We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Libyan Princess(Palaiochora)
US$146
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pal Beach(Palaiochora)
Free cancellation until 07/25
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Horizon(Palaiochora)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Glaros(Palaiochora)
US$431
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manto Studios(Palaiochora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oriental Bay(Palaiochora)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
21
35
12
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
35
12
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach hotelthoroughly enjoyed our staylong sandy beachfridgeseasunbedspaleochora
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

We had a room at Europa which had a big balcony overlooking the stunning sandy beach. This certainly is position A. The room was clean and modern with a good bathroom. The children loved the pool and the beach bar is amazing, so beautiful and the perfect place for a cocktail whilst watching the sun set. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank lynnie_b83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2014

This was our second stay here, and the first time was in mid summer and we had no complaints. This time however was on 5 October. We paid 70 euro for the night. I went to shower in the morning around 0900 and there was no hot water. My husband went to reception to inform them. The response was that it was cloudy and as they only have solar heating, it might not warm up unless the sun came out. This is in my opinion, completely unacceptable, especially considering the price we paid for the room. The hotel should have done one of two things: either inform their guests at check in that the hot water "might not be available if it is cloudy" or offer some kind of monetary compensation for the inconvenience. The expectation for hotel guests is that hot water is available on demand.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank dheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Have stayed two years on a row now and will probably be back again. Lovely, affordable and well located apartments. Bathrooms are a bit basic but as expected for Greece. All staff are lovely. Beach locations is the best in Paleochora

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamDBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Stayed in 3 different rooms in hotel Candia/Europa: 2 rooms in Europa 2 building (one without kitchenette on second floor @ 70 euros/night and breakfast buffet at Jetée beach bar included in price; one with kitchenette on first floor @ 60 euros/night) 1 room in Europa 1 building (with kitchenette on the first floor @ 80 euros/night). We decided to stay in Paleochora since it appeared to be a good 'home base' if you are interested in hiking the Samara gorge, visiting the different south western villages accessible by ferry, and Elafonisi beach.

The good:
- Directly on the beach, only resort where you do not have to cross the road to be on the beach
- Near a beach bar / restaurant - which offers a continental breakfast (free for rooms which do not have a kitchenette)
- The cleaning lady responsible for Europa 2 building does a really good job. Thank you!
- Good pool for kids and sunbeds on the lawn are free. Sunbeds/umbrellas on the beach are 2 euros per person.
- Each room has a clothes line to dry your clothes
- Hotel has parking space for your car on the property

The 'to be desired':
- Cash only... Credit cards not accepted
- Some rooms, the TV does not work as some equipment has been sent to repair
- Wifi internet only works in lobby reception area. Wifi within rooms did not work during our entire stay, apparently someone has been called to repair it
- The cleaning lady responsible for Europa 1 building does not do a very good job.
- The room downstair we were in Europa 1 smelled mouldy
- Europa 1 building ran out of hot water at night while taking shower
- All rooms have a 'Greek' shower, which essentially means the entire toilet is a shower. Each toilet has a skweejee, so that you can mop the water on the floor following your shower into the floor drain. Tough to do in a room where the drain was not the lowest point in the floor.
- Pipes in between top and bottom suites are probably not isolated... Leading to dripping noises and banging in between walls... And probably the mouldy smell described above
-When the TV worked, it was difficult to find an English TV channel. Middle Eastern channels are plentiful
- Not all rooms have hair dryers
- Rooms with kitchenettes do not come with liquid detergent to wash your dishes... You have to buy your own at the grocery store nearby.
- Rooms do not have telephones or alarm clocks

Unless you are a family going on holiday with your children and want to save on restaurants, I would recommend getting a room without a kitchenette in order to get the free breakfast. Second floor rooms in Europa 2 appear to be your best bet, especially if you get one with an ocean view.

Room Tip: Select a room in Europa 2 building. Choose one without a kitchenette to get free breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Curious-Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Aug 14 was our second stay here, the 1st was Oct 2009. We booked last minute so were lucky to get the only available room. This was on the ground floor & although the patio faced the hotel next door it did have a view of the beach with the sea in the distance. The room, albeit small for us, [we’re used to apartments] had bedside lamps & cabinets with drawers - often a rarity- & ample wardrobe space & storage; there’s a fridge & kettle etc so you can have a hot/cold drink & make a snack. The bathroom is a wet room, so remember to move the toilet paper!

The location on the beach is good; only a stroll to reach the many tavernas & snack bars, with ample options for everyone; there's a large supermarket nearby if you wish to self cater or buy some occassional food/drink. If you don’t like sand the pebble beach is just a short walk away. One of our main reasons to choose this complex was the pool, but we didn’t get to use it as, being August, there were several children staying so it was too busy for us, who just wanted a gentle cool down swim; this wasn’t a problem, however, as we swam in the warm sea instead.

Maria, the owner was very friendly & we shared a few conversations using our limited Greek & her German/English & she invited us to have a glass of raki, which, she explained, should always be taken with a few almonds. The staff all seem to be happy & helpful – an extra thank you to Constantina- we would return but in May or Sept/Oct when it’s a bit quieter.

Room Tip: book early if you want more space & a good view
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews