We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
17
25
13
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
25
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh orange juice 3km outskirts tavern town paleochora
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We set this trip up way too late, so our options for hotels were reduced.

Staff are nice there and were helpful.

Location is not good if you want to be in town. The beach is across the street. They have wi-fi in the hotel and we were told wi-fi was at the beach too.

The breakfast was ok, but not like it was the few days before in Chania at El Greco. We had our parents with us so we had two rooms. Both were ok. They were functional but neither had a view.

So, the place works but if you want to be in town, stay in town. If you want a beach, this may be ok, but look around for other lodging and compare.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

The Megim is a clean and friendly hotel about five kilometres from Paleeochora. The hotel is basic and is traditional and could probably benefit from a little investment but what it lacks in charm it makes up for in freindlyness. The rooms were comfortable and clean although our room had very noisy air conditioning and the shower unit was broken so we had to hold the shower head above us. The other drawback for us was that outside our room a large dog was kennelled overnight and did he like to bark. Breakfast was good with a reasonable variety of food and drinks on offer and in good quantity. Across the road, just a short walk down a track was a beach with a small beach bar and this was very nice. As with the hotel itself, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Make sure your room is towards Paleochora as the dog will surely keep you awake on the other side.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lop65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2015

I was spending 6 nights in May in this relaxing place situated 4km from Paleochora center. If you are not already having car or scooter, I strongly recommend you to rent bicycles (form Notos etc.). Terrain is not tough and it was easy to go even as far as Anidri and Gianiskari Beaches (8km one direction) but notice that driving after twilight is dangerous as the road has no lighting. Also hotel staff gives transportation to center and back and is also otherwise helpful, Rooms were clean and spirit really relaxed compared to bigger/more expensive hotels. There seem to be differences between rooms, my (ok, cheap!) room had slightly worn furniture compared to most other rooms but as backpacker I am accustomed to all kinds of accommodation. All rooms have A/C. Beautiful terrace under grapevines "equipped" with two cats in front of reception! Restaurant was clean, breakfast adequate including good coffee and even fresh orange juice that I could make myself there. Bubble beach with beach bar at 100m from hotel was not ready yet but I really recommend visiting Pachia Ammos beach in Paleochora or Grammeno beach that is within walking distance.
In all I recommend this hotel if you are seeking peaceful stay and not hefty nightlife.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halti_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stay to Megim hotel for 4 nights during August 2014.
(+)A family fruitful greek breakfast! You can get everything that you have as a breakfast at your home.
Beach proximity .You have just to cross the road and 100meters away is the beach and a beach bar.
The friendly environment and the owners attitude.
Parking lots .
(-)The hotel needs renovation .We got sea view room but A/C was obsolete and was not well maintained .Was out A/C fluid!
WC has a definitely renovation issue ! The bath faucets where broken!Shower area is tiny .
Entrance doors to the rooms needs to change lockers
Hotel basically is clean.
Beach bar owned by the same family needs a better menu!

Overall assessment: Hotel is fair ,its not in Paleochora ( it is in Kountoura,3kms away, so you need means of transportation).Breakfast is good, greek traditional ,rooms are spacious but A/C is not their best as also WC.
Beach is clean with crystal water but has pebbles.

Room tip: Rooms on side area and first floor are the best ones as they don't have to much of noise and not heated by the summer sun!Of course there will be a partial view of sea ,but its not an issue
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Markos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful owner. Loved the sound of the crickets. Very clean with everything you need. 2 minutes walk from a peaceful beach with a beach bar and big umbrellas.
Lovely breakfast.
We had no car, but they drove us to town whenever we needed. Cheap taxi ride back.
Would go again.

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews