Challenge experience! We note your comments regarding the staff and have passed this onto TreeTop Challenge for them to address with their team. We are pleased to read that you will be back again and we look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mini golf"
in 40 reviews
"tree top challenge"
in 35 reviews
"horse riding"
in 35 reviews
"thunder egg"
in 28 reviews
"laser skirmish"
in 23 reviews
"great fun"
in 32 reviews
"eggs"
in 23 reviews
"high ropes course"
in 14 reviews
"zip lining"
in 12 reviews
"camping ground"
in 10 reviews
"adventure park"
in 9 reviews
"fire pit"
in 8 reviews
"hard work"
in 12 reviews
"bird feeding"
in 7 reviews
"rock pools"
in 11 reviews
"canyon flyer"
in 5 reviews
"rainbow lorikeets"
in 5 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at a campsite at Thunderbird Park. It was the best camping experience we have had to date. The campsite was large, picturesque and had a lot of fun activities nearby. We also liked that the staff we friendly and helpful and it was a very family friendly place to go.

Thank holmenhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraMoore, General Manager at Thunderbird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5-star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to Thunderbird Park and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

...and found this place expensive and busy with families and lots of children. Also people with barking dogs in the outdoor dining area which was annoying. Service was slow, the presentation of the drinks not good (no lime offered with the Corona, no glasses offered with the soft drinks, no ice for the soft drinks) and at over $30 for 2 beers and 2 soft drinks I was surprised by this. The eftpos machine was slow and it took three attempts before payment could be made. In the end we left faster than we would have liked because of screaming babies and barking dogs in the outdoor dining area. Maybe this place would be good on a quieter day but my overall impression was one of poor service and being expensive for what is on offer.

Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraMoore, General Manager at Thunderbird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sincerely sorry your recent experience did not meet expectations. I am assuming you visited over the Easter long weekend, as our drink prices are generally not that expensive. Unfortunately, due to the four public holidays over the long weekend, surcharges do apply to all food and beverage purchases. This is an industry standard, but we do apologise for the inconvenience it causes. We did two record days, out of the four day, so my apologies if the service was not as speedy as it normally would be. We were a lot busier than we anticipated. There is no excuse for not offering lemon or lime with your corona and my apologies for this. I have since addressed this with all the staff. In regards to ice and glasses being offered, this is not a service that we provide at the Terrace Kiosk, as it is a takeaway food outlet. My apologies if this was not made clear to you when you were here. I honestly don't believe you experienced all we have to offer, so I hope you will give us another go and visit again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Thunderbird Park with high expectations but left feeling disappointed.
Yes it is a truly magnificent part of the mountain but sadly uncared for and neglected.
Many parts of the park are unfinished such as the carpark, paths and roadways.
As an older couple there was little to do or entertain us so we were looking forward to the 2pm bird feeding.
The Lorikeets were plentiful and noisy and a large crowd gathered to participate but there was little concern shown by the organisers for health and safety. The feeding stations and large rocks were not clean with people especially children sitting on rocks covered with soggy bread and bird poo.
Some people were receiving scratches to their heads and arms from the birds which seems unhygienic and I thought it was common knowledge that wild (native) birds should under no circumstances be fed bread.
Overall a disappointing time for us

Thank EEH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraMoore, General Manager at Thunderbird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologise that your recent experience did not meet your expectations. That is never nice to hear! Our carpark and pathways were recently redone, with more than $70K spent on it. We are very proud of what we have achieved and are quite disappointed to read your comments regarding 'the unfinished carpark, paths and roadways'. In regards to the bird feeding, we have hundreds of guests visit Thunderbird Park every week to partake in this free activity. We will take your comments onboard and make some necessary changes, as we hope that it will improve the guest experience moving forward. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Whist our children had an amazing time at the Tree Top Challenge and mini golf we were very disappointed with the Bunk House accommodation, it is very run down, the share camp kitchen has a very old rusty cook top and a coffee warmer as the other "cooker". The campers also wer told to use the bathrooms in the bunk houses and the hot water ran out. The bunk beds are sagging, holes in the walls and not clean, I have seen on other posts with the same concerns the response is that it is budget accommodation, budget or not it still should be clean. School children stay in here on camps, so they should still have a nice place to stay. I have noticed the management saying it is being done up in December 2017 but this is definitely not the case. Some serious maintenance and new mattresses need to be put in place. So stay in some of the other options or camp until upgraded. The other facilities and activities are worth the trip.

Thank majuliejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaraMoore, General Manager at Thunderbird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The bunkhouses are currently offered on weekends and school holidays for families to use as a budget holiday option. As it is heavily booked in the school term period by schools and youth groups, there is minimal time to refurbish these rooms. With that being said, we have plans to stop independent travellers, i.e families, from booking these on the weekends and school holidays, so we can carry out some much-needed maintenance and continue to grow our school camp business. We are sincerely sorry that your recent stay did not meet expectations, but hopefully you will consider coming back in the future and booking a camping spot or one of the many rooms/lodges that we have available at Cedar Creek Lodges, which shares a property with Thunderbird Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderbird Park also viewed

North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 
Tamborine Mountain, Scenic Rim
 

Been to Thunderbird Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing